We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISSAPOINTING EXPERIENCE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moonlight Resort to your Saves list
Moonlight Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Logon, Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
FT LAUDERDALE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“VERY DISSAPOINTING EXPERIENCE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked my room at the midnight resort...online....for a two night stay....just about anything that could go wrong went wrong...briefly...no ATM MACHINE>>>they did not except credit cards for anything...at the resort. THE air conditioner was not turned on once...even when I asked and offered to pay for its use....NOPE>....terrible hot and uncomfortable....attitude of the staff was consistently rude and short and obviously unhappy with my unhappiness....as if it was my fault....THERE WERE SOME POSITIVE aspects to the rooms themselves but far out weighed by the negative experiences right from the very beginning......never again....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camiguin, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

booked on-line also a not so cheap "all inclusive transfer" from Cebu City to the resort. All worked out pretty well (car/driver/boat) until the boat reached in front of the beach of Malapascua where we had to transfer to a smaller boat which we had to pay for extra.
There were several more or less friendly girls/ladies hanging around at the restaurant/reception of the resort. the room n. 3 was ok, nicely tiled floor and a kingsize bed with good mattress! shower and toilet are separated, the hand basin in the room. air conditioner not too loud but air flow was directed right on the bed and could not be regulated, neither horizontally nor vertically - had to divert the airflow with a shirt. The shower head needed urgent cleaning as there was only very little water like about 7 needle thin jets coming out although the pressure at the hand basin was sufficient. The room was clean but the daily cleaning obviously was limited to a little floor sweeping (bedroom only) and putting the bedsheets right. in 4 days, the bathroom/shower was never cleaned what could be easily verified by the amount of hair around the drain; empty toilet paper rolls remained on the holder and dirty towels on the wall. Breakfast was slow and uninspiring, so was the main food; for the departure day we ordered breakfast for 7:30am, time when the service was supposed to start - very much in a hurry, we waited until 7:50 when finally the cook lady arrived, but we had to go....
Moonlight resort is situated inside the island with no view whatsoever, in a sort of little valley where no air/breeze arrived, what lead also to a not so nice mosquito problem. One inner island path passes the premise with 2 curves at the left and the right front corners of the resort where the passing motorbikes, for security reasons, sound their horns, day and night.
The 15 minutes walk to the nice Bounty beach leads through "real local life" which for several reasons might not be always too pleasant for some tourists and for us did not have nothing of folkloric at all.....it's quite long under the burning sun....
All in all, it was definitely felt that the owners, most of the year, seem to live in Austria and leave the "management" to local family members and unqualified staff.
We might come back some day to Malpascua's Thresher Sharks, but we surely will consider alternatives to the Moonlight Resort, of which there seems to be no lack....

Room Tip: choose your room by the quantity of water that comes out of the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great and friendly staff. The rooms (the have 5 in a row) get's a bit stuff if you do not open the toilet window but that one does not have mosquito net. Great big bed. Hot water kettle.

Our main window did not have a working lock so I made a lock from a plastic pipe I found in the back, that way I could leave my laptop in the room as it otherwise would be possible to just go through the mosquito net. I'm not sure why the staff removed the lock and left the window open when I was away.

It is a bit of a walk from the main beach (Bounty Beach) but the hotel is good value for money.

I hope they will organize scheduled trips to Malapascua from Maya in the future. Low season now and you have to wait until enough passengers arrive or *organize a special trip*.

Lars

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Moonlight Resort for a week and it was worth it. The food was delicious and the stuff super-friendly. The owner of the hotel is Austrian, so you can also enjoy "Schnitzel" or other Austrian meals. Also the dogs were cute. The room is european-standard and the price okay (10 -20 €/Person i think). The accomodation is not directly beachfront but just a 5-10 minutes walking distance away from it. It´s quietly situated, however at night there are no lights and you have to walk through a path in the "forest". All in all we highly recommend Moonlight Resort, if you don´t mind a short walk to the beach.
Lena, Stephan (23)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My grilfriend and I spent the first half of our holiday in this peaceful hideaway. The pretty garden creates a peaceful atmosphere not found inthe more popular - and more expensive - beach hotels. The staff are lovely and the accommodation excellent. We rented a motorbike to explore the small but scenic and interesting island (talk to Loy on 09266 251935 we got a good deal for 3 days) and recommend this. The main beach is about 10 minutes but nicer - and mostly deserted - beaches can be reached by motor or 20-30 minutes walk. Aircon is worth the extra 600 or so pesos - unfortunately elctricity prices on some islands are high. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at the Moonlight Resort for 3 days and 2 nights. The resort is far from the noise and crowded beach which made my stay peaceful yet enjoyable at the same time. The food was great with hefty servings and the prices were also reasonable. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay away from noise and crowds, this is the best place to stay in. The staff are extremely friendly and the rooms are clean. If you want true value for your money, I highly recommend this place. It has a homey-feel atmosphere and it is close to the port and the amazing beaches as well. The locals were friendly and always ready to smile and greet you. If you are traveling alone I highly recommend this resort since it is secure and there are staff staying overnight to watch the resort. The most appealing thing about this resort is the very staff who are always willing to attend to your every needs. MOONLIGHT RESORT is the best home away from home on this beautiful island!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostersund, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I spent nearly 2 weeks at this friendly family run resort and we loved every minute there. After one night in a dirty and very simple hotel on the beach we spent one whole day searching around for a better option and were so happy when we discovered this cosy place. It is not situated on the beach but it is only about a 5 minutes walk to reach it from the boat. It is run by an Austrian-Philippino couple and is built with european standard. The rooms are spacious with a big comfortable bed. The toilet is separated from the shower in 2 different rooms. It has a terrace with wooden furnitures overlooking a beautiful peaceful garden with a lot of flowers and palmtrees. The whole place is kept very clean. You get a very good standard for your money here
The staff is always nice helpful and friendly. It is a small place and I think there was only 6 rooms in total which gives the place homely atmosphere.
The restaurant serves both Philippino and Austran food and there is a lot to choose between on the menue. The food is very good and was always fresh.
If we ever go back to Malaspascua I will without doubt stay at this place again and I can recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonlight Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Resort

Address: Logon, Daanbantayan, 6013, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moonlight Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonlight Resort, in the heart of the small island Malapascua, offers silence and recuperation to its guests between innumerable coconut trees. Also activities like sunbathing at white beaches, swimming in crystal-clear water, snorkeling and diving at the surrounding reefs are possible anytime. In the restaurant you can spoil your palate with national and international dishes and beverages. The Moonlight Resort is the one and only resort on the island with sweetwater shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Moonlight Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonlight Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.