We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely well run resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malapascua Island | P.O. Box 1200, 6000, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Malapascua Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Extremely well run resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

This is by far the best run resort that we have come by on our 6 month trip. Very good service, great food at the restaurant, the best resort on the island.

The rooms are a bit away from the beach which is a shame: you don't get that beach-hut feel, but the beach was nice, with enough beds.

We used the resorts transfer service to and from the island (from Cebu City) which was great as we traveled with small kids. Very very efficient...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    72
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
81
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London/Cebu/Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Malapascua is a pickle of a place, fantastic water and beaches to die for...

unfortunately though it seems many people from the Philippine tourism industry don't seem to appreciate the fact that almost all tourists coming to somewhere like Malapascua don't want 'another Boracay' or a whole beachfront crammed with resorts, dive shops, seedy bars and terrible restaurants. Fortunately Malapascua hasn't been entirely ruined, yet.

Places like the Exotic, hark back to how Thailand used to be, it’s pretty much a backpackers beach hangout but for divers.
The rooms are basic, the food the same, prices cheap (like everything in the Philippines, a coke is about 15 pence in the corner shop!) Service was pretty good when we were there, tipping always goes down well here so get some in at the first opportunity.
Location is fantastic, a true island getaway and in a quieter part of the main beach. There are other beaches on the island that are even better, particularly the one at the north of the island, although we only saw it form the boat it looked fantastic.

As you know coming somewhere as undeveloped and remote as Malapascua you aren't going to find many 3* and above, and I'm sure most of the westerners out there are coming for the diving so with that in mind I highly recommend checking out Exotic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

And front bungalows are the best deal...restaurant is expensive and back bungalow also

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Everything was excellent and very professional, a bit more expensive than the other hotels but well worth it. If you are diving this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I agree with previous reviewers......this is the best place to stay on Malapascua island. If you are a keen diver, this trip is definitely worth it - especially if you are lucky enough to see the thresher sharks! We booked a transfer through the resort; this made the long trip effortless and comfortable. The resort runs like a well-oiled machine - it offers everything you need in one location. The resort has the best strip of beach on the island - beautiful white beach with soft sand that is cleaned daily. No hawkers are allowed into the resort area or onto the resort beach. The rooms are basic, though comfortable and clean. We had hot water, but the water pressure was very low. The diving is very well organised, we were very happy with the level of safety and the local dive guides are amazing!! The restaurant offers very good food; the breakfast pancakes are great! The service in the restaurant is very slow, but who wants to be rushed on a beautiful, laid-back island in the heart of paradise? Don't bother pre-booking any meal packages; it is cheaper to order directly from the a la carte restaurant menu. We had an amazing experience on the island, and Exotic offered the best we could hope for in this remote location. Tip: Even though one can find everything you need at the Exotic resort, it is an incredible experience to walk around on the island and experience its beautiful people, beautiful environment and beautiful children. Try the restaurand La Isla Bonita, the food is great. Oh, and the massages offered on the public area of Bounty beach are cheap and wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

The place is great! The rooms are very close to the beach. Prices of the rooms are affordable, rooms are clean but doesnt have any hot water... who needs it?
Food is great! Especially their baguette! I would strongly recommendthis resort!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
376 helpful votes 376 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Albeit reading negative reviews given by a fellow traveler to Malapascua Exotic in the preceded entries, we have decided to go ahead and stay at this dive resort. We would like to give an account on our perspectives as below:

1. Accommodation was excellent. The room offered to us was clean and tidy. Despite being a basic room, we had the comfort of nice beds, air conditioning and a satellite TV cable to catch up with News and National Geog during the night hours. Toilet and shower facilities were good.

2. Surroundings - the resort is very well maintained and the cleanliness is one great feature of the resort. They clean their beaches in front of their resort and offered a spectacular comb of pristine beach and waters just a few steps away from the dive resort. This is probably the best amongst all the resorts we wandered and saw.

3. Diving - no one checked or valdiated our dive qualifications. They merely asked. This may be a plus or minus point to a dive centre for this is the only dive centre that we have been to (and we have been to numerous round the world) which did not check our PADI/SSC cards prior to dive nor did a post dive brief to help us record our dive details in the dive log. We shall not comment on their in-house procedures pertaining to this aspect but we did have a few good dives despite not being able to see what we wanted (there is always a next time!). Suggestion is for the resort to consider doing a pre-dive check on certain things like qualifications, equipment (2 torches for night dives - some people didnt even know its a safety protocol to have 2 torches for night dives!) and at the end of the dive, assist to update dive log by at least asking if the divers need any info or help in entering dive logs, esp to those w/o computing facilities.

5. Food and Meals - Excellent palate for a dive resort on a laid-back island. The Garlic Prawn appetizer is a must.

6. Service and Hospitality - This resort scores in this aspect. They have excellent waiting staff and their communication prior to booking and checking in-out were on par with the developed resorts. Our only little discomfort was with the dive team - having no interest in ensuring proper validation, or provision of assistance in entering the dive log (not everyone has a dive comp, esp fun divers like us). And on one of our dives, our DM actually boarded the boat and dried himself after the dive while we were still in the waters. I do not think this is proper and fortunately, there will no issues to this, just a little uncertain if this would be right as we never encountered such things. Nevertheless, the general impression of the hotel staff was excellent, especially the ladies and gentlemen at the restaurant.

We have enclosed some photos of Malapascua taken just outside the resort. This is a really nice place and one to remember for a long long time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort

Address: Malapascua Island | P.O. Box 1200, 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Malapascua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Malapascua Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Malapascua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are thinking of diving or staying in Malapascua consider us your first choice. We have everything you need for a relaxing, exciting, enjoyable stay with first class facilities and service.Exotic is the pioneer dive resort on Malapascua. The first dive shop to open on the island in 1998, Exotic has grown over the years and is now the leading dive resort on the island, without compromising its original laid-back charm and outstanding service. Our continued expansion is a result of our customer’s loyalty and desire to revisit and share their Exotic experience with others. Why not come and see what brings people back to us year after year? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Hotel Malapascua Island
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive And Beach Resort
Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort Malapascua Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malapascua Exotic Island Dive & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.