We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden of Eden Inn to your Saves list
Garden of Eden Inn
Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Trip to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Garden of Eden is a great relaxing place to stay if your visiting the Bocas del Tora area. Relaxing with beautiful tropical flowers and plants. You can take tours, swim in the very clean pool, kayak,snorkel off the island or just relax in one of the hammocks. I spent 13 days there and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the Bocas area. It is also a short boat ride to the town of Bocas to shop or go site seeing there. But remember your sunscreen as it is HOT-HOT. The food was out of site with fresh lobster, wahoo, yellowfin tuna ,surf & turf , fruit and veggies. Don't leave without having a delicious chicken breast with cheese sandwich which is to die for.
So save your dollars and give this resort a try and injoy the most gracious owners and staff. They will treat you like a king and queen.
K Myers

  • Liked — service and food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    29
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
178
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

What can I say except that it was Fabulous?!!!
The seasonal fishing was great, the special diving trips were exceptionally wonderful, the tours through the many many islands were fascinating but the most enjoyable aspect was the peace and quiet of this beautiful and private island.
With three rooms available I always felt that the resort was more like "home" (No crowds - just some very interesting couples from around the world.)
I must mention the meals ....... the menu was totally out-of-this-world!! The variety of meals were not only cooked beyond perfection ... but there was always more food than we could possibly eat (and I personally can eat alot!)
The owners (Bob and Helena) have done a superb job in creating an exceptional place where your needs are always met.
I will always recommend this Resort to anyone and everyone.
Verne

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PANAMA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

This was by far the most memorable weekend of our lives. This weekend far exceeded any and all expectations that we had. Our time with them was more than just a vacation to us. It was almost a spiritual experience!
For this we are very thankful! Bob & Helena were so wonderful, they made us feel great!!. So, as you can see, this was truly much more than a vacation to us.

Ricardo y Claudia

  • Liked — It is the ideal placer for romantic getaways
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We found the Garden of Eden on the internet and didn't really know what to expect of Panama, Bocas or the island. We had a GREAT time with people we had never met before. We were hoping to relax, do some snorkeling, take a few excursions around Bocas and check out Panama. Once we got to the island we didn't really want to leave to do anything else. Nice tropical breezes, enough folks around to chat if you feel like it, and easy to find places to be by yourself. The balconies overlooking the water are private and peaceful, with comfortable hammocks. The rooms are very clean and made up daily. The weather was fantastic in February. The food was wonderul and priced reasonably, we ate family-style the week we were there (with other guests, Bob and Helena and the maid/assistant cook), which was really fun and full of interesting conversation. Bob and Helena are really generous hosts with fantastic senses of humor. Through our stay on the island we were really fortunate to meet many "American locals" living in Panama, and talk to them about their visions and dreams, Panamanian real estate laws and difficulties of living outside the US, etc, which was really neat. They took us out for boat rides that were full of adventure and laughs. If you're looking for a way to get some serious relaxation laying in a hammock reading a book with water lapping at the shore nearby, the sun shining around you, perfect temperature with just the right amount of breeze, fun people, beautiful landscaping, easy access to town (if you want to go...but why?) this place is paradise.
It would be helpful if you knew a little bit of Spanish to get around if you go to Bocas, especially for the taxi drivers. When you're on the island you really don't know or care what country you're in.
P.S. Ask about Fern Douglas-he's a great guy!

  • Liked — Hosts, guests, locals, scenery, water, quiet & peaceful
  • Disliked — Flight from Bocas to Panama City
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

From time to time we all need a place to let loose and get closer to "natural" .. Bobbie and Helina have constructed a fantastic place to experience a clean, casual, relaxing, lifestyle interlude .. We've visited with them twice .. both times we ate, drank, relaxed, smiled and laughed .. .. If you're heading to Bocas del Torro, and are into letting it all hang out this a "must" ..

  • Liked — Smiles and laughter
  • Disliked — Sometimes rains
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

We just arrived home from The Garden of Eden and wished we were still there. We arrived in Bocas del Toro on Tuesday, our host, Helena, was at the airport to greet us. We were a bit skeptical when we arrived at the airport, it is a bit 'stoneage' but we got on a boat and took a short ride and were at the island... We approached a beautiful place on a hill and 'little did we know' this was IT... Our room was very clean and comfortable, we again were worried, they had no air conditioning but we seriously did not need it, we used a light blanket at night... The pool was right outside the room for your morning dip and it was also nice in the evening. All the food seemed to be imported, it was great!!!! All in all, if you are in the area, GO TO THE GARDEN OF EDEN... It is wonderful!!!!!

  • Liked — The relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Too easy to over indulge in food and drink....
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenacres, fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

Very peaceful, relaxing. Everyone is veryfriendly. Great place to go just to relaxe in peace and quiet.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Eden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.