We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden of Eden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden of Eden Inn
Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife Pam and I spent 4 nights at Garden of Eden just last month and it was perfect for us in every way. It was our own little island, but easy to have Kip set us up with a water taxi (maybe Chingo will spot some sloths for you to see as he did for us) and go to Bocas town or off to snorkeling. Or we could easily use one of his kayaks to enjoy Red Frog Beach. Every morning started with a great combo of fresh fruit, johnnycakes and coffee. And one could easily return every evening for Miguel's wonderful cooking (although you should get out at least once to one of the great local restaurants). The atmosphere was very relaxed, and Kip was a wonderful host and very helpful in arranging our activities. At the time, Maria and Melissa were assisting Kip in running things and they were super friendly and accommodating. Of course, if you like dogs, you will love the true manager of the island, Zeus! If we were to return to Panama, our first move would be an email to the Garden of Eden for another stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    28
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
172
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent 3 great nights here and loved it! It is such a comfortable and relaxing environment. They are in a great location - completely private but easily accessible to other activities by water taxi. We kayaked across to Red Frog Beach along with a dolphin. Went to sloth island, Bocas Del Toro, Dolphin Bay, snorkeling - the best snorkeling that I have ever seen! This was all arranged by the Garden of Eden.
The food! Miguel was AMAZING - the best food we had on our 2 week honeymoon! They paid attention to detail - when I mentioned my first choice was carrot cake for my wedding cake but didn't do it since my husband isn't a fan - they made it for me the next night! Love that!
Everyone was so welcoming and friendly - it felt like leaving friends.
Thank you! Willeff

Room Tip: I would take the two rooms by the pool for more of a breeze, as this isn't air conditioned. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband David and I spent 4 nights at Garden of Eden last week. Kip was on vacation but judging by his friends Sue and Dave who took over, he's an awesome guy. They were funny, interesting, attentive and great dinner partners. We ate there every night because Miguel's food was so damn good. Maria's cocktail of the day was a great complement. But let's be honest - it was a great standalone, too, as one day we went nowhere and just lazed by the pool. Garden of Eden is the only place on an island otherwise full of mangroves. To get anywhere else you travel by boat, which is typically done with their driver Chingo, or kayak. We kayaked to Red Frog Beach one day (about 40 minutes each way). We also went with Chingo on 2 day trips. One took us to various stops including Dolphin Bay (they were fairly scarce the day we were there but we did see a few fins and tails), sloth island (to play a game of spot the sloth), Coral Cay (great snorkeling), and Red Frog. The other day trip was mean to be to Zapatillas, but the weather wasn't right when we got there, so we detoured to Starfish Beach instead. Starfish has beautiful, calm water, lots of little huts with food and drink that people were enjoying, and not much of an area to lay your towel down because the jungle is right there. We also ziplined and hiked while we were there. Be careful with the zipliners as the guides are SO comfortable with heights and they act like you are, too!! We loved having our balcony door open every single minute of the day and night, enjoying the breeze and watching the hummingbirds. Oh, and playing with Zeus and Mavis!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Garden of Eden and would have happily stayed longer if we hadn't been on a tight schedule. We were met at the dock by the beautiful Zeus and the enthusiastic employees, Melissa and Khia. They showed us directly to our room, offered us a drink, and told us where to find the kayaks and snorkelling gear. We then were able to explore to our intimate surroundings. We loved the peace and tranquility. There are only three rooms, so we knew that we would not be bothered by noisy neighbours. The chef, Miguel, put together delicious and healthful meals that we savoured with every bite. Thank you so much to Kipp and his staff for making us feel welcome. If you love to have quiet surroundings, access to water sports and excursions, this is the place for you. We will definitely find time to go back.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they all have a great view on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myitkyina, Kachin State, Myanmar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent wonderful days in the Garden of Eden, what an amazing location and great hide away. Could not have asked for more: the most romantic place you can imagine, beautiful view from the room, well maintained property, excellent service and delicious food. Thank you so much to Kipp, Miguel,Zeus and the rest of staff for having made this stay so absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

In the middle of nowhere you will find an oasis with very comfortable accommodations, excelent food and a great example of sustainability.
The staff provided everything we needed so that we could take the best of this wonderful experience, from dive tours to shuttles to costa rica!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are a young couple from Europe (Italy / Germany) and we stayed 4 nights at the Garden of Eden. Actually, we had planned 3 nights but we changed our whole trip to Boquete to stay at least one night longer. This says all about how much we liked the island, the owner and staff, our room, the food and nature. The Garden of Eden is set in a small separate island sorrounded by mangroves and attached to Isla Solarte. The resort lies tranquil and alone on this attached island so that you are in complete peace in comparison to Isla Colon. The Bastimentos Island with its red.frog beach can be reached easily by kayak. Actually, all the frogs we saw (red, orange and black) were in the Garden of Eden and we had dolphins with us while kayaking in front of the resort. All the meals prepared by the cook Miguel were delicious, we experienced some new tastes. The prices for food, drinks and cocktais were extremely fair. Our room was spacious and always clean, with a beautiful balcony with amaca on the sea and a door on the pool. We also booked a trip snorkeling and to the islas zapatillas with. The thing we liked most was the atmosphere at the resort especially in the evening with Kipp and his awesome dog and the two volunteering girls Marie and Ann-Kathrin (AK ;). The last night we were really sad to leave but glad that we choose the Garden of Eden instead of the places in busy Bocas Town or expensive Bastimentos. We wish the best to Kipp and all the staff!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Eden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.