We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Island and Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden of Eden Inn to your Saves list
Garden of Eden Inn
Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Island and Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We are a young couple from Europe (Italy / Germany) and we stayed 4 nights at the Garden of Eden. Actually, we had planned 3 nights but we changed our whole trip to Boquete to stay at least one night longer. This says all about how much we liked the island, the owner and staff, our room, the food and nature. The Garden of Eden is set in a small separate island sorrounded by mangroves and attached to Isla Solarte. The resort lies tranquil and alone on this attached island so that you are in complete peace in comparison to Isla Colon. The Bastimentos Island with its red.frog beach can be reached easily by kayak. Actually, all the frogs we saw (red, orange and black) were in the Garden of Eden and we had dolphins with us while kayaking in front of the resort. All the meals prepared by the cook Miguel were delicious, we experienced some new tastes. The prices for food, drinks and cocktais were extremely fair. Our room was spacious and always clean, with a beautiful balcony with amaca on the sea and a door on the pool. We also booked a trip snorkeling and to the islas zapatillas with. The thing we liked most was the atmosphere at the resort especially in the evening with Kipp and his awesome dog and the two volunteering girls Marie and Ann-Kathrin (AK ;). The last night we were really sad to leave but glad that we choose the Garden of Eden instead of the places in busy Bocas Town or expensive Bastimentos. We wish the best to Kipp and all the staff!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    29
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
178
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 8 glorious day at Garden of Eden. It was, to say the least, EXTRAORDINARY. I cannot emphasize how amazing the meals Miguel made for us where. A true culinary adventure! Kipp is simply the best and he's a gracious, funny and charismatic host.

Zeus, the dog, is also cool to chill with by the pool. ;)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

When arranging our Panama trip, we wanted someplace to stay with a pool but right on the ocean, so after reading the rave reviews of Garden of Eden, I booked it for 12 days. My concern was that there might not be enough to do for that long. Well, after 12 days, we did not want to leave. The owner, Kipp, was so accommodating, arranging day trips to nearby beaches, snorkelling and dolphin tours, and trips to town and cocoa plantations. Some days we just lazed by the pool, ate amazing lunches, snorkelled off the back deck, or kayaked around the resort. Evenings were spent eating more of Miguel's great cooking, and sharing cocktails and laughter with Kipp, the very witty Samantha, and fellow guests. The reviews are spot on: everything is top notch. I will return and stay even longer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We (German couple) stayed 3 days with Kipp (owner) and his team and we enjoyed it very much.
The atmosphere that the place has with its three guestrooms is nice, relaxing and welcoming. Rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and have a balcony with a hammock. Great, often homemade food is served for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a lot of times you can be part of the decision of what is served. We did not eat outside the hotel at all and even came back from a snorkel trip to have lunch there. Trip booking (snorkeling, going to other islands, visiting beaches,...) can be done in a very customized way - just ask someone of the team whatever you are up to and they will organize it for you (transfer always via boat). Bar with nice drinks and a "special of the day" (often something with rum ;-) ) has always been great and a fun place to hang. After we did an 11 day roundtrip through Costa Rica this place was perfect to relax giving you all option from being in one of the hammocks all day up to do any kind of activity you wish. Languages spoken: Spanish and English. Also a cute dog that is around most of the time belongs to the hotel - no worries - he is really nice and entertaining company :-).
We did a snorkeling trip during our stay: great corrals, sea stars and colorful fish in nice warm water. Also we stopped by "Sloth Island" - here you might find 1 or 2 sloths in the trees and are able to watch them. Furthermore we went over one afternoon to Bastimento , a nice and rather caribbean town which is not as touristic as Bocas de Toro itself on the main island.
Overall we highly recommend this place to everyone who looks for a non-touristic place with great people in the Bocas del Toro area. Thank you guys for making our stay that fantastic.
Daniel and Judith

Room Tip: Gym: Since the place is quite small, there is no gym like in bigger hotels - but there is a pool ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2nights at garden of eden and had a wonderful stay there. Rooms are charming , food and cocktails are excellent and Kipp the owner took good care of us.definitely a place we would recommend if you are looking for a piece of eden in bocas!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We loved our stay here - Kipp, Kai, and Miguel were all incredibly welcoming, friendly, and informative. We especially liked this place because it was small and private - the perfect place to go if you want to avoid the more touristy locations in the area and appreciate personalized day-trip recommendations. Kipp and Kai provided us a lot of information about out-of-the way places to go or when to go to avoid the crowds. Miguel cooked us fresh food eat day and every meal was incredible. This place felt more like a bed and breakfast because of how friendly the staff and other guests were. The price was great - very affordable - and we ate and drank mostly on site. Would highly recommend this place to anyone who likes to be taken care of and something unique. I would give it more stars of I could

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband And I enjoyed every moment we spent at Garden of Eden: from the welcoming perfume of island flowers to the amazing sunrise And sunset views at the decks or the room balcony. The stuff is amazing, fun and very hepful. The chef is very creative And location is perfect to visit all the surrounding islands either by water taxi or kayak.
Thank You guys for the Birthday cake!
Myriam&Karim

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Eden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.