We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to a small paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden of Eden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden of Eden Inn
Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Isla Solarte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Escape to a small paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you want to escape the party people and happy hours on Isla Colon...then you have to go to the Garden of Eden on Isla Solarte. On this private island are 3 beautiful cabins with nice seaviews, hammoc and fan. There is a pool, nice garden. Or you can snorkle, kayak and swim around the island. Everything you need is here; food, drinks, sun, relaxing. You can also do some nice trips. And the best is the hospitality from the happy dog Zeus. He makes your stay complete.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    27
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
171
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Garden of Eden is a great place to just get away from it all. There is a lovely pool, music, game room, and sitting area to read and chat in. The cold drinks are available which make relaxing so much easier and the meals prepared for us there were delicious. My one problem was our room and Kipp said he was working on it. The cabana we stayed in was fairly boring, it lacked personal touches. Also, there were a lot of Mosquitos and "no see em" so one room had a mosquito net but ours did not. I would have been much more comfortable with one and didn't sleep well at night because of this issue. Other than that, take some Deet and you will love this place because it is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at The Garden of Eden, a beautiful property with friendly host Kip and his pal Zeus. Gorgeous views, wonderful snorkeling around the mangroves, lush foliage, excellent food by Chef Miguel (the grouper was amazing) and a refreshing pool. We stayed here 3 nights before heading to Eclypse de Mar, it is a fabulous location on Isla Solarte which is a bit further from the action but with a cocktail of the day, great food and all the activities available here you don't need to leave :)

Room Tip: We loved the privacy and large balcony of the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My friend and I spent three days at the Garden just last week and both of us were very happy with our stay there. Kipp is a wonderful host, and we lucked out with the great company of Michael and Lena from Germany, Jeff and Colleen from Chicago, and Kipp's "volunteer" assistants, Julia and Rose from Colorado. The accommodations were quiet, clean and comfortable (though as we told Kipp, the hideabed has to go), the food fantastic (Miguel is truly a wonderful chef), and while my friend spent her time kayaking, swimming, and snorkeling, I spent my time reading and relaxing in the hammock on my room's porch that overlooked the water. Who could ask for more when on vacation?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days at the Garden and were thrilled with every aspect of our stay. Kipp, Kelly and Matt went out of their way to make sure we were looked after and had everything we needed. The small size of the hotel made it a very personal experience and the fact that it's removed from the noise of Bocas Town made it very relaxing.
The food was magnificent and very cheap, so were the cocktails! We were able to swim off the back pier and made use of the snorkel and kayak equipment.
I would most definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone headed to Bocas! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Bocas for two nights. We were so pleased with our stay - we went kyaking, fed the fish at night and got a lot of relaxation in. Most of all the company was great. Thank you Kipp, Zues and Evelyn for being wonderful hosts and great dinner partners. We will definitely be back once Panama comes into our sights again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights here and had a wonderful time. Kip, Steve and Karen were great hosts, and always making sure we had anything we needed. They also made sure that any excursions were arranged, and made us dinner reservations in town. The property is wonderful, we spent a lot of time next to the pool. The rooms are comfortable, it was great sleeping with the doors open and listening to the water. When we ate at the hotel, all the meals were delicious, and hosts always checked to make sure we were ok with what they were serving. It was fun eating with the other guests and enjoying a few beers after dinner and listening to our hosts tell us about the property and area.

When we arrived we met up with Chingo and saw dolphins on our ride out to the island. We also saw dolphins on a water taxi back from Red Frog beach.

Dog lovers will enjoy playing with Zeus, the resident weimaraner, who is super friendly.

We stayed in the suite, so we had a little more privacy vs the two poolside rooms. Overall, no complaints, and Garden of Eden was everything we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Eden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.