We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Eden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden of Eden Inn to your Saves list
Garden of Eden Inn
Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Bocas for two nights. We were so pleased with our stay - we went kyaking, fed the fish at night and got a lot of relaxation in. Most of all the company was great. Thank you Kipp, Zues and Evelyn for being wonderful hosts and great dinner partners. We will definitely be back once Panama comes into our sights again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    29
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
178
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights here and had a wonderful time. Kip, Steve and Karen were great hosts, and always making sure we had anything we needed. They also made sure that any excursions were arranged, and made us dinner reservations in town. The property is wonderful, we spent a lot of time next to the pool. The rooms are comfortable, it was great sleeping with the doors open and listening to the water. When we ate at the hotel, all the meals were delicious, and hosts always checked to make sure we were ok with what they were serving. It was fun eating with the other guests and enjoying a few beers after dinner and listening to our hosts tell us about the property and area.

When we arrived we met up with Chingo and saw dolphins on our ride out to the island. We also saw dolphins on a water taxi back from Red Frog beach.

Dog lovers will enjoy playing with Zeus, the resident weimaraner, who is super friendly.

We stayed in the suite, so we had a little more privacy vs the two poolside rooms. Overall, no complaints, and Garden of Eden was everything we could have hoped for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friend and I stayed at GOE for 2 nights in the 'Bay View' cabin. We were looking for somewhere isolated, where we could relax and explore by ourselves. GOE was more than we'd hoped... we had an unforgettable time and regretted not staying longer. Steve, Karen, Kipp and Zeus were genuine, warm hosts and really helped us feel at home. To be more detailed, I've broken down my review into different areas and tried to include one negative:

Facilities:
--------------
GOE is a very small operation; with only 3 cabins on a small strip of land connected to Isla Solarte by mangroves. Managed by 2-3 people (and Zeus the dog), it's a very personal experience. There aren't any fancy tour desks and the WiFi was pretty unreliable, but these are most certainly not negatives. There's a kitchen, bar, boat, pool, hammocks, snorkelling gear and kayaks. All of which you can use whenever you want.

Location:
--------------
GOE is in an incredible location... you can barely see another building for miles! It's about 15mins by water taxi from Bocas Town (or you can arrange to be collected from GOE directly). I'd suggest not getting a water taxi as they rip you off badly. Once you're there, the water's calm... there's no-one else around... the view is spectacular and you can practically taste the relaxation. The Inn itself is built within a small garden, which is lovely, but there are no other 'grounds' to speak of.

Rooms:
--------------
The 'Bay View' cabin was very large in comparison to other places we stayed. It had 2 extremely comfortable king-size beds, an ensuite bathroom and private balcony/hammock overlooking the bay at eye-level. The view was absolutely stunning (the photos prove it) and the cabin wasn't connected to the communal area, so was nice and isolated. It could easily sleep a family of 6! The other 2 cabins, from what I saw, were both connected to the communal area and had a much more elevated view of the surrounding area. There was no safe, but you genuinely didn't need one here whatsoever.

Staff/service:
--------------
We only met the owner, Kipp, briefly. However, Karen and Steve (the managers) were there the whole time... and were really warm and welcoming hosts. From the second we stepped onto the dock to the second we left it. We didn't feel like 'guests' as such, more like friends (who paid at the end, heh) and they really went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They also both had a wealth of knowledge on the surrounding area... and gave us some help with directions and organising a couple of trips.

Food:
--------------
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all cooked on-site... Karen is one mean cook! The meals weren't included in the price of the room, however were great value for the quality (we're talking Steak with Blue Cheese Sauce). Proper home-cooked delicious food, all served around a communal table with the owners, managers and other guests. Even though my friend and I are working-class and a bit weird, we felt really comfortable. It was a great atmosphere.

Tours:
--------------
We only booked one tour through GOE, the Oreba Chocolate Tour. However, Steve and Karen were always available to give recommendations and help call and book anything we wanted to do. Instead, we did do a lot of snorkelling in the beautiful water around the Inn (all equipment supplied free!) and took one of the kayaks out to red frog beach on our own (again, supplied free!). It felt good to be trusted with the equipment and - with Steve's directions - we made it there and back in one piece!

Price:
--------------
I'll be honest, GOE is quite an expensive option, however it's worth every penny. If you want a relaxing, isolated paradise... this is the place to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The managers Steve and Karen were very helpful and interesting to hear them talk about their life in Bocas. Evelyn was a gem, she is traveling the world on her own and was incredible to talk to her about her experiences. The food was very good and reasonable if you choose not to venture off the isla. We actually saw a Red Dart Frog at Red Frog Beach, which was too crowded for us. The private water taxi we hired for the day through Steve was worth the $$ as he showed us so much and the National Island off the Reef was so beautiful. We had the island to ourselves for several hours before the other tour boat started showing up. It still never did get crowded. The no see-ems were a problem for both of us. We left our Deets in the trunk of our car on the mainland. Bummer for us, but would go back in a heart beat. Maybe Kip could provide bug spray for guests, as you want to leave your french doors open at night on the deck for the lush sea breeze.

Room Tip: We loved one of the two rools off the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Awesome getaway....... Highly recommend "The Garden of Eden" for a peaceful weekend away if you are in Bocas Del Toro. Kip, the owner and Steve and Karen "The Management" are excellent hosts and make you feel extremely welcome (including Zeus, the pet dog...).

The Hotel is isolated on a small section of Solarte, awesome views from the bedrooms overlooking the bay to the east. Sunrise is spectacular. Breakfast is included, lunch and dinner, if you are around are extra, but certainly not expensive. Dinner is pretty much whatever is either caught that day, or whatever Steve and Karen decide to try..........(ask for the papaya crumble with vanilla ice cream and a shot of Amaretto)... There are all types of drinks available too on an honor system as well as a daily cocktail special.......

The rooms, albeit small, are comfortable and have everything you need. Others have stated some of the decor needs updating along with the towels and sheets - I agree, however, you're not in the room all that much, so I didn't find it bothered me at all. There are kayaks and snorkeling gear available. Red Frog Beach is a short kayak across the bay and worth the trip. Highly recommend an early morning kayak around the small mangrove islands at sunrise.

The situation of the pool, rancho, bar, rooms is great - fall out of bed, into to the hammock, from the hammock, to the pool, from the pool to the bar then to the hammock again.....

All in all a very pleasant experience meeting some good people and very pleasant hosts...

The cost is above average for Panama, but you will be hard pushed to find a better view and peace and quiet......

Room Tip: All rooms have hammocks, decks and face east, so sunrise is epic.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The food, all three meals were fabulous. The drinks prepared by Kip are excellent! And if you are a dog person, Zeus is a very entertaining dog, full of energy and playful! Kip does an excellent job of making you feel at home and is great to have conversations with while enjoying some of his previously mentioned drinks. The rest of his staff was equally enjoyable to share time with. Happy belated Malieza (spelling?) and thanks for the coversation over coffee in Bocas Town,

It rained for the majority of our stay at Eden, however that did not limit our enjoyment. We used the kayaks to paddle to both Red Frof Beach and to Hospital Point. In addition, a half day excursion to a nearby cave was well worth the trip! Kip's advice on paddling time and direction were spot on!

Eden is located above the water a bit and is in more of a jungle setting. There isn't much of a beach but access to the water is simple off of one of two docks. The junglish setting provided a number of sightings of a variety of critters. If you want pictures of the colorful frogs, there will be ample opportunities here, especially after some rain.

The only downside I experienced was the noseeums. I know to expect them in the tropics but as compared to other trips and other beaches in Panama, the noseeums seemed particularly fond of me here. That said, I did not use any repellent during my trip, so some of the blame can be put on me. Despite this last paragraph, I certainly would highly recommend this location and wouldn't let some little bugs discourage you too much.

Room Tip: After I booked a stay at this resort for my brother and I, I stumbled across a web page that said th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in march in the suite.

On arrival we were shown our room, a nice suite with a balcony overlooking the water. Good sized room and bathroom.

Dinner was lovely. A BBQ of prawn skewers with chicken as an alternative. Kipp the owner cooked it himself and we spent the evening chatting to him and other guests. Very friendly and interesting people.

Breakfast lunch and dinners here are great and the help yourself drinks fridge is a nice touch

They arranged a good and reasonable priced tour of the bat caves and visit to indigenous tribe for us which was only 25 usd each. We spent our other day just relaxing and using the free kayaks

I would thoroughly recommend garden of eden to anyone looking for a quiet friendly place. Price was a little high when compared with others locally but otherwise a top place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden of Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden Inn

Address: Private island near Isla Solarte in Bocas del Toro Panama | Private Island, in Bahia Honda, Isla Solarte, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Solarte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isla Solarte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small private island Bed and Breakfast located in a tropical setting of Bocas Del Toro, Panama. The resort offers a swimming pool, kayaks, snorkeling, game room with pool table, restaurant and bar. Don't go to the Caribbean to just rent a room, come here where you can rent an island. We can accommodate up to 10 adults comfortably. Sorry no guests under 18 yrs of age. Close enough to Bocas to shop yet far enough to be as private as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden of Eden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Isla Solarte
Hotel Garden Of Eden
Garden Of Eden Inn Panama/Isla Solarte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Eden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.