We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wai Hou Oma Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wai Hou Oma Lodge to your Saves list
Wai Hou Oma Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   357 Kai Iwi Lakes Road | RD 3, Dargaville 0373, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“disappointing return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

we had such a positive experience last year that we returned this year, alas, it was likely our last stay, as it appeared that the high standards had dropped! we stayed in lodge 3 over the lake, which had no key to secure our belongings when we were away. it doesn't matter that it's a safe secluded spot, guests should be able to lock up their room, it protects both parties! the microwave was not working, the BBQ was filthy, and the boardwalk needed pressure-washing as it was so slippery that my partner fell and twisted her ankle whilst loading up the car on departure day. no doubt it's the slow season during winter, and we stayed on a voucher, but that should not equate to keyless accommodation and unmaintained boardwalks.

Room Tip: for the dog-wary travelers, be aware there are several dogs on this property, who are harmless, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiIwi, Owner at Wai Hou Oma Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I am very sorry you did not feel happy with your last visit... if only you had spoken to Noel or I, we would have tried to fix what ever was wrong. And since your visit, he has sprayed off the walkway. Incidentlly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our second time up here. We stayed in the studio out on the pond. No oven but we still cooked our lamb rack really well in the outside BBQ. Very quiet and relaxing location. TV a little tricky to operate, but got there in the end. Super comfy beds, slept really well. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiIwi, Owner at Wai Hou Oma Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks Cam good to see you up here with your wife this time. Glad the B.B.Q did its trick on the lamb rack. Better luck with the trout fishing next time. Cheers, Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took advantage of a two day break at his wonderful hidden retreat, and what a delight. Great hosts, great food, and lovely self contained private accommodation. Best continental breakfast we have had. Thanks to Ruby for taking me to pick up my car, after running short of time on our long walk around the Lakes

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiIwi, Owner at Wai Hou Oma Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review Val and Clive.... glad your break was what you wanted. Very best regards Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My large family(11 adults, 3 toddlers and baby) stayed at the Lodges recently for a memorial trip and we all found Wai Hou Oma Lodge to be just what we wanted. Separate Lodges for the families and the ability to all be together. We went for the catered option and with us being such a large group we were not disappointed! The food that Ruby prepared was enjoyed by one and all!! Being very close to the lakes was a definite plus. Just wish we could have had more time to enjoy the spa, movie theatre, bikes. etc. We will be back and would not hesitate to recommend the lodges and the catering and hospitality of Ruby & Noel to any one!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiIwi, Owner at Wai Hou Oma Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks family.. I am so glad that everyone was happy... you were such an easy bunch to care for. Hope the over seas lot got home easily and safely. The little ones were a delight, and having a baby to cuddle whilst you were trying to eat was a plus for me! best regards Ruby and Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast was great and the art work and architecture was beautiful. We especially enjoyed riding the mt bikes around the beautiful nearby lake and enjoyed swimming in the crystal clear and yes, warm lake. This is a hidden gem, the host are also fun to talk with and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiIwi, Owner at Wai Hou Oma Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for your thumbs up guys... when ever I wear my moon earing, I think of where you come from... All the best for the rest of the year. Ruby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just had a wonderful stay at Wai Hou Oma Lodge. Everything was lovely - great room and location and delicious food!
Many thanks to very generous hosts Ruby and Noel.

We enjoyed catching up with friends and showing an overseas guest around.

Look forward to next time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiIwi, Owner at Wai Hou Oma Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
It was great having you all stay... even better that we have mutual friends to share your time with. Thanks for the thumbs up on our establishment. Best regards Ruby and Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights at wai hou oma lodge over the new years and had a fantastic stay. The place is so tastefully design and the environment is just magnificent. Lovely hosts. If you want good service, relaxing and a beautiful setting, this is the place to be! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wai Hou Oma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Hou Oma Lodge

Address: 357 Kai Iwi Lakes Road | RD 3, Dargaville 0373, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Dargaville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dargaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wai Hou Oma Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have four individual, bespoke designed, modern, self-contained lodges, positioned around the seven acre landscaped property with small freshwater wildlife habitat lake. All four lodges have fully equipped kitchens, private B.B.Q / outdoor living areas, and have garden/lake views. Also available to guests is a complimentary home theatre, and spa. Full catering is available by prior arrangement.The latest building to be completed is a 12 seating conference/team building /club room for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wai Hou Oma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Hou Oma Lodge Dargaville, North Island, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wai Hou Oma Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.