We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Better outside in warmer weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina

Marina
Ainkawa - 108 Area, Erbil, Iraq
009647508934774
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 55 restaurants in Erbil
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better outside in warmer weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great outdoor dining - good Lebanese food - but not when it gets too cool and have to go inside - not the same atmosphere. Too cool now in October.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    11
    22
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food, good mood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food is really good. Being from MEA, i some times feel homy when eating there, especially with the sambousik and fattoush. The garden is nice and surprisingly fresh during summer heat. In winter times, iraqi musicians play traditional music, which gives the place a genuine and nice ambiance.service is not great, but so it is in all non 5 stars restaurants in Erbil, so its no surprise when waiter doesnt get ur order or is late to serve it.
Its nice to go there with friends or a large group so u can try different types of mezza (cold and hot appetizers), all mouth watering..
When it comes to price, its regular. Quality-taste/price ratio is a winner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“if you pay you will enjoy, go in the summer or listen to the singer in the winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

i went their twice, one in the winter where there is no outdoor seating and the Big hall they have offer a Persian singer with a lovely voice and different style songs ( western , Persian and Arabic ), the menu is more like Lebanese food, costly but tasty. enjoy Shisha with the great voice of their female singer, in the spring i hosted a business dinner their, i asked for outdoor reservation and it was good but after few minutes sitting their i realized it's getting chilled out and getting cold. i was shocked that my guests will end up freezing and won't spend good time so the staff saw the shocking look on my face and they did something amazing after that, they brought especially made jackets with the restaurant logo and handed over to my guests to wear and feel warm, it was so romantic and funny as one of the guest thought it's the table cover that they are wearing but it was pre made jackets for such a case, the food quality is impressive but the costs is like 30$ per person, reservation is required for groups so don't risk it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Out of the way place, but good quality food and extensive menu, service could be quicker and it is a bit on the costly side, but good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, NL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice but big restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Pretty nice food, no big (Kurdish) portions. Wine is expensive. Nevertheless nice to be there one night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina also viewed

Erbil, Erbil Province
Erbil, Erbil Province
 
Erbil, Erbil Province
Erbil, Erbil Province
 

Been to Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.