We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erbil Rotana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Erbil Rotana to your Saves list
Erbil Rotana
Gulan St, Erbil, Iraq   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Erbil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

At the time of writing this most international hotels are still under construction in Erbil however the Rotana is available. I have stayed in several Rotana hotels around the Middle East but this one by far is a 5 star compared what are more the 3 - 4 star level. The hotel is modern, with spacious fully equipped rooms and is located on the edge of the city. Prices per room are not cheap at around US$220 per night which does not include breakfast and surprisingly for a business hotel it also does not include free wifi. At check in I decided to upgrade to the Rotana Club which for a few dollars more gives you the usual benefits of free breakfast, wifi and additional refreshments. The staffs are all friendly and willing to help. Overall a great hotel worthy of a high standard in any city and especially Erbil

Room Tip: Go for the fully inclusive Club option
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Erbil Rotana.

My team and I were very pleased to know that your time spent with us was a treasured one.
I forwarded your comments to our team members and they were very pleased to know that you
Have enjoyed your stay with us, and that we have succeeded in meeting your expectations.

Sir, I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back amongst us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    62
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
2
7
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in the Rotana 150 days in 2013 and I will be going back. The people are really great...friendly and helpful. You have a great verity of food and things to do at the hotel. Again the staff really make for a great experience. I would highly recommend staying at Rotana to anyone that is planning a trip to Erbil, Iraq.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor.

Please rest assured that we at Erbil Rotana always do our outmost to exceed our esteemed guest’s expectations. Your comments show that we have succeeded in doing that, which makes us very pleased.

Sir, I look forward to welcoming you back at Erbil Rotana.

Yours sincerely,
Thomas Touma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have spent 15 nights there so far this year, Rooms are well appointed and clean. Service is good. Restaurants are above average in quality, selection. Internet is slow and clunky and surprise, expensive. Located with a view of Sami Abdulrahman Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank your foe choosing Erbil Rotana, I am truly glad that we have reached your satisfaction. Our team will continuously work on making you feel at home.
Such comments from guests makes us strive to always meets your expectations, We truly appreciate your comments on our hotel, Guest feedback is the key to our success. It was and will always be a pleasure having you stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was staying as part of a holiday weekend exploring Kurdistan. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Rooms spotlessly clean and with excellent facilities, as well as facilities you would expect in a 5 star.

Food in the Bond bar was excellent - go for the burger! The breakfast restaurant food was of good quality, but seemed to lack some of the basics in an international hot breakfast.

Staff ready to help in any way - we got stuck at a checkpoint reentering Erbil city one night, having been exploring the amazing countryside, as one of the group left their passport at the hotel. The hotel staff sent the passport to us at the checkpoint, as well as a bottle of cold water for everyone!

All in all superb service. If you get the chance visit Kurdistan - amazing scenery, friendly people and good service at the Rotana if staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear sir,

It is always a pleasure to welcome you during your visits to Erbil. We are truly thankful for your positive comments on our team and services. I’m very glad to hear that our team assisted you through the check point issue; be assured that we will continuously work hard to make your stay with us a comfortable one. Meeting your expectations is why we are here.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice modern hotel with superb rooms. Rotana was recommended to me by my colleagues and I was happy with the choice. The room was very clean and "functional" with hot water, safe and many other necessities which one would expect from a 5-star hotel. Out of several restaurants I have chosen an Italian restaurant and had one of the most amazing meals in a long time. Way to go Erbil! For a moment I forgot I was in Iraq thanks to this beautiful hotel. At the lobby there was an ATM where you could withdraw cash in Iraqi Dinars and USD which is quite convenient. The only disappointment was a very slow checkout process, I think it took 40 minutes to pay my bill. For more information visit alextravelblog.com

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir

We are glad that we have reached your satisfaction. Our team will continuously work on making you feel at home. Such positive comments are a morale boost for the whole team and for that we are thankful to you, it was and will always be a pleasure having you stay with us. We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham Manchester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice located Hotel in the heart of Erbil,
Rooms are very nice and large,
3 restaurantes one which is a bar aswell.
Food is expensive and beverages are also you can pay up to $10 for a coffee and a beer is $12 .
the food is nice the burgers in the bond bar down stairs are really nice
the Italian rest on the 1st floor is ok but i think it is ver rated in terms of quality of food and the price of a bottle of wine

The hotel does have a gym which is ok also a indoor pool and spa area
there is a outdoor pool which is free for hotel users but if you come from outside the hotel there is a charge of $50

overall a good hotel if you are on business , or if you are travelling there are more affordable hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Erbil Rotana , We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, Such comments makes us strive to always meets your expectations, We appreciate your comments on our hotel, Your feedback is the key to our success. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've worked in Erbil for 15 months and over that time have eaten at most of the restaurants in town. Without question the best burger is in the Bond Bar on the ground level of the Rotana and you can pair that with the best beer available in Iraq: Krombacher Dark on draft. It's a great combination for a homesick American. But there are three additional restaurants in the Rotana, all excellent. Flavours is the most complete and varied buffet available anywhere. Basilico is simply the best restaurant of any kind within a 100 mile radius, possessing a top tier Italian chef.
Al Bustan is wonderful if you seek Lebanese cuisine - and a delightful surprise if you are not too sure about it at first (as I was). We regularly place company executives in the Rotana, both for the quality of the rooms and excellence of the food. If your travels bring you to Erbil, you cannot
go wrong at the Rotana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErbilRotana, General Manager at Erbil Rotana, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear sir

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for the positive remarks on our Restaurants and food quality. Achieving your satisfaction is our main target. We truly appreciate the positive comments you extended about Erbil Rotana. We will ensure to maintain a five star hospitality level and we look forward to welcoming you again to Erbil Rotana.

Thomas Touma
General Manager
Erbil Rotana Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erbil Rotana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erbil Rotana

Address: Gulan St, Erbil, Iraq
Location: Iraq > Erbil Province > Erbil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Erbil
#1 Spa Hotel in Erbil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erbil Rotana is a landmark five star hotel featuring 201 well appointed rooms and suites, five food & beverage outlets, one Grand Ballroom that fits for up to 1000 guests and 5 small meeting rooms for conferences and events. All the meeting rooms are equipped with the latest audio-visual equipments, translation system and high speed internet connection. The property is strategically located close to the business and diplomatic area of the city. Ten minutes drive from Erbil International Airport and fifteen minutes to the city center, the historical Citadel, bazaars and malls. Erbil Rotana is the appropriate destination for business travelers and corporate meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Erbil Rotana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erbil Rotana Hotel Arbil
Erbil Rotana Iraq

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erbil Rotana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.