We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and Relax with total freedom!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Save Saved
You added Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club
4.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off + Resort Credit
Seven Hills, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Rest and Relax with total freedom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Been to the Domican, Jamacia, Mexico at least 30 times, and many parts of Europe numerous times. It is rare for me to do a review, but I read many of the reviews on HBR and decided to write my own. We have stayed at other clothing optionals where you leave your room clothed and had your choice to go to a naked designated area or not, but this is the first time staying where you can walk out of your room naked. For reference we went as a couple the last week of Nov. 2013.

Arrival -- Check-in was smooth and quick, less than 15 min.

Room -- Clean and nice, well laid out and all rooms include a jacuzzi with bubble bath and 2 comfy robes. The bed was just right with 2 pillows each, one large fluffy and one regular size soft scrunchy, with a love seat full of others to choose from. If this is not enough there is a pillow menu to choose from! Double sinks and glass door shower with lotions, soap and shampoos provided. (Don't waste bag room!)

Room Booze -- as advertised 4 bottles in your room which can be requested for a change for any other behind the bar. Note: they have a top shelf of every flavor that should please any palet. The fridge contained ten canned beers five kinds, 2 bags of pretzels, plenty of water, pop, and juice.

Property -- immaculate, constant cleaning and maintenance both structure and flora. I read of roof leaks but heard of none our week and we talked with most everyone there. As you will experience with only 42 rooms you will have the opportunity to meet everyone, it is great.

Staff -- They are professional, and ready to serve, when you say "thank you" they respond "My Pleasure", not just a you'r welcome. It would be unfair to list the name for fear of missing someone, but we did not have an issue with anyone from staff to maintenance, and a Hola from all.

Food -- Breakfast is buffet with custom made eggs and anything else from cheese, meat, fruit, bread, cereal. etc. Lunch is poolside with a variety to choose from. Supper is from a menu and all is good. Many people dressed (textile) and went next door at least once for supper, but I cannot comment as we did not, but from what I hear it was good. We did don clothes and toured next door and found lunch on the beach which was great, but did hurry back to our side as it was not as friendly and felt confining.

Entertainment -- Around the pool expect some lite things like triva, darts, bingo, ect, then pool volleyball. Go figure, if you win one of the day games, you win a T-shirt at a Nekked resort! Play if you want, relax if you want. Evening will always have some activity either at the pool or pavilion around 8. It will last 1.5hr to 3hr but usually early to bed, so don't expect a wild night. If you want, go next door with clothes, but by then we were done anyway plus the room was a lot of fun :-)

Grooming -- This ranges all over the spectrum. The majority are shaved pubic bare (just do it!), the next category are trimmed, and a very small minority are the wild hair Sasquatch types (nasty - trim it!).

The Experience -- After starring out of the window, we saw most around the pool nakked and others with various degrees of clothing at the tables eating. We took a deep breath, my wife with a half sarong and me with my sandels and head for the pool. (Recommend taking 2 insulated cups to keep beverages cool and holds more beverage) First stop, the front of the restaurant for two towels from the towel box, mandatory at all times. Eyes lowered we head to find lounge chairs around the pool, which are plentiful. Jump in two chairs and try to look like you fit in, eyes slowly scanning for data, when the pool server comes around, clinch your legs and order a drink. You will see big, small, thin, round, scarred, young of 30's, seniors at 70, you will be like everyone else and this phase will take 30 min to 1.5 hr. By then you will realize it is not about the body or looks, but it is about total freedom. Lunch is anywhere from nekked on your towel to fully covered with usually with a sarong. The wife never owned a sarong, now has several and loves them all. (Amazon.com ) What a lead in -- while you are shopping, and after reviewing HBR web site for theme nights, you will have some fun pushing away from the norm. Guy's don't push it too far and only try to have some nice - nasty options, girls you will really have fun after you relax (a day or two).
Girls review theme nights for a start, then take a covering dress for either side (respectful but sassy and it is 80+). Then, 2 outfits you would never wear out at home or around 500 mile or more from home base, or should I just say riske. Remember you do not have to wear it out, and it just might be a shotgun start to a private Jacuzzi session. (Having a small candle in the bag to light by the Jacuzzi is always a nice romanic touch.) My guess is you will find that you did not take it far enough! :-))) Ladies I figure you will challenge the last statement, but remember you don't have to wear it out!!! Relax and have fun! (For Mari Gras night I went on Amazon and bought 72 sets of beads and passed them out around the pool during the day, it was a hoot for all! ;;;-))) Wednesday is the nude cruise on a sail boat and is a fun trip. Dinners are anywhere from nude to provocative to sassy dresses, but everyone still ends up in the hot tub! Be prepared for Friday and recruit as many as possible to the pavilion for Neon night. As it goes the word does not pass fast enough but they bring in an artist with glow in the dark water paint. Ask for some body art and sit back and relax, then enjoy watching everyone dance in the black light. (Tip the guy as he is paid next to nothing) One afternoon is a tequila tasting and they will offer bottles to take home, --- although all are not available, for those that are, it is cheaper at duty free at the airport.

We have already booked for May 2014 as that is the soonest I can return given my schedule, we rarely return to the same place twice so that should say it all! My best advice -- try it and you will be back! If my review answered your concerns please click that it was helpful on trip advisor. Have fun and Party :-)))

Room Tip: The swim outs by the restaurant are the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    81
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
4
368
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great resort. Had a great time last week! Thanks for Esperanza, Alberto, Angel, Ruben and America! The staff is what makes this great. Food was great and all the drinks are top shelf! The weather cooperated nicely. Because the resort is so intimate, the staff gets to know you personally and really remember all the things you like. Miguel, the GM, has assembled a great staff. Getting to know the fellow guests is great. Feels a lot cozier than some of the larger resorts. This was our second visit and can't wait until our next one.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

From the bellmans "Welcome Home" upon our arrival. HBR was truly an incredible experience. My partner was concerned about going to a clothing optional resort – she had a great time. Every aspect was executed to perfection. Lots of restaurant choices - with the large resort next door, the food on the property was great as well. I can't speak highly enough of the place.

The spa was amazing - Incredible decor, state of the art facilities, and very well trained staff. It's outside the Clothing Optional area, but the Spa is Clothing Optional on Sunday evenings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was our 8th time to Hidden Beach and it is as perfect as one can want. Service is top notch and the staff is totally into pleasing the guests. The volleyball is fun; hot tubs are great and the ocean/beach views are awesome. We like this resort because most of the people are in our age group (age 40 and above) and the music, entertainment and pace is just what we like. Plan to go again in March.

Room Tip: We like Building 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is our 3rd time at this resort and it gets better every year. The staff, the amenities, the gourmet cuisine, etc. is by far the best we've ever seen. Will definitely keep returning to Hidden Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at Hidden Beach Resort (HBR); the 1st time with one other couple; this time with 3 other couples. We have been vacationing in the Cancun Resort area and Riviera Maya area since 1980; and we have stayed at many different resorts. We have always had an enjoyable time with many guests at HBR. The service by staff at HBR enjoys an exceptional reputation for being courteous, personable, and efficient. --- Especially Angelo ensuring top-notch service in the HBR restaurant, Esperanza serving drinks poolside, Luna and Ruben directing fun poolside activities. Always ask for them. Our room was spacious, always clean, with TV, and with a modern shower and Jacuzzi overlooking the sea. Bar staff provided virtually an unlimited variety of drinks. The Kenny G sound-alike jazz saxophonist at the special dinner/entertainment night was an outstanding musician. A must return for the guests. A good variety and quality of restaurants is available. --- Mexican, Asian, Italian, and American (pizza varieties and hamburger specialties). The reception personnel and resort managers were welcoming and responsive. We were impressed by the picturesque and well-maintained landscaping for a tropical vacation. With out a doubt, we will return.

Room Tip: We have always stayed on the second level. Never any problem. Always a great seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have just came back from the first trip to the hidden beach resort. Everything was just great. Oour room was clean, the food was very good (we ate once at the property next door), the other guests were nice and friendly. The surroundings are very private with lots of trees and wonderful view of an ocean. The biggest positive was probably the staff - nice, friendly and helpful. Thank you to Marco, America, Angel, Galdino, Camilla and everyone else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Address: KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 267 Specialty Lodging in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the only luxurious all-inclusive nudist resort in the Mexican Caribbean. Consisting of 42 beachfront suites, it is a secluded adults only property, perfect for couples and singles alike. Located just one hour and a half south of Cancun Airport, Hidden Beach Resort lies on a stretch of white sand beach offering spectacular views of the Mexican Caribbean sea. Hidden Beach blends signature services such as personalized check-in with a welcome glass of champagne or the exclusive concierge service with charming architecture to create an atmosphere of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club Hotel Riviera Maya
Hidden Beach Mexico
Hidden Beach Hotel Au Naturel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.