We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Save Saved
You added Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club
4.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my wife and my first visit to a clothing optional resort. We were impressed. The biggest positives were: 1) the incredible staff - super friendly, helpful, and sweet, 2) the pool and beach area was great, even though you can't easily swim in the ocean right in front as it is rocky, and 3) probably the most unexpected positive was how friendly and social most of the guests were. Nearly everyone talked to each other, which is unusual at a resort in our experience. We figured it was that we all shared the uncommon bond of enjoying a vacation in the nude.

At the beginning of our trip, we were a little surprised that most of the guests were older people, but a few days later, the crowd had changed into mostly 40-55 year olds. There was only one couple that I would say was under 30. We are 49/50 and would have preferred more younger people, but it was fine.

There was an effort by the staff to have nightlife every night (DJ, body painting, etc), but there were few takers - we mostly read in the evenings. This is not a "party atmosphere" type of a place, but it was a lot of fun. This is also not a sexually oriented place, as the Hidden Beach website says. One couple we talked to said they came here because they were tired of the overt sex going on at places like Hedonism in Jamaica - this was not like that at all.

A big plus is being able to dine at the sister property (the dark side) at any of their restaurants, all included, even though you have to put your clothes on. The food everywhere is good, but not fabulous. No biggie - it was fine. The iguana seemed very happy with the treat I gave him.

The Naay Spa which serves both Hidden Beach and the sister property is quite fancy and fun with lots of different water treatments. While it is co-ed, they do not allow nudity except for 3 hours one evening a week. That is unfortunate, as I don't see any reason a spa should not be clothing optional as a rule, especially when it is connected to a clothing optional resort. I tried to go nude, and they about had a heart attack over it. I would like to see management change that policy.

Overall, Hidden Beach was a lot of fun and we thought it was well worth it.

Room Tip: I saw several reviews before we went about requesting to be away from the nightlife and the hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    82
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
4
363
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We just returned from the Riviera Maya for the seventh time. We went to Seaside Suites for the third time and decided after we arrived to switch to Hidden Beach. Long story short, this was the best vacation we have ever taken. It only took 5 minutes to get over any anxiety of being nude in front of others. We found the other guests; beginners like us as well as the veterans to be the friendliest and welcoming of any people we have ever met at any all-inclusive resort. At the other resorts, it is pretty much limited to "ola" and at Hidden Beach you strike up a meaningful conversation and really find interesting things to talk about. The food was excellent in quality and variety. The staff was more attentive than we have previously experienced. Maybe because the resort is smaller but just the same, we felt like we were catered to on a much higher level. We have always spent a lot of time deciding where to vacation but we have that problem solved. We will return to Hidden Beach every chance we get from here on out.....We also like our "all over" tans.....

Room Tip: Definitely get a first floor room....You will know why when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is very relaxing. You will love it if you got a very good deal on the hotel price. If you paid close to full price you will feel like you paid more for it than you should have. This is a place you go to relax. there is no nightlife here. they have a disco and play music but hardly anyone is dancing. After 10pm the place is pretty much dead. We were the youngest at the resort. we are in our late 30's. Most of the people are in the mid 40's-70 range. This was fine. everyone at the resort is very friendly.They have only one restaraunt. The food is very good but service is very very slow. If you are expecting buffets you will be disappointed. You get a mini buffet style breakfast with made to order eggs. In the afternoon they somtimes have by the pool a mini lunch buffet. It is nothing like the buffets in Jamiaca or on a cruise. They aslo don't serve food all the time. I wanted to eat a buger and fries at 4:30pm but was not able to get one made b/c they were going to serve dinner in one hour and were prepping for that. this annoyed me. luckily i had some snacks in my room i could eat to hold me over until dinner. The added bonus is that you get to go next door to El Dorado to get food which is a ++. Again, next door is the same, only restaraunts no buffets. the food is also good next door. Service is great. Staff is wonderful. Rooms are really nice. The swim up rooms or balcony are probably better. we had an upper room without a balcony. It was still nice. The hotel is about an hour and 15 minutes from the airport. We did not hear about any timeshare/vacation week solicitations but that is b/c i stopped them before they had a chance too. I speak spanish fluently so that is a plus for me. I would return to this hotel again but only if i can get the groupon deal again. I don't think it is worth the rack price per night.

Room Tip: swim up or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you want to spend $500/night for your vacation and have a room that leaks thru the ceiling every time it rains ... Then this is the place for you. My wife and I thought we'd try hidden beach resort for the first time..... It took two hours to get there from the airport. That's after a 4 hour flight. The resort looked nice upon arrival and the manager said the resort was completely full , so we proceeded to our room . The room appeared great till the first rainy night. The ceiling started to leak on our second night there. We didn't complain because we were told the resort was full and we thought there was no alternate room. We through some towels on the floor a proceed with our vacation. Two days later it happened again ... We thru a few towels down and went on with our vacation. The last night the rain came down all night and virtually flooded our room. We were up all night putting towels on the floor and watching the rain drip into our room for hours. We could not sleep because there were leaks in so many places it kept us up all night. When we went to the manager to complain they gave us two massages and a facial and told us that was all they could do. When I Took up the matter with corporate management they said that's all they could do. I don't believe I will ever stay there again. $500/night for a room that leaks is not my idea of a great vacation. We were very disappointed and will never go back. So if you want to gamble on wether or not your room will leak if it rains , enjoy your stay..... We did NOT !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor. A maintenance man told 4 rooms leaked.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear drew b

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Hidden Beach resort, we are truly very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us and that you still have outstanding issues that are yet to be resolved.

I understand that you have already contacted the Corporate Management however I would urge you to conact our Head of Customer services once again so that we can review all details of your holiday experience with us

Best Regards

Alfonso Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Hidden Beach, even though we have been to many clothing optional resorts in the US and Internationally. We found it to be excellent in every respect. We liked the idea that we could enjoy many different restaurant choices, even though we had to dress. Staff was wonderful, friendly and met all our needs. We especially were impressed by a server named Esperanza. She worked continuously from 10 am to 6 pm and was always there if we wanted anything. All the servers were very attentive and met our needs. We will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, do not book a room near the dining area ( in the middle) or the entertainment are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect spot to relax then this place is the only place you need to go. 42 units insures great service and no crowds. Food is better then any of the all inclusive resorts we have been to except Royal Hideaway.

Room Tip: They are all good. You have the plain suite which is great and they all have oceanfront views. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our third trip with Castaways Travel for their October takeover in October, and it won't be our last!
Rooms are excellent and staff even surpass Excellence!
My husband has food allergies, and Angel took care of him Every day - going to the main kitchen to get him a wonderful, freshly prepared lunch. Alberto at the pool bar was outstanding; and there can never be enough good said about our drink server, Esperanza ( even coming down to our room patio to bring us drinks in the rain!)
Breakfast chef Carlos made wonderful breakfasts to order, including awesome huevos rancheros, and French toast!
You can't beat Reuben for a Great Entertainment Director - lots of fun but never pushy!
Aniceto, Alex, Omar, Faustian,and again, Angel, were just great!
And Handsome Miquel and beautiful America were great at checking us in and out of the hotel!
And, last but not least - if you ever want a massage, Joshua is the Best!

Room Tip: Always suggest getting one of the swim-up rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Address: KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 266 Specialty lodging in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the only luxurious all-inclusive nudist resort in the Mexican Caribbean. Consisting of 42 beachfront suites, it is a secluded adults only property, perfect for couples and singles alike. Located just one hour and a half south of Cancun Airport, Hidden Beach Resort lies on a stretch of white sand beach offering spectacular views of the Mexican Caribbean sea. Hidden Beach blends signature services such as personalized check-in with a welcome glass of champagne or the exclusive concierge service with charming architecture to create an atmosphere of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club Hotel Riviera Maya
Hidden Beach Mexico
Hidden Beach Hotel Au Naturel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.