We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time. We will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club to your Saves list
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club
4.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“First Time. We will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Travel dates 10/2 to 10/9 - 2013. As stated this was our first trip to HBR. We were veterans of GLBraco, 19 visits total. Just 1 to N. We live on the west coast of Florida north of Tampa.

Best way for us is to fly out of Orlando on Jet Blue. Stay in Embassy Suites the day before and parking for the week is included. We booked a private car from Lomas, arranged by travel agent. Arrived Cancun 8:30 AM, HBR 10:05 AM drive time is 1 hour.

Staff. All the Staff are great special thanks to Aniceto (restaurant), Espranza (Drinks at lounges) and Ruben (Entertainment) not to forget America (Front Desk). All staff know your name after first day or sooner. All are very professional.

Rooms. We had a 1st floor swim-up B block. Requested B block because of prior reports that music at night could be annoying. Room was clean and quiet, daily maid service, turn down service if requested. Most 1st floor swim up room guests used the sliders to enter and exit the room. Special note. The sliders have a spring-loaded catch. If you close the slider all the way you better have your room card. There is a lock box in the room also an ironing board and iron. Don’t know what you might have to iron at a AN resort. Did not see other room’s, our room size was fine for us. Last note. Front desk will perforate your room card so it can be carried on a tie around your neck. Should help for second and third floor rooms if you want to keep your card close..

Pool. The pool is showing its age. It is clean and the water temp was fine. Note. We have a pool at home if not heated it will be about the same temp as the Gulf. This time of year it runs about 80 F. Average Gulf water temp off Cancun this time of year is 84 F. I brought a thermometer with me pool temp was 83 F.

Gym. Clean and air-conditioned two treadmills, two bikes, free weights, 4-station fitness gym and a stepper. Also in the gym is a scale for those brave enough to want to weigh themselves during vacation. Note take it outside the gym floor is rubberized.

Entertainment. Ruben does an excellent job and is very creative. Volleyball several times daily. It’s not the serious type like at Braco lots of fun. Music was varied during the day and if it got to loud they would cut the volume on request. Evenings live music, casino party, pool party, and body painting by a local artist that glows. One night Circus performers. My impression is that Ruben will vary the entertainment to keep it interesting.

Weather. Total of 30 minutes of rain for the week. High upper 80’s F low mid 70’s F.

Food. Last but not least. You have the option to have dinner at HBR or go next door to El Dorado Seaside. We tried the Italian at EDS and were very pleased. There is a new restaurant called the Garden Pub, reservations are required, The GP is described as a Tapas restaurant, appetizer is very good, chicken was slightly overcooked ,sliders are mini burgers. These are entrees that are meant to be shared. We were invited, as guest to the exotic members party at EDS one night Entertainment was excellent food was average, Lobster and steak. It’s difficult to prepare that many meals and get it right. But the room for dinner has lots of hard surfaces and with the band and conversation level it was difficult to talk. Actually we had steak the night before at HBR that was superior to the steak at the exotic members party. All meals at HBR were excellent very happy with portion size and variety. Lots of fresh fruit available at breakfast, plus the usual fare eggs, bacon, cereal etc. Lunch was varied and there were a few poolside buffet lunches. Enjoyed all the dinners we had at HBR.

Resort. They are trying to be a green resort. The property in very clean and I saw ongoing maintenance. There is a sales campaign about membership; we did not attend a presentation. Note. They were not high pressure and we may attend next time. Estimated time for the presentation was 1 hour.

Overall. Very happy with all our experiences at HBR. We will return must likely for 2 weeks.Will keep eyes open for specials that lower the rates.

Guest. All those we met were great, very friendly and fun.

Hope all this info helps. I read trip reports prior to selecting a resort. I filter for bias or axe to grind. I have tried to give honest opinions. Hope it helps. Sorry for being so long winded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    85
    18
    15
    13
See reviews for
4
383
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent six days at Hidden Beach and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was great, as were the food and service. We especially liked the 24 hour room service and the lazy river just outside our room.

Room Tip: Pay the few extra dollars for Lomas to drive you to the resort in a limo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was our 5th resort in the Rivera Maya . We were at the El Dorado Suites and decided to extend our vacation and check out HB since we were in the area. We are active AANR member and had numerous solicitations from Castaways for this resort and were curious. When we arrived our room was not ready even though we were paid for the previous day. While waiting a staff member attempted a sales pitch to attend a EXOTIC VACATION CLUB presentation. We were given a 2nd floor room, ocean view. room was disappointing, small, Luke warm shower. Our first night we woke up to lots of bugs crawling on our bed, hair and floor. I know we are in the carribean and in the Mangroves but we have never experienced this at any other resort in the area. We called at midnight to clear the bugs. The GM the next morning was rude but accommodating after they discovered a nest and moved us to a downstairs swim up room that was even smaller.

The restaurant, a cafeteria offered little choice and food quality was poor. Several lunch barbeques were OK. There is no upscale dining ,and after several meals we chose to return to the "dark side" for the quality and ambiance. Our favorites the Mexican, Italian.

The pool is the hub,swimup bar, volleyball in pool several times a day, the beach coral rocks, not swimmable. Reuben made the afternoons fun with the volleyball and games, and the weekly Reggae Band was the highlight of our week. The sound system crackled with the same music daily, they need to modernize sound system and variety of music. Jacuzzi by pool was cold and jets were not working. The rear of the resort has a bar and Jacuzzi under a roof, where the late night meets are held. Very few showed up for these events, sometimes just a handful. resort was at 60% occupancy.

The Spa (dark side) was wonderful, a golf cart would take you. We enjoyed the quests at the resort, most seem to be members of the Exotic. The drinks were good, Esmeralda took good care in preparing the drinks to your liking.

We will not return, as there are so many better resorts in the area that are nude or topless, Desire Resort has a beautiful beach, and fine dining room and good entertainment at a competitive price.

Room Tip: swim up room is smaller than the upstairs room some of the buildings have three stories, warning NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We returned from our 7th trip to HBR on 05 October 13 and were disappointed by the changes made by the new management team. Food quality for the evening meals has slipped terribly, they do not have a full time chef for the resort the chef is shared with El Dorado Seaside; my wife had Chicken Parmesan that was raw and Pad Thai that was like no other Pad Thai anywhere, we also had dinner buffets on 3 nights of the week. The waitstaff is still excellent and does all they can, but they are losing long term employees which could affect service in the future. Basic things like housekeeping are slipping also, the resort advertises nightly turn down service but we were skipped 4 nights out of 10 and we had to call for maintenance on the toilet within 2 hours of arriving. Think they would check to make sure the toilet flushes before putting people in the room. The new management team is driving this resort towards the run of the mill Cancun all-inclusive at 4 Star prices. If you go to the El Dorado Seaside (aka Dark Side) for dinner try the Gourmet PUB it is exceptional quality you used to get at HBR.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you in 1228, 1229, 1230 or the comparable rooms in the 11 building, best descrip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Staff is second to none. Lots of available loungers and lounge beds both pool side and on the beach. We went in low season, and resort was probably less that 50% occupied, so could be harder to come by when the place is full. Bartender fixes anything you like, and keeps them coming. Everyone knows your name by 2nd day. Food is good...Some of it is outstanding. Weather was almost perfect by September Yucatan standards....cool breezes, no mosquitos or sandfleas.

Constructive criticism:

lighting in the guestroom lavs could be brighter.
Sound system at pool needs upgrading...speaker crackles

Room Tip: wear shoes or flip flops on tile corridors...almost went down a couple of times
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We made the mistake of splitting or last nudist vacation between Hidden Beach and Desire Pearl. The last part at Desire Pearl made us appreciate how well run Hidden Beach is. There is nothing the staff will not do to make your visit a week in paradise. Including going out to find your favorite liqueur it they didn't have behind the bar.

We stayed in one of the swim up suites and it was the perfect size and well maintained. The food was simple and well prepared. We did put on clothes to go to Japanese restaurant on the dark side (clothing side) of the resort and realized the food was better on the light side. Or it could be that eating Japanese food in Mexico is just a bad idea in general. The poolside grill for lunch was a nice touch and added to the variety. They get the concept that good food can be done simply.

The other guests also made the stay even more enjoyable. They were friendly and even if some one had too much to drink it didn't turn into spring break. We made some friends that we hope to keep in touch and join them again at Hidden Beach.

To accommodate us nudist the larger Eldorado Resort provided nude massages on the beach and even had a clothing optional afternoon at the dark side spa which was outstanding. They had a hydrotherapy session and wine during your therapy. The massage therapists were well trained and could provide a real deep tissue massage if you needed one.

The concierge was so nice when she heard we were leaving for the other resort extended out checkout to 3 in the afternoon at no additional cost. We will make this a yearly trip and wish we could go more often.

Room Tip: Swim up suites are the best choice, if you are a light sleeper ask for one away from the hot tub and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Truly all inclusive, 6 restaurants for dinner, quality alcohol at the bars, room service 24/7 included, jacuzzi at the room and excellent service! But above all it is a small resort, only 42 rooms, so after two days you know everybody by name, staff and guests, and they all are very friendly which makes this vacation just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Address: KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the only luxurious all-inclusive nudist resort in the Mexican Caribbean. Consisting of 42 beachfront suites, it is a secluded adults only property, perfect for couples and singles alike. Located just one hour and a half south of Cancun Airport, Hidden Beach Resort lies on a stretch of white sand beach offering spectacular views of the Mexican Caribbean sea. Hidden Beach blends signature services such as personalized check-in with a welcome glass of champagne or the exclusive concierge service with charming architecture to create an atmosphere of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club Hotel Riviera Maya
Hidden Beach Mexico
Hidden Beach Hotel Au Naturel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.