We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club to your Saves list
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club
4.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Land O Lakes, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Most relaxed and fun place to be. Great staff and excellent service.
You will love it!
It is pricey but you will think its well worth it. Keep in mind you have acess to Eldorado Seaside but you do have to wear clothes

Room Tip: There are all wonderful rooms, you can't get a bad room , they are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    82
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
4
370
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The great differentiator is the outstanding service provided by the hole staff. Some people may
say it is expensive but it's difficult to put a price to a place that makes you feel at home.

The new spa is excellent but you have to leave HBR to get to it and take advantage of the hydrotherapy. Still nothing beats a massage by the beach. It would be nice if there was a schedule exclusively for HBR guests an take advantage of it au naturel.

This time we stayed in the second floor so we missed having a quick and easy access to the room. We prefer the swim up suites. We were in the north side and had no issues being close to the disco.

We are not fond of all inclusive meals but at HBR the food has been just great.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Swim up suites have the best access to the room. Second and third floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Absolutely outstanding!! This was our first time at an Au Naturel resort and obviously our first time at Hidden Beach and it was the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation we have ever had. We will be returning for a second visit soon. We met a lot of very nice people and enjoyed a full week of activities including some very fun pool volleyball and an unbelievable nude catamaran trip with snorkeling and lunch on the beach. My wife and I were very apprehensive upon arrival since we had never experienced this type of environment. However, we relaxed very quickly and shed our inhibitions right along with our clothing. It was the most enjoyable and liberating experience we could have ever imagined. Everyone was so casual and relaxed and they made us feel welcome from the very beginning. We were able to enjoy being completely nude or fully clothed depending on the mood. We traveled to Hidden Beach to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We purchased the "Anniversary" package with our trip and it was fabulous. We had a candlelight dinner of steak and lobster for two on the beach with breakfast in bed the following morning. We had 2 different couples massages with one of them being at the outstanding spa and the other massage beach side under the cabanas. The sand on the beach was not very comfortable to walk on since it was mostly crushed coral and shells. Soft sand would have been more enjoyable. The coral made relaxing or swimming in the surf nearly impossible but there were so many activities and so many nice people to hang out with that we didn't miss it at all. I would say the only improvements needed in my eyes would be softer sand on the beach and the pool heated a little better. I can see where visiting in the "winter" months may not be quite as enjoyable. There was not one single hint of any sexual overtone. Everyone was simply enjoying the peace and quiet and reconnecting. The staff was superb and very respectful of everyone. Many of them knew us by name by the second day and they catered to our every whim. The bed was remarkably comfortable and the alcohol was abundant. I highly recommend Hidden Beach if you are looking for an adults only au naturel resort that is very classy and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a swim up Jr. suite and absolutely loved the close proximity to everything. It was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lex
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Outstanding resort!

The employee's are outstanding and for the most part have been there several years and are very experienced. We have been there 4 times over 10 years and they still remember us each time we arrive. It is absolutely the best vacations we have experienced. You can be nude 24-7 or clothed when you want. NO stress, NO worries, NO one bothering you or your spouse. The staff has one goal and that is to make YOU happy. The new spa is outstanding! The Exotic Traveler program is great. You have no annual dues as you do with all other time shares. This gives you a huge advantage on expenses over time. Of course they have issues from time to time as all resorts do. Cant wait to go back.... You wont be disappointed.

A few pointers-
1. Get the Lomas private transfer from the airport it gets you there a little quicker as you don't have to stop at other resorts and let people off at their resort. It's worth the extra $50.
2. If you want to go back and forth to the room a lot during the day (which we do) get a swim up suite. If you want to look at the Ocean from your room the 2nd and third floor are what you want,
3. The north 2 or 3 rooms do get a little noise from the disco if you are early to bed it may bother you. But the north side is your closer to the big hot tub.
4. I have not been there in the winter time but I understand HBR needs to heat the pool a little better?
5. You will not be able to venture into the ocean very far as the coral from the reefs washes up towards the beach, but if you venture to far the Eldorado members are next door looking at you,
(wishing they were on the HBR side).
6. The Eldorado is available to use as you want but that side is not nearly as much fun.
7. You can get involved in the fun at HBR (water volleyball,poker night,disco,ect. or you can just sit on the beach and watch the waves while no one bothers you other than to bring you something to drink or eat.
8. There are more than enough cabana's and chairs on the beach and around the pool so relax you don't have to get up early and reserve one.
9. You will see people from all age groups from 30 to 70.

If you want to relax with no worries! This is the place to do it. The staff will take care of everything for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first time for my husband and me at the Hidden Beach, and it will likely be the last. The overall experience was good, but it's too pricey for one week of vacation for non club members. This place is probably very good as a time-share resort, and quite a few people we met there were members. Our main reason for going there is because we wanted to try out a completely clothing-optional resort, and as far as that goes, Hidden Beach met our expectations. Guests were very friendly and non-judgemental--you can wear a little or nothing at anytime, anywhere. There is no pressure to participate in events/games, but the resort is very small and so you can't really get away from the crowd. Nevertheless, we had a very relaxing vacation. And it follows that, to get any kind of quality night life, one would have to put on clothes and go to the other side of the resort (the El Dorado Seaside Suites), where there are more bars and beaches, etc.

Meals and restaurant service:
There is only one restaurant at the resort, with a dining room and a covered patio, which is where the most sought-after seats are located. The tables usually seat 2, but there were a few tables of 4 or 6. The meal times are typical of other resorts; despite being the only place to dine, we did not find it difficult to get a good seat at breakfast (between 7:30 and 8:30). Lunch is the only meal that can be served either at the restaurant or at the BBQ (few times each week), which is set up near some picnic tables on the pool deck. There are no dinner reservations but as long as you do not go at peak times between 6 and 7:30, you will not have to wait long to get a seat.

We arrived during an unusually cool period, when temperatures plummeted to below 8 C; on our first night, we found quite a few patrons inside the dining room, huddled in their Hidden Beach -provided white robes. I followed suit, thinking that it was customary to dine in robes, but when temperatures warmed up the following days, virtually everyone dressed down. I preferred to wear a light top or a wrap when dining, but many (especially gentlemen) preferred to wear their birthday suits and sit on a towel.

We have stayed at another El Dorado resort before (the Royale north of Playa del Carmen) and so were expecting gourmet foods similar to what we had. We were somewhat disappointed that in Hidden Beach itself, the menu was limited, and did not offer gourmet items. During the week, we tried everything once, and I imagine that had we stayed two weeks, we would have had eveything twice. Once a week, there is a supper on the pool deck, and it is a VERY miniature version of a beach party at the main resort--enough said. Like many other reviewers, however, we found the restaurant service to be superb. Most of the staff have worked there for many years, and are accustomed to greeting and serving repeat club members. In fact, it had the feel of a country club atmosphere. If there were au natural country clubs around, I imagine it would be a lot like the Hidden Beach. Over at the Seaside Suites, there were the usual oriental, mexican, continental, steakhouse varieties of restaurants. We tried two of them, and the meals were not memorable for their tasty foods, but rather for their poor service, and long wait times. There may have been gourmet items, but I do not remember them being prepared well. So, bottom line, expect good food in good quantity over at the Seaside, but not necessarily gourmet fare.

Room and service:
Our room could have been a real winner--large, bright (windows on three sides), just meters away from the pounding waves of the ocean. Near these windows sat an inviting jacuzzi, which we used once (with a bubble bath). We also had a separate shower and 'his and hers' sinks. The maid service and drink stewards were excellent. Nothing to complain about at all there. Unfortunately, the room was located directly opposite the large hot tub within the Skylight pavillion (I think that was the name) where nightly entertainment was held. Hence, from about 9:00 pm until well past midnight, music boomed continuously--often to an empty dance floor! We complained three nights in a row to no avail. Finally, on the fourth day, we happened to talk to the assistant manager, who then promised that the music would be turned down after 11:00. By turning down, he meant from REALLY loud, to just loud. I've read recommendations from previous reviewers who said to choose the units on the other side of the resort. We discovered, however, that those quieter units are seldom available because club members usually have them reserved first.

Night life:
During the day, the Skylight Pavillion sat idle and we really enjoyed our private hot tub (in fact, the only warm hot tub in the Hidden Beach resort, since the other one was a cool tub)--then we found out that about 5:30, people would file in with their cocktails in hand, and as I mentioned earlier in the review, this became party central after 9 pm. But except for a dozen or so people, not many stayed for more than an hour or so. The management knows what the members like and they do not spend much money on the entertainment since that's NOT why patrons go there.

Pool and beach:
The repeat patrons have a buddy system that ensure they have their favourite beach beds or lounge chairs on the beach staked out long before breakfast. This is not unique to Hidden Beach and I have seen this so often that I don't bother to get up early ( i.e. before 7) to try to claim a chair near the pool. We were able to find a chair or a bed on the beach, and that's where my husband prefers to be most of the time. However, since the resort faces due east, not every place on the beach gets sun throughout the day. Also, the cushions on many of the beds and lounge chairs are packed down and should be replaced. There is no place to swim on Hidden Beach because the bottom is not sandy but rather rocky. The pool is relatively small and not conducive to recreational swim; even so, it was frequently used for volleyball, and many people really enjoyed this.

Clothing optional/Au natural experience:
This is not the first clothing-optional resort for us but the first one that was C-O throughout. As mentioned earlier, both the patrons and staff are comfortable around people with or without clothing. There are only two rules. First, there are no visitors, and secondly, no one can go outside of the Hidden Beach "compound" without being clothed. This was a bit of an inconvenience since we booked a nude "Water journey" at the spa (available every Sunday from 5:00 until they close) and had to go and leave there fully clothed. The spa was exceptional and was the most professionally run of any that we've attended. I highly recommend that you take the time to indulge. Doing the water journey au naturel with my husband was one of the best experiences I've had at a resort.

The second most enjoyable was the nude cruise that we went on mid-week. This was set up by the manager of the resort and cost us $150 USD for two, and well worth the expense. (I am pretty sure that another independent company runs it, though). The trip lasted from 9:30 until 5:30, and since we had to catch the bus outside of the compound, we had to be fully clothed to start the trip. There were 20 of us, smaller than the usual 30 or 40. After about an hour of bus ride north towards Cancun, we headed for one of the top 10 beaches of the world, and number one in Mexico--Maroma Beach. This is high praise, but you can see why it is deserving--lovely wide strip of fine white sand as far as the eye can see-- great for walking in and lying in. It is also an ecological reserve and so development has been well contained. Following an amazing local lunch under a large tent, we had an impromptu mud treatment on the beach, with husbands and boyfriends rubbing wet sand all over our bodies and then dusting us off with dry sand and finally rinsing everything off with the ocean. Of course, lots of alcohol was flowing before, during and after the lunch on the beach. Even though the cruise was completely au naturel, no one did anything of a sexual nature.

In closing, if you like a C-O resort and do not care much for night life, this resort is worth a try, as long as the higher price is not a deterrent. For the money, I would rather go back to Cuba to the Cayo Santa Maria or Cayo Coco, where the beach is fantastic and clothing-optional and the cost is probably half to two-thirds. After doing the cost-benefits, we have indeed decided to go back to Cuba for our next vacation.

Room Tip: Choose rooms located in the south wing and on the ground floor--you will appreciate the convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been all over Cancun and stayed at a lot of resorts. We have always stayed at couples/adults resorts to get away form the noise and kids of their big family resorts. We decided to experiment this time and try something different. As it turns out it was probably one of the most relaxing vacations of our lives. If you think that Hidden is one of the sexual vibe/party kinda places you had better not stay at Hidden Beach. You will be more happy at Desire or Temptations. There is a zero sex vibe here. It's all about being comfortable and relaxed. For the newbies the first day may be challenging but after that ...everyting is second nature.

I can't add a lot to what the others have already said to be honest. Yes the beach is not swimable.....but its a great place to sun, read and chill out in one of the bali beds. They told me the laws prevent them from messing with the beach conditions here at all becuase it is so close to the reef. The staff will be along every so often to make sure you have another drinkl too ! If you have your heart set on swimming on a beach pop out your swim suit and walk a few short steps next door ( where it is crowded and wall to wall people next door. )

The first couple nights we would shower and change clothes and go over to check out the restaurants next door...but by Wednesday we were so use to not haveing to get dressed we just said screw that..lets just sit on our towels and have dinner at Hidden. Getting dressed actually became a thorn in the side by mid week and we dreaded it.

They do massages near the beach..again no coverups needed which is nice at sunset. You do have access to an awesome spa next door that requires you to get dressed to visit. I would recommend going on Sunday Evenings becuase on Sunday evening they close it except for Hidden guest...whcih means once you get there, after you put your clothes in the locker you don't need them again until you leave. :-)

You might want to do the au natural cruise on Weds as well. Its a great relaxing time and once again if you are looking for a big sexy party you will be disappointed. Its just not like that.

Its is not a "luxury" place like Excellence for sure....and we like Excellence but I have to say without a doubt Hidden Beach is one of our best vacations ever and we can't wait to go back. If anyone has any specific questions just drop us a note.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms have balconies on the upper floors. You can try to request them but they are usually fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our 2nd time to Hidden Beach Resort and this place truly is special. The place may not be perfect but it’s pretty darn close. The resort is not a party till you drop nor is it a snooze fest. The excitement of the intimate sized resort changes as the old patrons end their vacation and the new folks arrive. This normally happens Sunday/Monday so by Tuesday things are happening and fun.
Some of the Pros are the booze never stops flowing and you seldom have to wait for a drink. Although you have access to all the fine restaurants next door there really is no reason to leave and get dressed as the restaurant there is fine. The location of the swim up suites are very convenient, all you have to do is walk out the back sliding glass door and you’re in the middle of everything but its normally still quiet. The farthest you will have to walk from the furthest swim up suite to the center is about 20 seconds. The norm when eating is to wear a wrap or towel although some do not and that’s not an issue. The biggest pro was the excellent staff that remembered us from last year and was every bit as attentive as ever. They really do help make this fine resort special.
Some of the Cons are the booze seemed to have a couple less bottles of top shelf hooch compared to last year although there was still plenty. The outdoor grill that served grouper and mahi mahi everyday was only operational a couple days this year sans grouper. The biggest issue for us was the nonexistent beach access. Next door has a nice beach but you have to get dressed, also there is a wonderful beach down town that the locals go to. The beach at this resort may be lacking but the turtles make up for it as they make their way up to lay their eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club

Address: KM 95, Carretera Cancun Tulum | Kantenah, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the only luxurious all-inclusive nudist resort in the Mexican Caribbean. Consisting of 42 beachfront suites, it is a secluded adults only property, perfect for couples and singles alike. Located just one hour and a half south of Cancun Airport, Hidden Beach Resort lies on a stretch of white sand beach offering spectacular views of the Mexican Caribbean sea. Hidden Beach blends signature services such as personalized check-in with a welcome glass of champagne or the exclusive concierge service with charming architecture to create an atmosphere of understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club Hotel Riviera Maya
Hidden Beach Mexico
Hidden Beach Hotel Au Naturel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Beach Resort - Au Naturel Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.