We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Water Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xel-Ha

Xel-Ha
Km 240 Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, locales 1 & 2, modulo B, Xel-Ha,, 77780, Mexico
+52 998 883 3143
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$239*
and up
Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and...
Ranked #143 of 491 Activities in Riviera Maya
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Aquariums, Adventure
Activities: Snorkeling, Scuba diving, Swimming, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xel-Ha Natural wonder awaits you! Xel-Ha is simply unique! Xel-Ha is one of the world's most beautiful, natural aquariums. And it's all inclusive too!!! Swim and snorkel surrounded by rainbow colored fish who have made the river and inlet their home, take long walks in the middle of the jungle, ride a bike, take the train or just relax while enjoying the lazy river! All these activities are included too!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Water Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Snorkeling, Lazy River, Dolphin Fun.... And the buffets .... Just amazing! No complaints here! My wife and I spent an entire Saturday walking round having fun...... The Hammock rest area was the best idea a park could offer .... play rest eat rest play and rest again.... What more could you ask for!?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,190
    1,457
    478
    153
    120
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Perfect Way to Reprensent Mexico !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Dear Travelers: I live in Tulum for 16 years, never in those 16 years I visit Xel- Ha, What a mistake, life keep the surprise for long time, till one day few weeks ago I visit for the first time, and what a beautiful surprise, the place is beautiful, everything from the Attractions , Service, Architecture, Design , services like bathrooms, showers, restaurants, bars, is really nice is the perfect place to go with family, little ones will have a super nice day.... Proud that the company that owns this beautiful park is Made in Mexico..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great place for adults and children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We did a day trip to Xel-Ha through our resort. The bus picked us(3 adults, 2 teens and 2 children) up around 7.30am and we arrived at Xel-Ha around 10.30. This was not because it is a long trip but because some of the people to be picked up at other resorts were not in the lobby ready to go. It is a pleasant bus ride and only the 9 year old said "are we there yet"!! We had breakfast at one of the four restaurants and then walked to the zip line area which was a lot of fun for all of us. We went from there to the cliff jumps which are two 12-13 foot jumps into the water. The 2 teenagers and 2 younger children really enjoyed this activity and did it a few times. From there we walked to the start of the tube ride and tubed back down to the zip lines. The paths at Xel-Ha are all under a canopy of natural shade provided by the trees and have interesting facts posted along the way. We went to a different restaurant for lunch which was an international buffet. The younger members of our group did not really find anything at the buffet to their taste so instead went right next door to the fast food restaurant and ate there while the adults enjoyed a margarita and the buffet. After lunch we went to the locker area and picked up our towels and snorkels and flippers and did a bit of lagoon snorkeling. Unfortunately the water in the area where we swam was murky so not many fish were visible. Earlier in the day on the way to the zip line area we had seen some very clear water and perhaps should have gone back there as fewer swimmers had been there to stir things up! Our bus back to the resort was set to leave the park at 5.30pm so we changed back into dry clothes around 5pm and had a light meal before leaving. Everyone in our family group had a wonderful stress free day at Xel-Ha. Our group ranged in age from 9 years to 61 years. I would recommend this day trip to all families for a fun time together.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun day filled with adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had so much fun snorkeling, swimming with fish and stingrays, eating, drinking and relaxing. There were many families with little ones everywhere.....there were older folks too. T Access to life jackets, floating tubes, food and drinks were every where. We really enjoy the food...it was really good and plentiful. We especially enjoyed eating at the main hut, over looking the entire lagoon. Eat on the 2nd floor for better view. You will not regret it. The only downside was our ride there. It was long....1 1/2 each way from Cancun. Our bus did not have a restroom and we had to make a rest stop and there were traffic...it took a long time to get back to our hotel. Plus the pictures they take of you are over-priced.$18 for a 8X10. No special deal even if you bug a 2nd or 3rd picture. I highly recommend you bring your own water camera. Overall, it was a great place to just relax and float around. Bring lots of sun-block (bio-degradable) and swim shoes since there's lot of walking around. The trails can be rough on your feet. I highly recommend for anyone visiting nearby to visit this aquatic place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for Beginner Snorkelers and families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The park is all-inclusive (food and drinks), and the food was good. It's a huge lagoon, and an excellent for beginner or family snorkeling. My wife and I are divers, so it was pretty tame for us. But after touring Tulum, it's a great place to stop on the way back to Playa and points north.

We rented a car from Hertz at the Cancun airport for next to nothing, and that was a huge advantage in choosing where and for how long we wanted to tour, or whatever.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xel-Ha also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Xel-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xel-Ha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.