We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best swim of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xel-Ha

Xel-Ha
Km 240 Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, locales 1 & 2, modulo B, Xel-Ha,, 77780, Mexico
+52 998 883 3143
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$129*
and up
Xel-Há All-Inclusive Day Trip from Playa del...
Ranked #4 of 158 things to do in Riviera Maya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xel-Ha Natural wonder awaits you! Xel-Ha is simply unique! Xel-Ha is one of the world's most beautiful, natural aquariums. And it's all inclusive too!!! Swim and snorkel surrounded by rainbow colored fish who have made the river and inlet their home, take long walks in the middle of the jungle, ride a bike, take the train or just relax while enjoying the lazy river! All these activities are included too!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best swim of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

In this eco park the main attraction is the river which runs towards the sea.

There are other things to see such as cenotes (basically water in a lime staone cavern some of which have collapsed and are now open) and wildlife but its the river thats the star.

You can walk, cycle or get a bus to the start and either take an inflatable ring (a WASTE of a journey) or leave a $15 deposit for a snorkel.

There are loads of fish to see on the paddle down and you can also climb up 14 foot walls and jump back in with an appropriately stupid grin on your face.

There are a couple of zip lines as well which are also fun bit had a bit of a wait when we were there.

Out package also included inclusive meals and drinks which is the way forward if you are going early (recommended)

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots of family fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We took our kids (8 and 10) and we had a great time. Biking up to the start of where you snorkel by the mangroves was fun, and the water there was crystal clear. The kids loved the zip lines, and we also liked the Mayan cave and cenotes. This was a great addition to our trip, despite being expensive and the food a bit mediocre. I'm glad we rented a car for the day rather than spending over $100 to take the bus, as parking was close to the entrance and free of charge.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobT70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun but very expensive...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Went there with my wife and our 3 kids. I paid 375$ for the 5 of us + 256$ for 3 of us swimming with Dolphin +50$ for souvenirs... The day past by so quick, it's incredible!

Snorckling with the kids was an incredible experience. Even at 6 years old, my daughter had lot's of fun and was able to lead the family during the entire snorkling time we had (1 - 1.5 hours). After snorkling, to go swim with the dolphins was natural and an incredible experience for my 2 youngest (6 and 8). The 10 yo bold wanted to book a swim with the Lamantin but it was already fully booked so get there early.

Food was a deception and very ordinary. I was expecting much better than that.

It was a great day but I'm not sure that the price is in line with the experience as I think it's a little bit too expensive.

Been there, done that but won't try it again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montrealtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Biggest waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

By the time the tour companies pick up passengers from every hotel and get to this place it is around 10;00 A.M. By the time you check in and find your way around it is 11:00. Lazy river is so lazy that it would take you 3 hours to just navigate back downstream with hardly any stops along the way. you throw in the time to stand in line to check your valuables in to be transported down river and the time to pick them back up, the only time you will have left is to stand in line for a really lousy buffet of greasy fries, hot dogs and hamburgers and salads with flies hovering over them.

If you feel compelled to visit Xel ha, skip the lazy river and at least do everything else. it might be worth it then. Otherwise it is the biggest waste of $108 ( the discounted with transportation price) you can experience

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienciasXcaret, Customer Service Staff at Xel-Ha, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear visitor.

Thank you very much for your comments.

We would have like you to know, before your visit, all the attractions you could enjoy at Xel-Ha, apart the river, like: the zip lines, the cliff jumping, the caverns which are at the end of the floating bridge, the conscious path (so relaxing), among others things you can enjoy, apart the optional activities (which have extra cost). So, please accept our apologies for haven´t gave you this information previously.

We want you to give us a second chance for make your day as relaxed and funny as you deserve.

Customer Service Team
Experiencias Xcaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible - We felt trapped.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We visited Xel-Ha for one full Saturday in June. We told our hotel concierge we wanted to snorkel and zip line, so he recommended Xel-Ha Park and scheduled our transportation. We paid $198 for 2 adults. We arrived at 8:30am and were picked up at 5:45pm. When we arrived, the workers took our tube of Coppertone Sunscreen and traded it for a small package of chemically free sunscreen. The idea made sense, but the line to get our sunscreen back was way too long at the end of the day so we left without it and we both left with sunburns. We made our way to the bar/restaurant for a drink, but nothing was open until 11am. We got a locker, paid our deposit ($35) for snorkeling gear and mandatory mildewed life jackets, and headed to the top of the "river" to snorkel. At the top of the river, we jumped in and swam down the "river" on our own. It was a little surprising not to see guides at first; however, once we started the journey, it was clear why no one was there (no need). The "river" was just a glorified swimming area full of saltwater, some seaweed, rocks, and about 20 fish randomly. (The majority of the fish hang out by the bridge where visitors feed them bread crumbs.) This is not true snorkeling by any means. On our way down the "river", I jumped off the cliff area twice which was fun. We did the zip lines, but these were just short little lines that sent us back into the water. We walked back down to the main area, showered, and went to lunch. The main buffet was nasty (My husband compared it to the buffet in the movie Vegas Vacation.). We left and went to the Corona buffet. This was a tad better. We had salad, cheesecake (not the best), ice cream, and bread. None of the meats looked good enough to eat...greasy and flies on them. We were finished with lunch by noon. The bar in that area was the best part of Xel-Ha Park. We didn't know how to spend the rest of the day, so we sat in a float for a few hours (noon-2pm & this was enjoyable since it was away from the crowds), I went down the kid area slide and obstacle course (better than any adult included activity actually), and we drank more at the Corona Bar and the Fast Food Bar. We chose to get fries from the Fast Food place, but that is all. They had premade burger patties floating in grease, hotdogs in greasy water, and old crusty chicken wings in some sort of lumpy sauce. It was the worst food I'd ever seen. We sat around for over 3 hours wishing we were back at our resort and people watched all the locals. We debated getting alternative transportation, but why waste even more money. We talked to other vacationers there who felt trapped as well. We debated spending more on the activities not included (dolphins $100 per person, zip line bike $25, etc.), but felt like we threw away enough at the park. Xel-Ha Park is a place where the locals go for the all you can eat and drink perks. It is dirty, smelly, and a waste of a day. Stay at your resort and pocket the nearly $100 per person. We felt like we lost one day of travel because of this poor choice. It is not worth it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank JLoveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienciasXcaret, Customer Service Staff at Xel-Ha, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear visitor.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We want to apologize for not meet your expectations during your visit to Xel-Ha. We would like to know the name of the agency which sold you the tickets, in order to reinforce with them the information about all the activities you can enjoy at this park and which weren´t informed to you. It´s important for us the entire satisfaction of our customers and the preview information is a key piece of the process.

Regarding the food, we already sent your comments to Food & Beverage Department and take for sure they will be taken on account.

We would like you to give us a second chance to entertain you and your family next time you visit Cancun or Riviera Maya.

Customer Service Team
Experiencias Xcaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xel-Ha also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Xel-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing