We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Mexico's natural wonders.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xel-Ha

Xel-Ha
Km 240 Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juarez, locales 1 & 2, modulo B, Xel-Ha,, 77780, Mexico
+52 998 883 3143
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$239*
and up
Cancun Combo Tour: Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Xplor and...
Ranked #144 of 490 Activities in Riviera Maya
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Water Parks, Aquariums, Adventure
Activities: Snorkeling, Scuba diving, Swimming, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Xel-Ha Natural wonder awaits you! Xel-Ha is simply unique! Xel-Ha is one of the world's most beautiful, natural aquariums. And it's all inclusive too!!! Swim and snorkel surrounded by rainbow colored fish who have made the river and inlet their home, take long walks in the middle of the jungle, ride a bike, take the train or just relax while enjoying the lazy river! All these activities are included too!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cancun
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of Mexico's natural wonders.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Good food and drinks , great activities and sights. Make sure you go early and take advantage of the awesome breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,160
    1,445
    472
    152
    119
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been to Xel-Ha twice and each time we find more to do. It is awesome for snorkeling and even beginners can have fun because everyone uses life vest. There are plenty of family friendly photo ops. The two cliff diving experiences are amazing and truly refreshing from the Mexican heat. The staff members are helpful and encouraging. My niece did the dolphin swimming and she loved it. It seemed like the other dolphons were doing a little more but she got to touch them and feed them and they jumped over the group. It is all inclusive (including alcohol) and their drinks are some of the best. They are willing to make anything you can come up with. I even asked the bartender to name the drink after himself since it was the first time making it. The breakfast menu isnt really great but the lunch spot across from the parrrots is really good. This is another most attend place in Playa del Carmen.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Nature Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a private vehicle because we didn't want to take the tour bus which picks up people from various hotels which was a plus for us becuase we got there around 9:30 am and left around 2:30 pm. I think we could have stayed for another hour or two. We did the river tubing, cliff diving, rope crossing, and zip lining. All of these activities were included in our admission price. We enjoyed the buffet which was amazing as well and the scene. This place is breath taking. I am glad we were able to see this park. I am unsure if there is any place like this is the US. Given the $80 admission price which provided us access to endless activities, food and sites, this place is well worth your money. Make sure to visit the lighthouse. The sea view is breath taking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortense, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved our excursion to Xel-Ha!! The water was absolutely amazing and the fish were beautiful. Snorkeling was so much fun and you could stay in the water all you wanted and lots of different places to snorkel at. We enjoyed every part of this park except for the grotto's they were not much to look at. Tubing down the river was a lot of fun and the zip lines were great fun. My son and I enjoyed jumping off of Courage Cliff which is a 12ft cliff into the crystal clear water. The kiddy area is small, but my 4yr old had a blast there with his dad while we snorkeled. The "lighthouse" was not much of a lighthouse, but the view of the Caribbean Sea was breathtaking. I could have sat in that one spot all day and just watched the waves it was amazing. My boys (4&7) bought their Xel-Ha passports and enjoyed getting them stamped, even though we could not find all of them they still enjoyed it. This book also tells you lots of very interesting information about Xel-Ha and the history behind it which was pretty awesome as well. Loved the all inclusive food and drinks. The food was good at the place we were at, but the all you can drink sodas was very nice especially with children. The transportation to Xel-Ha was incredible and a very comfortable ride. Highly recommend this place and will definitely go again if we get the chance to!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great experience for the whole family, especially if you're new to snorkeling! We were able to see a wonderful variety of fish and even a couple of sting rays! The park was also all-inclusive for food and drinks. We didn't do the extra activities like swimming with dolphins but I'm sure it would be worth it. Well worth the money for a very unusual park to explore!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xel-Ha also viewed

 

Been to Xel-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xel-Ha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.