We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casitas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 353 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casitas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

WE stayed March 8-17 at the Casitas building 31. We loved our room and outdoor shower! Beach area is better down at the Royale side but we wouldn't give up staying in the Casitas. Nice and close to the Sane Fe restaurant. Breakfast was great there they had outdoor balcony to sit and have breakfast. The dinner there was great too. My favorite dinner was the Italian on the casita side. My husband loved the Kampai the best. We were lucky to be there during the Canadian beef week. We are from Canada and do love our Alberta Beef! The BBQ on the beach was awesome as well as the dinner at Fuentes's. As we are members we were able to attend the dinner complimentary. We splurged on massages on the beach. A little expensive but great. If you do use the spa make sure and go an hour early and use the steam room, sauna and pools before your massage. We lucked out and caught the Fire show incredible show. Free shuttle service into Playa del Carmen was a nice option. Playa del Carmen has changed so much from when we were here 5 years ago. It now is just like shopping in big city. The only downside we had was eating lunch at Joe Joe's you have to have a t-shirt no muscle shirts. They let my husband put his towel around his shoulders which looked ridiculous but it is a long way back to the Casista section just to get a t-shirt. We are on the beach and want to have lunch at the restaurant on the beach. We thought that rule was silly especially when some ladies were in there with just there tankini on!! Over all everyone was very friendly and we definitely will be back. It is a beautiful resort!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear leona-44,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at El Dorado Royale. It was terrific to read that you felt it we are an amazing property and truly appreciated the constructive feedback from the dress code at Jojos, we will definitly be at guard to see that the dress code is respected for every one.
We thank your compliments to our gourmet inclusive, services, facilities and atmosphere.
It would be very pleasing to have one of our members back for another memorable vacation.

Warmest regards
Paula Negrete
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,485
    238
    93
    22
    19
See reviews for
53
1,473
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just recently stayed here for our honeymoon. It was pure bliss! I definitely recommend staying at the casitas because it is personally catered to your happiness and ultimate relaxation. From bartenders that come to your back porch, lazy rivers, and more food options then you can handle. It truly is an all inclusive vacation!
I highly recommend El Dorado Royale for your next adult vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear mwchaffin,

Thank you for your recent review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were so well looked after by the team
here at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
We will make sure our bar team see your kind comments. They will feel so glad.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,
Paula Negrete
gm@eldoradoroyale.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We flew down for a short 4 night stay. The place is breathtaking, the service impeccable and the accommodations fabulous. Definitely stay in the casitas if you can swing it (it is more expensive).

The only thing I can critique at all would be a lack of great entertainment at night. Some of it was Ok but if they would invest in entertainment like they do everything else, this place would be a strong 5 stars in all categories.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear tonygoff,

Thank you for your recent review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
Thank you for comments we will take then in consideration to improve in that area.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,
Paula Negrete
gm@eldoradoryale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebling, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful grounds. Friendly and helpful staff. Great food. Great drinks. Paradise! Would recommend to any couple looking to getaway. We stayed in the casitas, it was far enough away from everything to feel small and cozy, but not too far from all of the resteraunts and entertainment. It was like a resort within a resort.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear deanbutler43,

We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review, and your praze to services and staff. We feel very proud to acknowledge you feel so enthusiastic about your recent vacation at our premises and we hope this will not be your last visit.
Thank you once again for your recomendations.

Best Regards
Paula Negrete
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our experience in the Casitas had both its ups and downs. We arrived originally booked in the El Dorado Royale, but they had overbooked and offered to move us to the Casitas as long as we stayed one night in the newly opened Generations Resort that was next door. We took this offer and were very pleased with the Generations. The rooms were nice, pool was large and amazing, and the beach access was pretty good as well. We were well taken care of by everyone there. The only issue was the confusion between lobbies and getting us moved around from one place to the next.

Once in the Casitas we were pleased with the accomodations, but with the delays in transferring us around we were unable to make some dinner reservations. This kept us from eating at the restaurant we were looking forward to the most. We were however able to get one reserved restaurant the following day. Having the pool right outside the patio with a pool bar was very convenient. It literally took less than a minute to be in the water with a drink in your hand once you've left your casita.

On the downside there was very little beach area to swim. I understand they are saving the environment with their man made reefs, but if I'm traveling to a tropical resort on the beach I expect a better beach area. Also, we had an issue with our patio sliding door being stuck, so we called the front desk to get it resolved and nobody showed up for two hours. We then called our concierge who said he would get right on it and still nobody showed up to fix it. I finally found a tool from a neighbor and both pried it open.

Worst of all was the way we were deceived about free massages on our honeymoon. When making reservations the concierge (Francisco) signed us up for massages without asking if we wanted them or not, and also not explaing what they entailed. We assumed they were complimentary for the honeymoon. Our concierge swore he said two for one, but never apologized for not explaining that two for one still meant over $180 dollars, which we would not normally pay for two massages, let alone one. When we confronted him he kept saying that he explained two for one, but never once apologized for the confusion or the lack of knowledge we had about the special. After that experience, we had a day and a half left, and I couldn't wait to get out of there and back home. He pretty much ruined the last days of our honeymoon.

As good as the beginning of the trip was, the lasting impression was of the poor service we received at the end of the trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Blake D

Thank you for your recent review , I found your review very interesting and have taken on board your comments.

I am truly very sorry for the experience that you encountered with your Personal Concierge , Francisco. we will be reaching out to you via private message however we would like to invite you to contact our Head of Customer services , customerservices@karismamexico.com

Best Regards
Olga Medina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omemee, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

someone told us back in 2000 about this little small place in the back woods of cancun,we kinda went awhh yah but is it any good ,im sick of going to crappy places, as a traveller we have bin lots of places and found a lot of dumps,dont get me wrong people try hard to make a go of it but you really need a good combo of 3 things ... 1 good food.....2 excellant staff .... and 3 a nice place to stay and feel at home and eldorado has this and more from the first time we went there as a small 750 room place to what it is now they spoil all there people that stay there but we have bin blessed with some extra attension due to ower long time freinds we have meet there BOY i cant count all the nice people that remember you time after time it just puts you in another dimension lol next trip there is ower 30th and most peoiple go are you crazy and i say yah crazy as a mayan lol that loves to come home
this is a 10 star resort
just ask me lol
pat and maureen
peace to all

Room Tip: well we started out in villas very nice then we upgraded onces half way through to casitas wow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear repeating guests from Canada,

It has been really nice reading your wonderful review on your recent holiday at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
We heartily appreciate your loyalty and kind words and the whole lot of new guests we may gain thanks to you.
Hoping to receive you again in sunny at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma,

Kind regards,
Paula Negrte
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Grove, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time! All the staff there were so nice and took very good care of us. Our casita butler Daniel was the best. He was always making sure we had everything we needed! I would go back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Ktvka,
Thank you for your wonderful review, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon


Sincerely
Paula Negrete
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.