We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort on the Riviera Maya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 30%
Ranked #11 of 359 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best resort on the Riviera Maya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This resort is beautiful, spacious, but not overwhelming. Many activities, entertainment, and relaxation too. The rooms are gorgeous and large. Swim up casitas along the lazy rivers are the best! Cuisine was varied and delicious! Wine list was the best! Best vacation we have taken on the Riviera Maya ever!

Room Tip: Casitas with private pools along the lazy river are the best for private fun or a quick float over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and it is with great pride that we thank you for your kind comments of being one of the best that you have had here in the Riviera Maya

It is with a great smile that we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Paula Negrete
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,716
    281
    106
    31
    20
See reviews for
63
1,715
25
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Casitas. Our room was wonderful, and the food was outstanding. When they say Gourmet, in this case, it really was!
Karen and Claudia were our personal concierges, and they did an excellent job. Several suggestions that they made turned out to be very useful, such as picking the right date for our dinner on the beach.
Everyone was amazingly friendly. Well, there was one exception at the health bar, but out of seven nights stay and hundreds of people, that was very, very good.
Bring your own shampoo, but that seems like a minor thing with such great food and great service. We loved it here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear friends

It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have been outstanding.
We'll extend your compliments to our staff and most particularly, to your personal concierge.
Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working hard to achieve our guests’ satisfaction and to improve in our áreas of opportunity.
We send you our most warm Greetings form El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma .

Best regards,
Paula Negrete
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is our second trip to the Casitas. We had a wonderful time 7 years ago when we joined the Exotic Club. This time was not so wonderful. Positives: Casitas are beautiful,roomy, great outdoor shower. The grounds are beautiful: walking sidewalk all around the resort,blue ocean. Pools are great and if you stay in a lower casita you have your own swim-up pool.On our last visit we had a beach butler asking us about every 30 minutes if we needed a drink. This time we barely saw one. If we wanted a drink we had to get up and walk to a bar. They are very short on help. One day they had one person working 2 bars, the pool bar and the beach bar.
The resort is very, very large. They have cart pick-ups that will carry you anywhere you want to go, but there is waiting time for these and if you're walking get out of their way!
On our last trip we were greeted with a glass of champagne and a wonderful fragrant towel. A concierge asked us what pillow we wanted in our room and what fragrance we would like sprayed nightly. This time we were not met by anyone. We got to the hotel and put in a cart and taken to a small concierge's building near our room. There were 8 people waiting along with us for their room. We were told to go and eat and to come back. We did and when we came back the concierge was gone,. The person there gave us a key and said we could go to our room. When we got to our room we had no luggage. This was 5 in the afternoon. We had to call twice to see where our luggage was.
The next day we went back to the concierge and made restaurant reservations, which 2 of them he said we could not get in because they were already booked until Sunday. (This was Monday.) Anyway, he said he would make reservations for us for our choices. 2 nights when we went to those restaurants they did not have a reservation for us- our name was not on the list. They were very gracious and seated us anyway.
Roger , at the Santa Fe, was a tremendous help. We told him it was my husband's birthday and he and the waiters went out of their way to make it special. That meal was wonderful. The chef came out as well and greeted us. I would recommend the Santa Fe highly.
Petro, at the outside beach bar by the casitas, was wonderful,too. He would go get whatever we wanted if he didn't have it. He was topnotch!!
If you are a beach person, you need to pick another resort. The beach is narrow and rocky and you cannot walk it for exercise. There is not even room for chairs on the beach in the casita area and if you try to go down to the other part of the resort you cannot sit on the beach because you are not booked in that part of the resort. Rocky, rocky beach.
They are understaffed and waiters are running with their tongues hanging out trying to service everyone. Room service was wonderful-short wait, but at lunch we ordered the eggplant sandwich and the only thing on the sandwich was lettuce and onion.
We had brought a large group with us and they will not accommodate a table for anymore than 6 so if you come with a group don't plan on sitting together.
We were asked to check out the night before we were leaving since we had to meet our pick-up at 7:30 am. We went to check-out the night before and once again they had 1 person working and 6 people waiting. We were asked to come back.
We think the resort is beautiful, but it will not be one of our choices to take our grown children again. We always take at least 6 or more with us and with us spending that much money we feel we can get better service and one of the other Karisma resorts we have stayed at: Maroma and Azul are wonderful if you're looking for a smaller resort stay. Casitas' beach and service left us wishing we had stayed at one of the other resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Ksunny.

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent stay in our resort. It was a pleasure to welcome you back once again to enjoy another stay with us. I am glad for the kind comments addressed to our facilities.

I would like you to know that I have taken note of all the issues and details mentioned in the different areas, as I think you felt short of expectations this time. In fact, I am currently conducting a review to all Managers from each department you just mentioned in order to take immediate action in those subjects, as your comments are very important for us, helpings us to find opportunities to improve our services and achieve our full guests satisfaction.

Again, it was a great honor to host your holiday one more time, hopefully you would give us an opportunity of hosting you for the third time at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Paula Negrete
General Manager
gm@eldoradocasitasroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed in Casita 2519 which is an independent Casita at the end, near the water. It was fabulous! Upon entering we knew we were in heaven. The view was fabulous as well as the Casitas indoor and outdoor showers, huge bathroom, jacuzzi and very comfortable bed.
Upon check in we were treated like royalty. Jorge in the Exotic Travelers office took care of us in such a way that we truly felt special. Ramon and the guys at the pool bar near our room greated us with a smile each time we saw them, as did so many of the staff there. Vucko in the Casita concierge cane around the pool each day and knew everyone by name. He was always sure everyone's needs were met and they had reservations at a restaurant or anything they needed.
The hotel is large but I'm not saying that is bad. There is a section that is your typical all-inclusive. . Where people like to hang at the party pool. which is great if you like that. If you don't, you have the option of going to one of the many pool bars or bars along the beach and sit and enjoy a drink on a nice padded chair or a swing. The service is great at all of them. Different bars have different foods throughout the day. There is something for everyone there. Other all-inclusive hotels have turned us off due to the party pools and loud music as well as line ups at meal times. There was none of that here. The 9 restaurants are great! The presentation is like that on a cruise ship. Each one has a great menu and we found the food excellent. If there was one complaint I would have to say is that at Kampai restaurant, the servings weren't big enough but that's hardly a complaint.
The property is large so if you have mobility issues you would need the shuttles that run every 15 minutes. Otherwise, the walk is great exercise after sitting around all day plus you get to see the beautiful grounds that have been meticulously taken care of.
There are 2 gyms which we used every day. One for machines and weights and the other really quiet one for the treadmill at night. They are really clean and up to date equipment.
The spas were heavenly also.
After spending a week here we have become members and are looking forward to coming back every year. We have traveled extensivly and have stayed in private rentals on vrbo, many cruise ships as well as hotels. We would recommend this to anybody.
Gary and Michelle Leddy

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Canuckgardener.

First we want to thank your so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and touching review of your recent experience at our premises. It feels really good to acknowledge through your words that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it, so much that you have decided to become a member.

I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep working for all our dear guests achieving and fulfilling their expectations, besides of all the information you have shared in your review will be very helpful for all the future travelers who would like to try our destination in the Riviera Maya.

We will be really happy to welcome you back at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home.

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Paula Negrete
General Manager
gm@eldoradocasitasroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The review written by Emliju could have been written by us! The grounds were spectacular and everyone who passed you outdoors said "hello". The friendliness did not extend indoors. Some waiters were friendly but very rushed. In 7 days, Peter in the pizzeria is the only one I can say was great. My husband asked where he could get ice cream and Peter went to the restaurant next door to get it for him. The food in the restaurants was not hot. Even when the waiter warned "hot plate", it wasn't. Dinner at D'Italia Casitas was what you would expect from a "gourmet" restaurant and the service was professional. Room service was great - punctual and every order was correct. We arrived at Cocatal for dinner March 13th with reservations all made at the same time for 3 couples. The host said we were booked at separate tables and balked at moving 2 tables together to accommodate 6 people. The restaurant had very few diners and over dinner we counted 50 empty tables.

The rooms are lovely but the lighting is bad. Thank goodness I took a small flashlight. We had no wastepaper basket or TV remote upon arrival. Unusual to have to request those items in a 5 star hotel. The safes are a pain. Who wants to keep track of a key at a pool?

Our concierge, Vucko, was quite friendly and helpful. Definitely an asset for the hotel.

This resort did not meet our expectations mostly because of the food service and problems trying to get a table for more than 2 people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with the trip advisor community.
It was a pleasure to host your stay and I am truly very sorry that you encountered inconsistencies with our service especially in the restaurants. I can assure you that your experiences do not reflect our attentive service should be extended to all guests .

I have personally addressed this matter so that no other guest experiences such encounters. Again , I truly appreciate your feedback and we hope that you will choose to return so that we can give you a truly Gourmet Inclusive experience.

Best Regards
Olga Medina.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston salem
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Don't get me wrong, this is a gorgeous resort with some very good aspects, but parts of it just let it down completely especially when paying for top notch gourmet etc. We stayed in the Casitas section and would have been horrified if we had not as the 'cheaper' end of the resort is all about large loud drunken parties in the main pool......yuk. Casitas is not like that at all, each section having its own small pool with bar and beach beds, beach butlers etc.

Pros: the grounds are stunning and immaculately kept, the service was excellent, the Casitas rooms very well appointed and clean, albeit it rather dark - I don't like having to need lights on during the day to be able to see/read when in a sunny place. Room service when ordered very timely.

Cons: Very large resort and although there are golf shuttles they are few and far between and so you often end up having to walk miles - okay but not every time you want to get to a meal etc.
There are 9 restaurants and only 3 in the Casitas section. Of all 9 only 2 are outdoor and both of these are at the far end of the resort not in the Casitas. The 7 indoor restaurantes could be anywhere in the world... glass/chrome/indoor - terrible lighting and acoustics.... we were so disappointed they felt like canteens... When in a sunny clime, in Mexico, why couldn't we eat outside and take in the lovely temperatures, sounds of the sea etc etc. The Martini Bar and the Bar in the Casitas section (above the Italia restaraunte) again indoor chrome and glass - no soul at all - you could have been in an airport lounge anywhere in the world and the cosmo I ordered in both was dreadful. The outdoor pool bars in the Casitas section close at 5pm and although ther are two outdoor bars they are way down the other end. The food - yes gourmet in presentation and they are obvioulsy trying very hard - but they are not getting it right, the food is mostly tasteless and mediocre and typically cold when you got it..... very very very unimpressed. Would have much preferred more rustic food done right with plenty of taste and texture. The beach.... small, narrow and so rocky almost everywhere you could not actually swim in the ocean at all... just find a shallow pool at high tide and dunk it.
Conclusion: if you like to get in the ocean, if you like to be outside in a gorgeous climate to eat and drink, and if you are a foodie then go elsewhere. We will not be back for these reasons alone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear emliju

Thank you for your recent review detailing your experiences from your visit to the El Dorado Casitas Royale , I am so sorry to hear that you fell below expectations leaving you disappointed . This is never what we like to hear nevertheless I truly appreciate all feedback provided and I wouldl like you to know that I have personally addressed your disappointment with your dining experiences with our Head of Food and Beverage.

I do hope that you can provide us with the opportunity to host you again in the future and I will ensure that we go above and beyond all previous holiday expeirences, treating you to a level of excellence that you truly deserve

Best Regards

Olga Medina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We returned reluctantly to the UK on 12 March 2014 after 11 great nights at EDC Royale. We had travelled to the area before therefore spent the whole holiday at the property. All the restaurants were good our favorities being Kampai and Santa Fe. The food in Fuentes was great but the chefs performance although professional made for a long meal but others will I am sure enjoy this.

Our accommodation in Casitas 29 was superb, we had a swim up room which we enjoyed and would choose again but the real joy was the staff who are without exception friendly and helpful.Our bar man at Casitas 29 Santiago was a great character who we hope to see again on future visits.
We met many great people from both the US & Canada who added to our holiday.
The whole property is kept in excellent condition and the whole package makes for a stress free high quality break, even the flights on the new Dreamliner were bearable.

Mark & Rhonda

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are very convenient if like us you spend time at the pool. We found Casitas 29 to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear RLML.

Thank your for sharing your feedback about your recent holiday with us, we have had a great pleasure reading it.

Thank you so much for all the kind words addressed to our facilities, services and all our staff. Your comments are a very good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ full satisfaction.

Would be wonderful to welcome you very soon once again, at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma for another memorable vacation,

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Paula Negrete
General Manager
gm@eldoradocasitasroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.