We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best week in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
38%Off+$150 Resort Credit
Ranked #9 of 351 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Byron, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“best week in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our 5th trip to Mexico and our 1st to this resort. We got everything we were looking for and more. Our first room did not have the view I was hoping for (no view of the water)- when I asked we were moved to a lovely room with an awesome view on the 2nd day. Love the outdoor shower!
The service is outstanding - there are so many people to make sure you have everything you need. In the Casitas resort there is concierge service for each section of rooms in addition to the front desk staff who will take care of your restaurant reservations and anything else you need regarding your room. Charlee H. was our concierge- and couldn't have been more helpful. Then there is the beach butler (Manual - just delightful) in addition to the other wait staff who bring you drinks as needed.
There is a beachfront bar and pool bar for each section of rooms. Plenty of chairs, beds and hammocks by the pool, as well as plenty of beachfront beds with chairs to enjoy the surf. We particularly liked that there may be some soft background music or no music at all by the pools. Never the blaring party music we avoid at other resorts - so relaxing! With so many pools and locations it never feels crowded.
Since this is a gourmet inclusive resort you will not find buffets of food. Plan on leisurely meals. We made reservations for the whole week on arrival. Breakfast and lunch we never had to wait long. The breakfast menu is the same at all the restaraurants so there is no place better than the other unless you have a location preference. There is no wait if you get there before 8. The food is delicious and beautifully presented at all meals. Don't come looking for 'fast food', that is not what this place is about. They have room service 24/7 so you can order meals or snacks if you just can't wait for food.
The entire facility is immaculate and manicured by an army of staff. There are shows and lots of activities that we didn''t go to. We did the bike tour which is fun. The Internet is available but can be spotty on the beach. Plenty of alcohol in the drinks. The Spa is nice -had a great massage with Angela. The beach is fine, the water crystal clear.
Our main goal was to sit on the beach daily and soak up the sun in a safe and relaxing atmosphere - mission accomplished!

Room Tip: Tell them what you want preferably before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    232
    90
    22
    19
See reviews for
52
1,443
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (831)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BURLINGTON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful week at Casitas Royale. We've been to other Karisma resorts, but it was our first time at this one. The resort is gorgeous and feels amazingly private, given its size. We had an individual casita and it was perfect. Our back porch had an unobstructed view of palm trees and ocean. We enjoy peace and quiet and we found it here. We also found the personal service we've come to expect from Karisma staff. By the end of a week, it feels like you're leaving friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest & Friend¡¡

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased to know that you found the peace and quiet you were looking for, that you enjoyed your stay with us, the facilities and the staff that took care of you really good, allow us to keep moving forward, personalizing and providing first class services.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcome you back again for another memorable holiday at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican home,

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Olga Medina
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradocasitasroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Before booking this resort be aware
The wait time for a table at all the restaurants in the evening can be up to 1.5hrs(They say less but in reality this was our worst case) The Casitas have included in their package the privilege of booking a tables in advance! which we were not aware of until arriving at the resort. But if you are booking standard rooms this is not the case.
The same can be experienced in the most popular breakfast restaurant, where the food choice is the best – considerable queuing/waiting time can be experienced particularly if more than two persons wanting a table – 4, 6 and plus longer delays. NO ADVANCED BOOKING CAN BE MADE AT BREAKFAST
One would imagine that this problem would increase as the new ‘generations’ complex has just opened and whilst for families and the Royal is a child free zone there will the couples that will venture through once realising a much more picturesque and pleasant surroundings and thus using the restaurants increasing the load.
Having said the above, the management, cleanliness, helpfulness, internal tours etc etc are excellent.

This resort is over booked and the attention to detail suffers.
There is also a high powered sales push to get you to join as Members whilst you are here !!!

Room Tip: Get a Beach front room as these are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest¡¡

First, I want to thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor; it was a pleasure to be the host of your holiday. We appreciate all the comments of our valuable guests and we are truly very sorry knowing that there were aspects of the service and restaurants that you did not enjoy on this vacation. I will discuss your comments this with our Executive chef and head of food and Beverage.

With regards to Exotic Members, we are working hard in order to avoid other guests have the same situation, that discomfort and impression of that sales pressure you comment. I will certainly be taking all comments you have made into consideration.

Possibly you give us the opportunity of hosting you one more time at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma,

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Olga Medina
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradocasitasroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Casitas section, which was nice and quiet. The food and service was OUTSTANDING. The beach was not good, very rocky. Tons of pools so you never are search for a place to lay out. Our room was beautiful, but had a lot of things broken. We let the staff know and they did their best to fix these items right away. Our favorite restaurants were the Tex Mex and the Mexican. We have visited the Cancun area every year for about 8 years and this was a very nice property. It was larger then we were used to so we walked a lot. I would have had a lower rating because of the beach, but honestly, the service and food was so great that we would come back for sure. I love that they have a health bar so you don't feel too stuffed at lunch time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at this resort for 2 weeks on 23rd November 2013 for our honeymoon. We stayed in the casitas section (room 3006). I would recommend paying more and staying in the casitas section if you're looking for peace and quiet. The Royale side can be very crowded and noisy at times. It was also Thanksgiving when we were there so it was full of rowdy Americans. Upon arrival we were taken from the main lobby to the casitas reception on a little golf buggy (these would prove very useful for getting around during our stay!) Once at the reception we were handed a glass of champagne and a cold towel which was nice after a 10 hour flight. We were given an introduction about the hotel and the services on offer etc. and was then shown to our room. It had a nice large comfy bed, Jacuzzi bath (heaven) and an outdoor shower which we used all the time. The mini bar was stocked daily and the maids came in to clean every day. We also used the room service on a few occasions which was good. We didn't order breakfast as we liked to go out every morning but we did order quite a few of the steak and cheese baguettes at the end of a heavy night! We also had our own concierge Charlee who was very helpful. She booked our tables for dinner, arranged turn down service etc. it was a nice little touch. Our room was a 2 minute walk from the beach and pool (with bar) which was handy. The beach is very nice but you can't really swim in the sea because it is very rocky. We were also unfortunate to have quite a bit of bad weather which made it very windy on some days but obviously that can't be helped and it certainly didn't dampen our spirit! Food wise we ate at all the restaurants. Breakfast we ate mainly at Cocotal (buffet style) and Kampai. Lunch was normally the health bar (the thai steak salad is lovely) or the pizza bar near the main pool area. Our favourite for dinner was D'Italia Casitas which was excellent. Our other favourite was La Isla which is Mediterranean cuisine. We weren't so keen on the live cooking show at Le Fuentes and Jo Jo's wasn't that great for choice but all in all the food was very nice. They also grow all their own vegetables and herbs on site. For drinks I mainly drank the house red which was fine but they do have lists for the wine buffs. The waiting staff were also great and would do anything for you. We generally tipped between 20 and 50 pesos (about 2 - 3 GBP) but didn't tip at every meal, just the ones we really liked. We didn't use the spa facilities or do any activities so I can't comment on that. We were quite happy to just chill out on the beach all day and have a few cocktails! We did however go to Cancun one day and also Coco Bongos in Playa Del Carmen which was a great night out and they offer a free bus service from the hotel. Take my advice and order the VIP tickets if you go - you get to skip the massive queue, get your own seat and your own personal waiter. The other option is the mosh pit with everyone else (not good). We enjoyed every minute of our stay at this resort and would definitely recommend it to anybody. Best holiday ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardisty, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our second trip to this resort & it doesn't get any better. All the staff are great & nothing is too much. They go above & beyond to make sure you are looked after. Our concierge Allan along with Claudia & Karen were always ready to help with anything we needed. The staff at Casitas 31 are the best. The beach/pool gal-Daisy is a real sweetheart, she is such a pleasant person always had a smile on her face & her favorite saying was "my pleasure". Santiago our pool bar tender was super friendly and gave great service. Our room was very nice, we loved the outdoor shower & morning coffee on our deck watching the sunrise & mid afternoon naps on the deck daybed. We love the beach & ocean but time spent in the pool was great as well. No matter where we ate we never had a bad meal. We realize it may cost more to stay here, but we feel this resort is worth every penny. We have been to other 5 star resorts, but feel they just don't compare. Looking forward to our next vacation again at the Casitas section of this fine resort where we feel safe & comfortable. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: love the casitas section
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Westbury, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our third year in a row and it never disappoints. We always feel we have found a calming oasis from our hectic lives, whether we are exploring the sprawling, beautifully maintained grounds, enjoying the delicious foods at all the restaurants, swimming in the pools too numerous to mention, or just relaxing in the lovely casitas. See you there next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.