We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort. Highly recommend it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Save Saved
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 5 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 45, Carretera Cancun - Tulum, Riviera Maya, Q. Roo, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 345 hotels in Riviera Maya
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort. Highly recommend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at this resort for 2 weeks on 23rd November 2013 for our honeymoon. We stayed in the casitas section (room 3006). I would recommend paying more and staying in the casitas section if you're looking for peace and quiet. The Royale side can be very crowded and noisy at times. It was also Thanksgiving when we were there so it was full of rowdy Americans. Upon arrival we were taken from the main lobby to the casitas reception on a little golf buggy (these would prove very useful for getting around during our stay!) Once at the reception we were handed a glass of champagne and a cold towel which was nice after a 10 hour flight. We were given an introduction about the hotel and the services on offer etc. and was then shown to our room. It had a nice large comfy bed, Jacuzzi bath (heaven) and an outdoor shower which we used all the time. The mini bar was stocked daily and the maids came in to clean every day. We also used the room service on a few occasions which was good. We didn't order breakfast as we liked to go out every morning but we did order quite a few of the steak and cheese baguettes at the end of a heavy night! We also had our own concierge Charlee who was very helpful. She booked our tables for dinner, arranged turn down service etc. it was a nice little touch. Our room was a 2 minute walk from the beach and pool (with bar) which was handy. The beach is very nice but you can't really swim in the sea because it is very rocky. We were also unfortunate to have quite a bit of bad weather which made it very windy on some days but obviously that can't be helped and it certainly didn't dampen our spirit! Food wise we ate at all the restaurants. Breakfast we ate mainly at Cocotal (buffet style) and Kampai. Lunch was normally the health bar (the thai steak salad is lovely) or the pizza bar near the main pool area. Our favourite for dinner was D'Italia Casitas which was excellent. Our other favourite was La Isla which is Mediterranean cuisine. We weren't so keen on the live cooking show at Le Fuentes and Jo Jo's wasn't that great for choice but all in all the food was very nice. They also grow all their own vegetables and herbs on site. For drinks I mainly drank the house red which was fine but they do have lists for the wine buffs. The waiting staff were also great and would do anything for you. We generally tipped between 20 and 50 pesos (about 2 - 3 GBP) but didn't tip at every meal, just the ones we really liked. We didn't use the spa facilities or do any activities so I can't comment on that. We were quite happy to just chill out on the beach all day and have a few cocktails! We did however go to Cancun one day and also Coco Bongos in Playa Del Carmen which was a great night out and they offer a free bus service from the hotel. Take my advice and order the VIP tickets if you go - you get to skip the massive queue, get your own seat and your own personal waiter. The other option is the mosh pit with everyone else (not good). We enjoyed every minute of our stay at this resort and would definitely recommend it to anybody. Best holiday ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,037
    171
    74
    18
    15
See reviews for
36
1065
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hardisty, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our second trip to this resort & it doesn't get any better. All the staff are great & nothing is too much. They go above & beyond to make sure you are looked after. Our concierge Allan along with Claudia & Karen were always ready to help with anything we needed. The staff at Casitas 31 are the best. The beach/pool gal-Daisy is a real sweetheart, she is such a pleasant person always had a smile on her face & her favorite saying was "my pleasure". Santiago our pool bar tender was super friendly and gave great service. Our room was very nice, we loved the outdoor shower & morning coffee on our deck watching the sunrise & mid afternoon naps on the deck daybed. We love the beach & ocean but time spent in the pool was great as well. No matter where we ate we never had a bad meal. We realize it may cost more to stay here, but we feel this resort is worth every penny. We have been to other 5 star resorts, but feel they just don't compare. Looking forward to our next vacation again at the Casitas section of this fine resort where we feel safe & comfortable. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: love the casitas section
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Westbury, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our third year in a row and it never disappoints. We always feel we have found a calming oasis from our hectic lives, whether we are exploring the sprawling, beautifully maintained grounds, enjoying the delicious foods at all the restaurants, swimming in the pools too numerous to mention, or just relaxing in the lovely casitas. See you there next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked this from the Uk and the hotel meet all our expectations. The Royale part of the hotel was not crowed or full of Americans other than round thanksgiving. The system for booking resturants worked fine and the food was fine but the portions were small which made having something at lunch time fine. The room was good and a couple of things we needed doing such as swopping coke for diet coke were done promptly

We hired a car for a week and that was a lot cheaper than the expensive tours which the tour company tried to sell and gave us a lot more flexability

We were not hustled for tips

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great food, all freshly prepared, vegetables grown on site. The hotel is environmentally friendly in many areas. All of the staff were fantastic, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The beach is beautiful, the sun rise second to none.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing or sea view room. Had I stayed in some of the rooms on the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our second year at the El Dorado and it was just as good as our first visit. Our trip began with an unexpected upgrade from the Villas to the Casitas. It was a very pleasant surprise. We had our own pool and an outdoor shower. The room was very large and beautifully furnished. We ate at all of the restaurants except for the Italian Villas and they were all excellent. We are planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naicam, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This year was our third stay at the El Dorado (once at the Royale and now twice at the Casitas) And the resort was a beautiful as ever! Room renovations are gorgeous, grounds are stunning and the restaurants are amazing. We stayed in a swim-up and if you love the pool and the swim-up bars, be sure to stay in one of these suites! Our bartender - Facundo - was INCREDIBLE!! He definitely made our vacation :) We were very impressed touring the green house and learning all about the environmentally-friendly decisions the hotel is making (including allowing the staff to take home vegetables from the greenhouse that would not be able to be used in the restaurants before they would spoil!)

As with any holiday, there were minor inconveniences that could happen to anyone - our room key wouldn't work when we checked in as we were taken to the wrong room, the welcome package was not addressed to us but another couple, there were some extremely long waits during some meals, the weather wasn't the greatest, they worked on something right outside our door at 3 am, etc - but there were a couple things that just don't sit well with us.

We had very little/no hot water during the first 5 days of our stay...we complained several times per day to our concierge regarding this - they would call back saying it will be fixed very soon, or they would send a repairman to check out the suite. One time we were told to let the water run until it got hot - so I did - for 55 minutes I ran the 2 bathroom sinks and the outdoor shower on FULL HOT and they were still not warm when I shut them off!! Finally on the second last day, we got warm water :) Now I try to be reasonable, but the concierge/hotel made NO attempt to compensate us for this big inconvenience!! The most we got was 'sorry'....

Upon arrival, we were chatting with another couple and learned that the 5 days previous to our arrival it had been raining like crazy (which we were happy that we had missed) but the first step in the swim-up pool made us realize that we were also going to suffer from all the rain!! The pool was FREEZING cold (and we are from Saskatchewan where our lakes never get very warm - and this was even colder!!) We were sure that we were staying in a section that had a heated swim-up last year so we asked the bartender - who then confirmed with the pool maintenance man - that they are no longer heating ANY of the pools!! Apparently it cost too much money for them to run the heaters so now ALL of the pools (All of the swim-ups, Fuentes, the pool by La Isla, the pool near the Health Bar and all of the lazy rivers) are now cold.

Minor inconveniences happen - and if we were staying at a less-than-premium resort and paying a less-than-premium price, we would expect cold showers and cold pools - but we were not...we love the El Dorado Casitas...but we are already planning to spend our premium-money on a resort that isn't cutting the corners.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the pool and swim-ups bars - upgrade to a swim-up suite...we LOVE them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: KM 45, Carretera Cancun - Tulum, Riviera Maya, Q. Roo, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.