We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 353 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked this from the Uk and the hotel meet all our expectations. The Royale part of the hotel was not crowed or full of Americans other than round thanksgiving. The system for booking resturants worked fine and the food was fine but the portions were small which made having something at lunch time fine. The room was good and a couple of things we needed doing such as swopping coke for diet coke were done promptly

We hired a car for a week and that was a lot cheaper than the expensive tours which the tour company tried to sell and gave us a lot more flexability

We were not hustled for tips

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,479
    236
    92
    22
    19
See reviews for
53
1,464
19
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great food, all freshly prepared, vegetables grown on site. The hotel is environmentally friendly in many areas. All of the staff were fantastic, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The beach is beautiful, the sun rise second to none.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing or sea view room. Had I stayed in some of the rooms on the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our second year at the El Dorado and it was just as good as our first visit. Our trip began with an unexpected upgrade from the Villas to the Casitas. It was a very pleasant surprise. We had our own pool and an outdoor shower. The room was very large and beautifully furnished. We ate at all of the restaurants except for the Italian Villas and they were all excellent. We are planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naicam, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This year was our third stay at the El Dorado (once at the Royale and now twice at the Casitas) And the resort was a beautiful as ever! Room renovations are gorgeous, grounds are stunning and the restaurants are amazing. We stayed in a swim-up and if you love the pool and the swim-up bars, be sure to stay in one of these suites! Our bartender - Facundo - was INCREDIBLE!! He definitely made our vacation :) We were very impressed touring the green house and learning all about the environmentally-friendly decisions the hotel is making (including allowing the staff to take home vegetables from the greenhouse that would not be able to be used in the restaurants before they would spoil!)

As with any holiday, there were minor inconveniences that could happen to anyone - our room key wouldn't work when we checked in as we were taken to the wrong room, the welcome package was not addressed to us but another couple, there were some extremely long waits during some meals, the weather wasn't the greatest, they worked on something right outside our door at 3 am, etc - but there were a couple things that just don't sit well with us.

We had very little/no hot water during the first 5 days of our stay...we complained several times per day to our concierge regarding this - they would call back saying it will be fixed very soon, or they would send a repairman to check out the suite. One time we were told to let the water run until it got hot - so I did - for 55 minutes I ran the 2 bathroom sinks and the outdoor shower on FULL HOT and they were still not warm when I shut them off!! Finally on the second last day, we got warm water :) Now I try to be reasonable, but the concierge/hotel made NO attempt to compensate us for this big inconvenience!! The most we got was 'sorry'....

Upon arrival, we were chatting with another couple and learned that the 5 days previous to our arrival it had been raining like crazy (which we were happy that we had missed) but the first step in the swim-up pool made us realize that we were also going to suffer from all the rain!! The pool was FREEZING cold (and we are from Saskatchewan where our lakes never get very warm - and this was even colder!!) We were sure that we were staying in a section that had a heated swim-up last year so we asked the bartender - who then confirmed with the pool maintenance man - that they are no longer heating ANY of the pools!! Apparently it cost too much money for them to run the heaters so now ALL of the pools (All of the swim-ups, Fuentes, the pool by La Isla, the pool near the Health Bar and all of the lazy rivers) are now cold.

Minor inconveniences happen - and if we were staying at a less-than-premium resort and paying a less-than-premium price, we would expect cold showers and cold pools - but we were not...we love the El Dorado Casitas...but we are already planning to spend our premium-money on a resort that isn't cutting the corners.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the pool and swim-ups bars - upgrade to a swim-up suite...we LOVE them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Everyone at the El Dorado was Excellente!!! The entire staff works so hard to make your stay perfect. At the restaurants and bars they are very good at remembering your name and what you like to drink- remarkable!! It was our anniversary so they bumped us up from a regular room to a casita. We enjoyed every moment! Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: The Casita we stayed in was room 2615. Perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in the 2700 ground level Casitas the end of January with another couple we had the time of our lives. The pool and pool bar were right by our door and the ocean was within 70 yards. The sunrises were breathtaking the grounds were very well groomed, you could tell the workers took pride in their jobs. The staff at front desk in our area were top notch very helpful in anything we needed or wanted to know especially Amanda. She was helpful and had a good sense of humor and yet very professional we will miss here. The golf cart drivers were awesome it was nice to have a ride when you didn't want to walk most of them were very friendly especially Geoffrey ,he made our ride very enjoyable he was very quickwitted and prompt. The food was wonderful we tried a lot of new dishes and liked almost everything except the Gazpacho. We ate breakfast every morning at Cocotals and it was great, a wide variety of great tasting food and Orlando the waiter went above and beyond to make us feel welcomed. We ate at every restaurant except the Sante Fe, we just ran out of time, we will try it next time. We really enjoyed JoJos the service was great and so was the food. All of the grills were great as well. The entertainment was amazing there was a circus show that was phenomenal and the lipsync and dancing was great . The drinks were very good we tried almost all of them. This was a wonderful vacation and will treasure the memories for a lifetime, and would recommend this resort to anyone. We really liked the area we stayed at because it was quiet and relaxing but if you wanted more it wasn't to far away, we also liked being on the ground floor. We would like to thank our travel agent Gail for recommending this resort and will try to come back.

Room Tip: We liked the 2700 area and the ground floor it was very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest¡¡

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations.

We will extend your compliments to our staff and most particularly, to the employees you mentioned in your kindly review, comments like yours constitute an excellent motivation for all of them and for us to keep working better to achieve our guests’ satisfaction and exceeding their expectations.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation in your El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Olga Medina
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradocasitasroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our first stay and this place is amazing. Almost all food is ala carte restaurants and really a gourmet treat... good selection of food types as well...I really enjoyed having smoked duck sandwiches just beside the pool... can't beat that! This is the best food we have had at any Mexican resort (and we have stayed in the Mayan and Puerto Vallarta many, many times.

Accommodations were over the top. We had a huge room with our own pool just out side the door....the resort is very linear so it has about a mile worth of beach. Staying at the Casitas, if you want to go anywhere in the resort you can take a golf cart so you get around very easy.

Staff are fantastic and really do go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Try the spa on the Casitas side... it has an amazing massage pool where you move around to different jets and bubbles... you can then jump into the cold water tub....wooo...that gets the heart pumping!

Not that we don't enjoy kids... but it is a adult resort so very nice for couples!!

Truly a jewel of a place... my wife and I are heading back for 8 days in early September!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest¡¡

It has been really nice reading your review on TripAdvisor of your recent holiday at our premises, we are glad you have enjoyed so much your holiday.

I am sure a lot of travelers will consider it useful, clarifying and really valuable when choosing their next destination in the Riviera Maya.

We heartily appreciate your kind words about the facilities, service, staff, food, all your experience.

Hoping to welcome you back again in the sunny Mexico at El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma,

Warmest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Olga Medina
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradocasitasroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.