We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Save Saved
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 37% Off + Credit
Ranked #8 of 345 hotels in Riviera Maya
West Bend, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I made reservations at El Dorado Royale for our honeymoon. When we arrived, we were automatically upgraded to a room on the Casitas side at no extra charge, and we didn't even have to ask! For anyone that's going here for a romantic getaway, I definitely think the Casitas side is worth the extra money. It's much more secluded and doesn't have a hotel-like feel to it, as the non-Casitas side does. We had an outdoor shower and a screen door leading to a secluded patio with a bed, tables, and chairs.

The resort was perfect for four main reasons.

1. The beach was beautiful, quiet, and 100% private. There are man-made barriers constructed off the shore to help prevent erosion, but I didn't think they were a huge eye sore. We never had a problem finding chairs or a bed on the beach. Staff comes around often to offer you drinks, as well.

2. The staff was incredibly friendly and treated everyone like they were VIPs. Tipping was not expected at this all-inclusive resort, but we did see a few people here and there tipping at meals. The staff was also very fun and energetic and we really enjoyed the nightly parties/entertainment they held.

3. The food was the best. They are not kidding when they say it's gourmet. There are so many restaurants to choose from, also, that I can't imagine someone not being able to find a place they like. Kampai was our favorite restaurant with wonderful sushi and a very romantic setting. Rincon Mexicano was our second favorite restaurant, but we weren't able to find it until almost the end of our trip, so we didn't go there many times. We also had one room service breakfast that was delicious and a beautiful candlelit dinner at a private table on the beach. There are several snack bars called "Gourmet Corners" you can visit between meals or for a lighter meal. We tried several of the smoothies at Healthy Corner and loved them all. The cookies there were also delicious. Lastly, the mini fridge in our room was restocked daily with treats, beer, and water.

4. The honeymoon package was amazing. At no extra cost (you just have to book a certain room level or higher), we got all of the following just because it was our honeymoon: 2 for 1 massages on the beach, a candlelit dinner on the beach, a special room service breakfast, and one night when we got back to our room, they had filled the whirpool with water and petals and left us a bottle of champagne.

We cannot wait to go back to El Dorado Casitas Royale!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,229
    188
    81
    21
    17
See reviews for
43
1224
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the El Dorado Casita's Royale. We were part of a wedding group of 30-peolpe and everyhting went so smooth. Kelly Morman from Travel Haus St. Louis took care of EVERYTHING. From the private check in, to the wedding, to the reception and even booking the excursions. The staff was amazing and very attentive to our every need. We stayed in room 2911, which was perfectly situated by Kampai for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We never had a problem getting to the villa side of the resort as it was a nice leisurely walk along the beach or the shuttles would come by often so we could hitch a ride if we wanted too. Although it rained for 2-days straight the staff was eager to help us out with a ride or room service. Umbrellas were in every room so it really wasn't an issue. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment, even came in 2nd place for the "Perfect Couple" competition. We had aromatherapy and a pillow menu in our room which was amazing to have a different scent in our room daily/nightly. We are non-drinkers so we requested extra soda and water in our room which they were good about stocking daily. Overall we had an amazing, relaxing experience and are ready to go back for another week. Don't hesitate to contact Kelly at Travel Haus if you want top notch service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Paradise sums up this resort,the location the room the food the service is all fantastic,the beach is beautiful with great jet skies hire.the room is luxurious with huge jacuzzi bath huge bed beautiful balcony,the food is just exquisite a la carte menus.the staff are so unbelievable nice they treat you like royalty,I cannot wait to come back and therefor cannot recommend this hotel enough it really is best resort I ever been to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

this resort was amazing , we had a few issues with the room but management took care of it right away , Allen mason our conceige was the best , if anyone goes there and stays in 3100 block they have to request him , Food was amazing ,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just returned from a fantastic, super-relaxing & quick trip to El Dorado Casitas Royale (10/26-30). Thanks to Nancy Finn from Island Getaways for making an excellent recommendation for us yet again - and for getting us an amazing upgrade to a swim up room! What a luxurious treat!

We were in the 2900 section and it was just amazing. Our pool bar was never too busy and beach lounging was relaxing with plenty of little huts/loungers to go around. I loved having mojitos delivered to me on the beach in the morning and then taking "1st nap" before my noon 1st nap deadline every day! Second nap would come after a yummy lunch - followed by pool bar time, and sometimes even 3rd nap before dinner. Service by the bartender & beach butler was top notch, and drinks were fabulous.

If you like to jog/walk, the path around the resort is great for that. The fitness center in the Casitas section was okay, but not great. If you go out in the morning, while the humidity is not great, the heat is not too bad.

Food was almost always excellent. I was especially impressed with Kampai (awesome at breakfast and lunch, with nice dinner options as well), D'Italia Casitas (very nice Italian), and the Santa Fe Grill. We did the Fuentes dinner, which was not up our alley. Other people seemed to enjoy it but I thought it was over the top and the food tasted more "mass produced" than the other places – not the culinary highlight that had been hyped (for me at least). I would not go back to Fuentes but would go back to any other restaurant or bar on the property.

We’ve done beach vacations in Jamaica previously, but I was hesitant to go to Mexico. I was totally wrong! This was – all in all – another excellent trip set up by Nancy. It was truly fabulous! Plus, I got to replenish my long-gone Mexican vanilla stash.

Room Tip: The swim up suite was awesome! I was hesitant to pay for it at first, but Nancy from Island Getaway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We travelled here from the UK for our honeymoon in December/January 2012.
We had booked a swim-up room and were given room 5201. It smelt musty in there but we were assured when I contacted reception that it was because the room had been shut for a few days. After a few hours of trying to sleep with the patio door open, the smell was not easing and my husband was finding it hard to breathe. I went to reception, where they politely told me that a cleaner would be sent to the room. Despite her efforts, there was no difference, and our rep was of no help, simply saying that she knew there were problems with some rooms as they were very old but there was nothing she could do to help. So I went back to reception & asked to change rooms. As there were none available of a similar standard, we were offered an upgrade at a cost (much cheaper than if we'd booked through our travel agents) which we were glad to take. That is where any distress ceased.
The rest of our stay was quite simply amazing. We had Casita number 3007 which gave us outstanding views, a huge room, bed & jacuzzi, a big bathroom, outdoor shower and the most amazing balcony with an outdoor double bed. It was a million miles from our first room! It had a small, but immaculate pool and outdoor jacuzzi, mostly shared with 20 other Casitas, and the occasional visitor. Special mention must go to Orville and Peter for their superb attention to detail and eagerness to please. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel so welcome at the pool bar every single day.
Service around the whole complex was second to none, as were the grounds, the beach and the transport around the complex -although we enjoyed our strolls about, there was always a golf buggy waiting to whizz you to any corner!
Everything in the entire complex was so clean, and the maids always found time for the fun towel creations, despite working very hard to ensure our casita was kept immaculate.
The restaurants were outstanding, clean and the portions very adequate, although we were always treated with politeness when we asked for more, and genuinely made to feel that nothing was too much trouble and they were delighted we liked their food so much.
We did opt to go for the timeshare talk (that is exactly what it was) on the one rainy morning of our stay. It was a sales pitch, but if you ignored all the nonsense (like the loud American boss telling someone that capacity was at 120%, but if the customer baught into the scheme RIGHT NOW they could upgrade their room that very day!), you could get a very nice deal - we got about £85 just for listening to Leicester (from then on known as Pester) show us the delights of the even posher rooms. We just laughted at all the patter, then stood up & walked when it had stopped raining & we were bored! It has also given us a few good laughs over the past 10 months, and we baught some great souvenirs with our earnings!
We visited the spa for a massage and a few beauty treatments which were lovely and relaxing, if a little expensive, but really worth it if you want a little pampering.
Just a quick word about the beach. It was beautiful and clean, but the sand can be sharp - I did need flip flops, and the sea is good for snorkling near the shore, but you can't swim very far at all without having to climb over the 'whale' cushions or concrete false reefs. Not an easy task by what I could see!
El Dorado Casitas is honestly a wonderful place, and we would feel blessed to be able to return.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to Casitas - we managed it for about £300 for 2 whole weeks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Alberta, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this resort. The staff are very kind, everything is beautiful, the rooms, the grounds, and the beach! The restaurants were lovely and we had a beautiful candlelight supper on October 26th, our 28th Wedding Anniversary. The only problem we had with the resort is that there are not enough golf carts to take everyone from place to place. Unfortunately, we had a lot of rain during our stay and the walk from our room to the lobby is 20 minutes. Making it in time for reservations and leaving events in the rain was difficult due to lack of golf carts.

The concierge was super though, Allen, Karen and Claudia, all nice people. Our room cleaner, Carlos was fantastic!

Enjoyed our trip but next time, we will be taking the family to a family oriented resort.

Room Tip: The infinity pool is lovely and the staff are constantly cleaning the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: KM 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#5 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.