We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Save Saved
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   KM 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 37% Off + Credit
Ranked #8 of 345 hotels in Riviera Maya
Reading, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Before we traveled to the El Dorado I spent months reading the reviews and after spending 9 nights there for our honeymoon (6/10-6/19) - I'm not sure how people could find fault with this place!

We were originally booked for the royale side and upon arrival we asked about upgrading to the casitas section. We were able to negotiate a price to upgrade and I'm so glad we did! Check-in was a breeze and they brought us directly to the room. Upon getting into bed the first night - we noticed the pillows were wet (probably due to the storm) so we called and they were able to switch our room immediately! The resort was only ~50% capacity, so I think they had plenty of rooms to move us too. The room was gorgeous - updated, spacious and clean. We loved the outdoor shower and didn't use the indoor shower at all! The room was cleaned everyday and we had turn down service every night.

The beach was beautiful, but a little disappointing. The water isn't as calm as some other tropical locations, but we got over that quickly. The pools were awesome!! We pretty much stayed in our section, but one day "pool hopped" and had a blast. Pools were never really crowded so it was nice and relaxing. Most people we met were super friendly which was fun if you were in a chatting mood! We met some great people! Our pool bartender, Gerardo was awesome and worked hard to make everyone happy! We also loved our pool butler, Irving who always had a smile on his face and constantly asked if there was anything he could do for us! Everyday around noon - he came around with little bites of food and then around 3, he came around with ice cream or popsicles. They were giving out popsicles on our last full day, but I was craving the coconut ice cream so Iriving tracked us down with some! Our concierge, Gabby was wonderful as well!

In my opinion, most of the staff here goes above and beyond for the guests. Everyone you meet says "hola" when you walk by them with a smile on their face. As far as tipping goes - while it's not neccessary, it is appreciated. To put things into perspective, the bartenders make $7 a day. We thought for sure that was a mistake and that they made $7 an hour, but no - it's really $7 a day. I think tipping a little definitely goes a long way.

The food was good and we definitely enjoyed all of our meals! We thought some restaurants were better then others, but I think it's all a matter of personal preference. We also enjoyed the bike tour of the resort and checking out the greenhouses. The fact that so much of the produce is grown at the resort is amazing!

We had a couples massage on the beach and I highly recommend it. We had ours a 8am before it got super hot and it was sooo relaxing! We also enjoyed the candlelight dinner on the beach!

Many times over the course of our stay we commented on the beauty of the resort - they really take pride and such great care of the property. The employees are constantly maintaining everything.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay! We did one excursion and couldn't wait to get back to the resort. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable trip and we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,227
    188
    81
    21
    17
See reviews for
43
1223
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Unfortunately our visit to EDCR was during the week of May 29 – June 5 which was when the heavy storms hit. We had booked a basic casita suite. We were greeted with a fruit plate, champagne and a welcome back gift. The welcome back gift consisted of 2 t-shirts and a box with after sun care, moisturizer and foot cream. We had previously stayed at El Dorado Seaside Suites twice before, years ago.
The room was kept very clean and towel animals were left about every other evening. All but one evening we had turndown service.
The staff worked extremely hard to keep the resort running during the heavy rains. There was standing water everywhere, in some parts we were wading through ankle deep water. They brought in extra staff to help with the cleanup. The lobby suffered from a collapsed ceiling, a ballroom had knee deep water, which unfortunately happened during a wedding ceremony. The swimout rooms connected to the Fuentes pool were extremely filthy after the storms and the water had to be pumped out, thus closing the Fuentes pool and making the swimout pools unusable.
Our room stayed fairly dry, except for water coming into the bathroom from the sliding door for the outdoor shower. We went through many towels on the floor. Our beach butler Fausto, was very helpful in getting us extra towels.
We took advantage of the complimentary shuttles to both Playa del Carmen and Cancun. The Playa shuttle leaves at 6:00 pm with a 10:00 pick up time. The Cancun shuttle leaves at noon with a 5:00 pm pickup time. The Cancun shuttle drops you off at Luxury Avenue. A very high end shopping mall. Across the street is a semi open shopping area, La Isla. We weren’t impressed at all with the area, PDC is much more our taste, offering a pedestrian friendly area with more flea market type shopping and lots more variety for dining and drinking. We’ve been many times to PDC and will return, but not to the Cancun area where we were dropped off. The downtown area of Cancun was what we were expecting.
The towel game was in full force at La Isla pool (the few times we were able to get out to the pool due to rain). However, even though the chairs/beds were claimed early, I did notice they were being used, so not a case of just claiming them and not using them. For future guests, I’d suggest to claim your chair no later than 9:00 am.
All the restaurants were good and our favorite was the Italian in the Royale section. Even though we were in the casita section and had the ability to make reservations, we only reserved dinner times for 2 evenings. On Wednesday, our arrival day, I tried to make reservations for Kampai, and the soonest was Sunday. We also made reservations for our anniversary on Tuesday at the Italian. The evening before we had gone to Italian Casitas, Cocotal and Royale Italian. All had over an hour wait, so decided on Rincon. Only a couple tables occupied so we got in right away. Not the best, but we’re not that picky. Room service was good, but the menu was limited.
Would we go back? If the price were right. I knew the resort was large, but it really was a lot of walking. With the heavy rains, the shuttles weren’t always running. It would be nice to go back though, just to enjoy the beauty of the resort during a dry time, since we didn’t get to experience much of it because of the weather. Also, not all services were up and running because of the weather, so there would be much more for us to experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my new husband spent 2 weeks in this hotel from 4th June-18th June 2013.
Overall we had a lovely time at this hotel and would definitely recommend it when staying at the casitas royale.

Location
From any room in the casitas section the pool was just outside the balcony and the beach only across the path (5m from the pool) The pool was generally very quiet with only maybe 8 or so people around it most days.
As a casitas guest you can use any of the sunbeds or beachbeds throughout the hotel. We had a non swim up suite and a bed by the pool as well as a jacuzzi but each casitas section had different things, some had a waterfall, some had table tennis and some had basketball etc...
The hotel spreads across 2k of beach and so is very spread out with the bars and restaurants, this was not a problem for us as we quite liked a walk but if you do find it harder walking they have golf buggy transport forever circling the hotel.
As the casitas section is right alongside the royale part of the hotel you do get people from the royale coming in as well, they are allowed to use the pools in the casitas section but are not supposed to take any beds by the pool or beach however we did find that they did so on occasions and even though the beach butler did tell them they are not allowed to use them he still let them sit there. It was not really an issue as it was so quiet and there are always plenty of beds however when you have paid a lot more to stay in the casitas it does make you wonder what you are paying so much more for? Also if it was busier I think they would have been moved.
The other particular issue we had was that on a couple of days our area was overtaken by 20 Americans there for a wedding who proceeded to eat and smoke in the pool (have food fights in the pool) spill all their drinks in the pool and then throw each other about so they hit their heads and then were bleeding in the pool! If we never returned to Mexico it would be because of these large groups of Americans. We are not saying this of all Americans as we spoke to some very nice couples when we were there but in large groups like this they were unbearable.

Room
The room was really lovely, the bathroom was big with a large outdoor shower, large indoor shower and toilet with its own doors to separate it. The bed was huge and very comfortable with a selection of different pillows. The jacuzzi was lovely and they leave plenty of bubble bath and salts to use in it. There are also plenty of towels. A benefit of staying in the casitas section is also that beach towels are always replaced daily in your room so you don't have to go and collect them from huts like the royale section. The fridge was restocked daily with beer, soft drinks and snacks and there is tea and coffee in the room. The balcony was a decent size with a table and chairs and a bed with a privacy screen around it.

Food
You can not fault this place for the food. The Kampai (oriental) restaurant and casitas Italian (we strongly recomment having the beef tenderloin from here!) being our favourite restaurants. All was very fresh as they have their own greenhouse from which they take all their salads etc. All of the restaurants here are a la carte except for one restaurant for breakfast. I quite like this as everything is so much fresher than a buffet restaurant although if you are in a rush (for excursion etc) then having a buffet would be quite useful. As casitas guests you can book restaurants in advance (before 4 on the day) however you don't have to book except for Fuentes (culinary theatre) if you don't book you may sometimes have a wait for a table but they do give you a pager so you can go have some drinks while waiting (we waited about 40 mins longest for Kampai as this restaurant can be very busy and can not always be booked for the day although you can still turn up and wait) the only restaurant we did not try was the Mexican due to other guests not rating it.
For lunch there are many restaurants available too, we strongly recommend la Isla! And the burritos snack bar at casitas 3100. We tried room service twice which was also very nice

Mexicans
The Mexican are probably the nicest people we have encountered on holiday, at the hotel they are all very polite and will do anything for you, especially the butlers which come around the casitas and beach and the concierge (there is one for each section) Gerardo who was our pool bar man while we were there was also really lovely.

Honeymoon package
The hotel had loads of honeymooners! They offer a honeymoon package where you have champagne in your room when you arrive, free wifi, candlelit dinner, decorated room after candlelit dinner and breakfast in bed next morning and couples massage. This is the only place where for us they fell down as we did not get our room decorated or breakfast the next morning. We told them so they would do it a couple of nights after and they brought us breakfast but once again did not do the room, they did however finally do it that night. (we did have a do not disturb sign on the door the second time for about 40 mins which might have caused this but we feel that was not long enough for them to miss us completely) We did not take the massage as we are not keen on them.

Beach and pool
The beach is very varied, where we were it was very quiet but very rocky so you can't really get in and swim, plus they had red flags up as it was jellyfish season. However if you just go down the beach a bit there is a much wider part to the beach and its all sandy so a nice place for a dip. It's not the best looking beach as in the water they have massive sand bags and they are putting an artificial reef in to try and encourage growth and new reefs (which will be wonderful once done as we love snorkelling)
The pools are a lovely temperature, like a lukewarm bath (as is the sea) they have people constantly cleaning them but being outside they do get a lot of little bugs in them.

Excursions
We did four excursions. Captain Hook, coco bongos, albatross catamaran and dolphin swim/xel ha. We found that the excursions were very pricey for what they are although we enjoyed all four of them. Captain Hook is great fun and all drinks and food are included with Thomson (a good one for children too, with the pirate fights)
Coco bongos was crazy! Be prepared for a very late night, the shows were very good though. We did a gold ticket so we had tables and waiter service, it was so packed so would have been very squashed if you were standing.
Albatross catamaran took you for a snorkelling stop (we usually go to Egypt for diving/snorkelling so was a little disappointing) and then to an island opposite cancun where we could hire petrol golf carts and drive round the island, this was lovely as there were some amazing views! We then went for lunch further down the island and took the cat back. Again all drinks and food were included and the boat crew were lovely.
Finally xel ha and dolphin swim was very good. They take lots of photos and video for dolphins but they are very pricey and where other family have done swims with dolphins they have had couple photos of family photos, this they didn't offer which was a shame. Xel ha was very good with lots of little adventures to do but can also be a lot of walking so be prepared.

Would we go back? Probably not as we like go try a different country each time. This is no reflection on the hotel as it is lovely and if anyone was thinking of Mexico we would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What I think will be helpful is for the reader to understand that I am a 42 year old male with two children and recently re-married. My wife and I are about as normal mid-western type people as you'll find in all aspects of our lives. While professional careers we live a far from lavish life but we both certainly recognize and appreciate a few finer indulgences every so often. We have both traveled to various places internationally but not extensively. This was our first trip to this resort but have previously been to Cancun and Cozumel.

I say all of that to get to the point that there is something for virtually everyone at El Dorado. Upon my research, it was difficult for me to understand the layout of everything. So I'll explain that El Dorado is the resort and within the resort there are different properties. Basically at one end are properties that are more active and more of a party atmosphere. Hanging in the pool, constant party music and people screaming "woooo" while holding up their drinks is what you will find. I don't say this in a derogatory way, it's just what it is and seemingly geared for the younger 20 something crowd. The deeper you go into the resort the more the climate changes, which brings me to the Casitas where we stayed for 6 days. This is a quiet, more reserved property by design. So if the romantic getaway or quiet escape is what you are looking for then you cannot go wrong with the Casitas.

Overall, the El Dorado resort is beautiful and I say that wondering how much better it was before the tropical storm that came through a week prior to our visit. I could tell no ill effects of the storm (until the end of our trip when the palm trees started yellowing). Acquaintances that we made who were there during the storm told us how bad it was with leaks and everything (resort apparently handled everything great though) but during our stay you could see no traces of any of it. That's because the staff at this resort are serious about it. I woke up a few times at sunrise to go for a walk and take photos and there were guys sweeping the crevices in the walking path just to give you an example. A piece of paper on the ground? Doesn't matter who walks by it, that employee is going to pick it up. This is El Dorado as a whole, not just the Casitas. Bottom line....everything is picturesque beautiful.

I can't speak much beyond generalities about the other properties but the Casitas are set up like city blocks. So when someone says "Stay in the 2900 block", which is where we stayed, it's simply a grouping of casitas that face a common yard and are linked by a lazy river and pool. The "quality" of a "block" I think is all the same; however, the neighbors may make the difference one way or the other. We had great neighbors from New York, Kentucky and England. Folks that will greet you, perhaps have a short conversation with you but respected your privacy and you respected theirs. There is a front to the casita and a back, which views the sea.

Speaking of views, we had a swim up casita and wouldn't have traded it for anything. They're all nice though but its a personal preference thing. I will say, if you absolutely positively have to have that view of the sea from you room every morning or whatever, then an upstairs unit is what you want. If viewing the sunset is what you are hoping for then it's a no go because this place faces east. Sunrises are stunning though but the units are set up in a horseshoe form so you could be facing more or less straight east, south east or north east. The view from the swim up casita is equally beautiful but more of a (immaculate) garden view with glimpses of the sea between the lush trees. If you are a pool person, the swim ups are nice. Step off your deck onto a pool deck with lounge chairs. From there you can step down into the lazy river (it doesn't flow around like a water park) and you can walk around to the main pool. Of course you can walk across the bridge to get to the same place as well. My wife and I are not huge pool people, actually only got in it once and never used our pool deck. For us, the benefit of the swim up was the access. Walked off our deck, crossed the bridge and walked 50 yards to the beach. Also, looking out into the lush grounds was very soothing at any time of the day. Again, it's all personal preference.

The rooms themselves are beautiful. I'd say they're about twice the size of a regular hotel room and really have that bungalow feel to them. Meticulously clean! My wife is a clean freak and when we travel we do so with our own Lysol, and sponges (I know!). She has a lot of hair and it sheds like crazy so she used a room towel to get the hair up off the bathroom floor. After doing so, the towel had no dirt on it at all. There is an outdoor shower, and indoor shower/tub and a jacuzzi tub. We never even turned on the indoor shower and used the jacuzzi tub twice. For those interested, the jacuzzi tub has two views of the outdoor shower and the outside courtyard. But there are blinds and you don't necessarily have to be naked to be in it...but then again, you may not care. After all, there were a few on the beach who didn't while tanning...fyi. Housekeeping was excellent but we went through towels like crazy, particularly washcloths so ask for extras.

The outdoor shower....we used this every day, sometimes twice a day. It was simply fantastic!!! There is about an 8 foot wall so I never felt privacy was an issue and frankly, I got to a point where I really didn't care. It was that good! You look up and you see palm tree leaves hanging over the wall and beyond that the thatched roof of the next door casita. I'd recommend wearing some type of flip flops or shower shoes out there because the floor (and walls) is stone but that's just me. And as another fyi, the outdoor shower isn't exactly...unromantic.

The beach is nice but it's not that type of beach that you would see on a poster at the travel agency. It's a rather shallow beach but never crowded. It's somewhat rocky but not in a you need to wear water shoes kind of way. And there is this artificial reef that is built with rocks (you gotta see these guys build this thing!) and a sandbag tarp over it. It lessens the beauty of it all but it's still very nice. And I wouldn't necessarily call it a wading type beach or snorkeling. There are these beach beds called palapas that are great! We found one we liked and had our beach butler (what's up Ramiero?!) reserve it for us every day. Not because they were limited in availability but because we liked that particular one. Lay out, he'll serve you drinks, take a nap, walk down and put your feet in the ocean, go get something to eat, come back, take another nap on it....live the good life why don't ya! There wasn't any loud music, beach balls bopping around or any of that. Just quiet conversations for the most part and the sound of ocean waves.

The food everywhere was great. I'm not necessarily an adventurous eater but I chose to take advantage of the experience. There are some things I just won't eat but things I don't necessarily like I tried again and was pleasantly surprised that nothing "ruined" my meal. I still don't like asparagus but it was a nice overall compliment to my meal for example. Note: While it's all inclusive, there are some things that are an upcharge. They'll bring a wine list (wine must be a big money maker down there) but they are upcharges and you don't pay there, they'll charge your room. Basic drinks, beer and house wines are all included though. Our favorite by far was the Italian Casitas (D'Italia). No other restaurant came close in our opinion. For breakfast, Kampaii was tops. There is a place that has very good pizza and for a steak go to Cocotal. The Mexican restaurant (Rincon) was very lackluster to us, maybe it was because we went there for lunch, but the level of service was the worst (compared to everywhere else) and the food was not very memorable save for the quesadilla's which were the best I had ever had anywhere.

Speaking of service, it's top notch all the way around here. Everyone speaks, everyone is helpful and everyone is courteous. At check-in, our concierge had us choose the type of pillow we desired out of a selection of 5 or 6 choices. There was also a bed spray that they spray on your sheets every night at turn down service. Sounds frilly and silly but it was a very nice touch. The beds are insanely comfortable by the way! At restaurants, if you don't like something they'll fix it, bring you something else and in some cases just make you want you want (within reason). But the real point I'd like to make about service is to the point of tipping. You shouldn't feel obligated to do so and no one ever made us feel like they were expecting one, waiting for one or even working for one. But our waiter at Cocotal was working his tail off walking around serving his tables. Moreso than any other person anywhere on the entire resort that we were able to see. We definitely wanted to leave him a tip (didn't do so at any other restaurant). I only had a $20 bill so I asked him if he had change. His reply? "Senor, if I had $20 I wouldn't have come into work today". Talk about perspective. You kind of see everything around there a little differently after that. His $5 tip turned into a $10 tip along with a blessing for him and his family. In general, tipping is just a couple bucks unless it was something very over the top or over a duration like our beach butler who took care of us for the week. And we tipped our housekeeper $5 (you have to see the room to understand why). Just use your best judgment.

Two final points...the spa. I don't know about all they offer but the sky massage (on the beach) is AWESOME!!! We had two but one was included in our honeymoon package and we had a credit from a previous booking the we used for the second one (couples massage). Who wants to get up at 8am on vacation and get a massage? Uh....ME! If you don't indulge in anything else, this is probably what I would most recommend. We had Maria and Soledad (Hola senoras!) and they know what they are doing with trigger points and everything. Can't be beat!

There are a number of excursions you can participate in but we chose to go to Marina Maroma for jet ski's and parasailing. It's only about 20 minutes away and a lot of fun. Nothing like parasailing over a nudist catamaran! WHAT?! This beach is the one you see on the poster at the travel agency. turquoise clear water, white powdery sand, it was beautiful. There are shuttles that take you back and forth from the resort but they are on a schedule and the last one leaves around 5pm. It doesn't have to be an all day thing but we took advantage of it after our activities. We sat on the beach for a couple hours until the last shuttle. There are also included chips and bean dip and soda. The only thing I didn't like is they have a photographer there that will photo everyone. And of course you can buy them but actual photos don't always travel well so we wanted a cd, which they will do. But they wanted $50 for a cd...FOR EACH ACTIVITY! Keep in mind, they are already out there, it's digital and they might get 5-6 pictures of you of which maybe 2 are in focus or frame centered. If they did everything on one cd for $30 (still excessive) I would have bought it but that was the only thing we experience that we thought was crazy. Fortunately, I brought my camera parasailing and we tipped a guy to take pics of us while we were up and got plenty of good shots and don't feel like we missed the experience. Prints were $14 each by the way.

Walks on the lighted path at night are very nice before and after dinner and there is nightly entertainment, which isn't exactly Vegas but better than nothing. And lastly, if you can I highly recommend the candle light dinner on the beach. If you do, I feel reservation that gives you both the last daylight into the night hours is best. Very romantic, very soothing and just something that can't be duplicated at home. And the food was excellent (steak).

That's pretty much it in a nutshell. Hope this was helpful and I hope you have as great a time as we did. We would go back in a minute!

Room Tip: For a quiet, romantic stay, go with Casitas Royale as it's not the party crowd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llantwit major
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our 5th time in Mexico and our 3rd at an adults only resort . It's a nice enough place but for me it lacks attention to detail and doesn't have the wow factor of the two previous adults only resorts we stayed at, of which I will name at the end of my review. We stayed in a regular swim up suite which when we arrived mid evening looked fine . We were tired so just cracked open the complimentary sparkling wine and went out on the back porch to enjoy it only to find we had locked ourselves out, so a little tip , don't fully close the sliding back door as it locks itself ! The room was very dated and housekeeping left a lot to be desired , very hit or miss, same bedding for the whole 2 weeks, un emptied bins, outdoor shower was never cleaned as was the back porch, infact it was dirty and the voile privacy screen was filthy. Also the outdoor day bed was just a playground for a family of cats in the area , needless to say we didn't use it! The indoor shower was the over bath type with curtain and as a result water used to run off the bath tiling onto the marble floor creating a skating rink which was dangerous. Karisma need to update the TV and the safe to a larger digital kind . The one we had wouldn't hold anything bigger than an iPad no chance of fitting a laptop in there. As for turn down service and choosing your aromatherapy, forget it! Doesn't happen.. kampai & D'Italia we're our favourite restaurants, jojos was just ok as was las Olas cocotal & la Isla, not sure any of these are 5 star tho i had chipped crockery on anumber of occasions. The grounds are very pretty & well manicured and I'm glad we stayed at the casitas as opposed to the royale . The staff are very hard working and always willing to do . Concierge may as well have not been there, failed to sort out problems we had with our room , didnt confirm restaurant bookings on two occasions so we were turned away , in the bad weather we never even got a call to ask if all was ok , just left to our own devices.However, it was a nice enough resort and a nice break but for the money we spent I was disappointed . I know people will read this and not like what I've written but I'm guessing those people haven't stayed at Excellence playa mujeres or Secrets Maroma Beach! Now that's what I call luxury !

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything here is beautiful. We stayed in the 3100 block from June 8th - 14th and were steps away from the beach and a beautiful pool. The beach butler / bartender, Leopoldo was beyond fabulous. He works hard to make sure everyone is happy with their favorite cold drink. Alejandro made sure we had everything we needed. I love that there was a book cart. I finished one the week we were there. The best was in the afternoon when the 3:30 ice cream cart would come and each day Alejandro would pass out fresh popsicles or ice cream (coconut was my favorite). There is also a great lunch spot at this pool.

The food at all the restaurants was great with Kampaii and Italian Casitas as our favorites. Fuentes dinner theater was really cool. All of the dishes that were shown and served were amazing. The Rincon (mexican) restaurant run by an English man, ironically was some of the best mexican food we've had. Kudos to Mr. Sikes! All the smoothies and fresh juices at the Health Bar were delicious. I just wish I had that Oatmeal cookie recipe. I really miss those!

We liked all the nightly entertainment. "Oh my gatos!" - I don't know this guys name, but hilarious! It would've been nice to know what movies were playing ahead of time in case we wanted to see it. Bike tour with Caesar - very cool to see the turtle conservation area and greenhouses. We tried to take the greenhouse tour with Luiz but they were having an unexpected mosquito issue that day. Luiz - Kill the mosquitos! He actually handled this very well even though I could tell he was very passionate about wanting to show us everything he could. Carlos - our room attendant made the coolest towel art ever! He was very happy, friendly and did his job well. Our Concierges were wonderfully helpful with our reservations for dinner and explained all the activities well. We were also able to choose aromatherapy for our room from them. I wish I could remember their names! The only bad experience we had in a restaurant was when an English couple during lunch one day were constantly on their phones and face timing. I only mention this because I read a lot of reviews complaining about the Americans at this resort. It goes both ways.

This was our second trip to El Dorado and our first time staying in the Casitas. I do feel like the restaurant staff may have been a little short handed this visit. Of course the last time we were here was in a slower season and service was exceptional. Nothing to complain about, though. We will be back. I also wish they would've had guacamole at La Isla for breakfast. It's my favorite breakfast food now, but that's why we went to Cocotal for breakfast. If we can we would like to request the same area with all of the same people for our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first time to Mexico and I would recommend it to anyone looking to relax and unwind. The resort was beyond our wildest dreams, We loved the attention to detail at the resort. Everything was beautiful, well taken care of, and clean. The food was outstanding and the drinks never stopped coming. We were concerned with the water situation but they assured us it was usable but I would advise using bottle water for everything. The one thing that stood out was the service the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. My mornings are not the same without hearing a friendly "hola."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: KM 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#5 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.