We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, luxury, luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 30%
Ranked #11 of 359 Hotels in Riviera Maya
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Luxury, luxury, luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 10 days at this fabulous resort, in a first-floor Casitas suite with ocean view. This really is luxury accommodation - a generous suite with HUGE bed, corner jacuzzi, good sized bathroom and wonderful, open-air wet room. It was great to shower out in the fresh air under clear blue skies then relaz on the day-bed on our balcony before heading off to breakfast.

Food throughout the resort is of a very high standard, with a good selection of restaurants open throughout the day. We preferred buffet-style breakfast (lots of choices available) but a la carte is available too. Beach-side Jo Jo's is very popular for lunch and early supper, with a more relaxed dress code than some of the other eating places. The Casitas Italian restaurant is definitely one to try, but be warned, the air conditioning is fierce and so warm clothing is a must!! Interestingly, on both of our visits, our wine selection was 'unavailable, but if you can wait for 20 minutes I can get the wine from a different restaurant.' Funnily enough, our second choice wasn't available either, but instead we were offerred a more expensive alternative, but with ' a $10 dollar discount as we couldn't give you what you ordered.' We felt it was a bit pointless to have what seemed like an extensive wine list, if the reality was that a number of these wines weren't actually available. We actually found the house wines perfectly acceptable, and these were of course part of the all-inclusive package.

The resort has a great selection of pools and pool bars, lots of loungers, hammocks and canopied beds and a super beach with a good drinks service. We just couldn't fault the place.

This is of course a spa resort and the spa facilities are excellent. Enjoy a massage on one of the beach-side sky tables, or choose the indoor option for your pampering session.

This was our second visit, our first to a Casitas suite, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff are friendly and attentive, the personal concierge service is second-to-none and we had the additional bonus of perfect weather for the whole of our stay. We are sure to return!

Room Tip: The Casitas suites are first-class, with the first-floor suites offering more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,717
    281
    106
    31
    20
See reviews for
64
1,715
25
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Words cannot describe what a phenomenal experience we had at this resort. We stayed here the last 4 days of our Mexico honeymoon and wished we would have booked a longer stay! We stayed in a swim up in the 3100 block and it was perfect, felt secluded from the rest of the resort and the section relaxing and peaceful. I will say though that we didn't ever use the swim up feature, so next time I would probably stay in a standard Casita suite. It was a nice feature, but the area was very shady and the beach beds were just much more appealing :-). The food was above and beyond what we expected, our favorite was definitely Kampai - breakfast and dinner there were delicious. Definitely take advantage of the spa, it is gorgeous and well worth the money for any treatment you choose. We purcased two couples massages on the beach during our stay. We booked our honeymoon through Melissa at Beach Bum Vacation and her service was outstanding. She was extremely responsive to email and always offered honest feedback for us when we were in the process of choosing which resort was right for us. She offered extremely valuable information for us and made the process very easy, even though the first half of our vacation was at a friend's timeshare, she still coordinated all of our transportation for us and provided tips on how to make the most of our vacation. Months after we had booked Karisma was offering a special which we were unaware of and Melissa reached out to make sure we were getting the appropriate upgrade and other offer details. We had never worked with a travel agent before and it made the process so much better, especially when you are dealing with all of the hectic details of a wedding it's nice to have someone else lend a hand! We can't wait for our next trip back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First of all I have to mention, I am a travel agent, and do travel more than the average person, and I love all inclusives... The Eldorado Royale was the best I have experienced, I got an upgrade to stay in the Casita suite, the room was breathtaking, large, best bed I have ever slept on, the jacuzzi in the room was wonderful, and the outdoor shower was a treat.. From the pillow menu to the aromatherapy scent at night, to the wonderful concierge staff. But the best part was the incredible quality of Food!!! Love all the a la carte restaurants, the freshness, taste, presentation of the food for breakfast,lunch and dinner were incredible, mostly due I imagine to them having their own greenhouse, and herbs and peppers etc are grown onsite and fresh. The staff were amazing and all friendly. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone, and must say I stayed only 3 nights here end of october, and switched to another high end resort, but was wishing I was back at the eldorado.. yes they have a large sandbags in the water, but honestly it didnt bother me, and I talked to other people staying at the resort, and didnt seem to be an issue like other people on this site make it out to be. cant wait to go back next year, next time for 7 nights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is our second venture to El Dorado albeit first time as registered members. We stayed at the Casitas - Presidential Suite. I gotta tell ya ... there is everything about this resort that is terrific. Let me list them:

Accommodations. Amazing. Spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable and in every regard, excellent.

Food. Terrific. Kampai is our favorite restaurant but we had absolutely wonderful bites at the poolside bar at Los Olas.

Staff. Fantastic. Granted, we had butler service, but the care and attention to detail were superb. Everyone in this complex is compelled to greet you with a smile and "Hola!".

Maintenance & Cleanliness. First class. Nothing was in disrepair and the incredibly huge grounds were immaculate. Beautiful design and imagery both architecturally as well as through the creative borders around the plantings. Simply beautiful, restful and peaceful.

Security. Inobtrusive but always present. Could not ask for better.

Technology. Terrific WiFi connection available in the room.

Gee ... I dunno ... simply remarkable seems to be an understatement. I admit that I had some buyer's remorse when we purchased our membership. Now that I experienced this property again, that remorse has been replaced with kudos for such a wise investment.

Could not recommend more highly and feel exceptionally fortunate that my life has allowed me to enjoy this level of comfort and indulgence.

Room Tip: Our room had an outdoor shower which we used daily if not twice a day. Yet another treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend for our 10 th anniversary! The casitas were unbelievable! At times it felt like we were the only people on the resort. We were lucky to be upgraded to an infinity swim up room. Many thanks to our travel agent Jennfier Doncsecz @travelbyvip.com. For taking care of every little issue and even getting us a credit from US Air. Jen- you rock!!!
Now the resort. Food was delicious, resort was immaculate and the staff treated us like royalty !
Recommendations: Kampai- sushi was great, duck was phenomenal !
Italian casitas: tuna was delicious and the bar upstairs was beautiful! We will return- and definitely return via VIP Vacations! Hope everyone enjoys!

Room Tip: Definitely if you can afford it- spring for the casitas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well what can I say, we have just returned home (reluctantly) from another great holiday spent at the casitas. Just as always the staff contribute to everyones enjoyment, we have found that nothing is too much bother for them just as long as everyone has a good holiday. On that subject our concierge Erica went out of her way, and on her day off to get some cream and sun block for my husband who suffers from tropical dermatitis,( we normally have to go to the medical room at the cost of a couple of hundred dollers a time) thank you Erica not only did the creams work but for the first time my husband could enjoy his holiday without thinking about his itching skin all the time. Also a big thank you to all the waiters and bar staff who work so very hard to make sure we all have a good time, it's realy very nice when they remember you from a previous visit.See you all next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everyone is so nice it's hard to know where to start thanking people. Swim up Casita room was nice and private and fun to walk through the water to the pool bar right from your own door/patio. Food was delicious and plenty. Drinks were for the most part "top shelf." I don't know how any negetive reviews make much sense when these folks are so nice and acommidating. Edy, my driver and friend, Hugo, Alejandro, Luis, and Frijoles my bartenders and the pool man outside Arturo, but most of all the best bartender in Mexico - Petro in Martini Bar. Thanks for a wonderful time. We will see you for numero tres para Jaime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.