We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma to your Saves list
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in Riviera Maya
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

just got back from Casitas. it was another perfect trip and our fifth in the last few years. Staff is wonderful, and if you go, make sure you get Efraim as a waiter at Cocotal for breakfast in the morning. Room service delivered right on time every time, the property is even more beautiful. Casitas are definitely the way to go, with the pillow and aromatherapy menus, turn down service, outdoor shower...the property is very large, so be prepared to walk or you can catch a shuttle. The mexican restaurant was a favorite, very large buffet and the head chef did a cooking demo during dinner. We had a swim up, wonderful to be able to step our of your room and into the water to head to the swim up bar. Resort was 90% occupancy but you won't know there are that many people. Spa treatments were terrific. We have stayed at several all inclusives, but you can't go wrong here!!!

Room Tip: book the casitas and try and get a swim up. It's worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,641
    272
    103
    28
    20
See reviews for
59
1,638
22
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We visited the Casitas for 2 weeks ( 5th March -19th) and booked a standard Casita which was lovely. We were however delighted by a free up grade to a Casita with an infinity pool in our second week which was AMAZING!!!
From the moment we arrived we had wonderful service being whisked away from the crowd to private check in with cold towels and champagne.
Restaurants at the resort were fab with good quality gourmet food, and If u wanted something special you only had to ask and nothing was too much trouble!
The standard of cleanliness is astounding when you consider how large the resort is, yet given that it still feels intimate. It has the feel of a small village.
Service at breakfast in the Cocotal restaurant was efficient and friendly, coffee juice and mimosas appearing before you could even ask- a special thankyou to Ephrain, and Celestino! We were even entertained one morning by one of the waiters who did an impromptu rendition of the American National anthem- his voice was amazing.
La Isla was my favourite and I loved the way they prepared alternative food to keep my vegetarian wife interested when we exhausted the menu options. The maitre d' there runs a great operation and the waiters like Gabriel made it a pleasure to eat there.
The Italian restaurants were good but to be honest the portions were small comparatively and if you are expecting rustic with lots of pasta, pizza and olives etc you may be disappointed. Given that the food was nice, even tho we did both cry laughing at the size of the appetiser ; however pretty.
This resort was a dream come true and returning for a second time ( first time in 2008) had lost none of it's charm and captured my heart once again.
I was sorry to have to leave and will definately come back!
Outstanding! What can I say!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night trip here. We stayed in an individual casita - 2801 to be exact. It was AMAZING!! It had a beautiful view of the ocean, and we could walk right out to the lazy river. The outdoor shower was awesome! Never even used the one in the room. The only thing that would have been a nice addition to the room would have been a comfortable chair to sit on. For the restaurants, I highly recommend Kampai and the Italian restaurant in the casitas section. The lobster lasagna was to die for! We went to the Mexican restaurant the 1st night, and the service was terrible. We also ate at Jo Jo's, but didn't really care for the food there. I can't stress enough... eat in the restaurants in the casita section, as the food and service will be a lot better! There is a great health bar that has smoothies, wraps, and salads for lunch. The grilled chicken wrap was awesome! This is a very spread out resort, but your walk will be a lot shorter if you take the road closest to the ocean. You can also hop on the golf carts that go by if you don't want to walk. The entertainment at night was very very good. Some of the best entertainment that we've seen, and we've traveled to many high end resorts. The staff is very friendly. Always a smile on everyone's face. They are happy to help you. They have a hamburger man that comes by early afternoon and will grill you a hamburger or hot dog for lunch right on his "portable grill." Very convenient if you don't feel like leaving the pool for lunch. There is also a beach butler who comes by with different sandwiches each day, popsicles, and ice cream. The grounds are immaculate. Would definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: Casitas Section 28 is a great location, and there is also a lazy river right there. Upgrade to an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just spent a week at this fabulous hotel! Everything was perfect, great staff, food, location, it was just the best. We stayed in a swim up Casita, had a beautiful room with great service. We had bugs in the bathroom and a maintenance man was there within 10 minutes. My sister had a plumbing issue that was also resolved immediately. The Casitas are arranged in small areas, each with its own pool and swim up bar. It's only a short distance to the beach, which is rocky, but there are areas to get in, bring water shoes and a snorkel. Depending on where you stay at the resort, you may have a lot of walking, so bring comfortable shoes. Paths are easy to walk and had good lighting at night. The shuttle golf carts were hit and miss, but the walking was good with all the food we were eating! Some Casita areas have hammocks, some have hot tubs, so check out the other areas. La Isla was our favorite restaurant, make reservations, it books up fast!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2800 section, about the middle of the resort, easy to get to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We celebrated our honeymoon at El Dorado Casitas Royale, March 10 to 17, 2012. In spite of the fact that the resort was booked to capacity, there was always plenty of space on the beach, at the pools, in the bars, and in the dining venues.
This resort is HUGE, but because of the clever design, it feels like a series of small communities linked together. Be warned, that there is a lot of walking, so if you are not inclined to physical activity, this may not be the resort for you. My husband and I enjoyed the extensive walking paths.
Our honeymoon package allowed us a few extra perks during our stay: Romantic Candlelight Dinner, Romantic Breakfast, and Couples Sky Massage all ensured that our honeymoon was perfect.
Our Casita was in section 29. We had a 2nd floor suite with the best ocean view. We both loved the outdoor shower, choosing to use it over the indoor shower throughout our vacation.
Thanks to the friendly and competent staff, our vacation at EDRC was indeed a heavenly honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

El Dorado Royale Casitas – Feb. 15 - 29, 2012.
Mayan Riviera, Mexico

We purchased our vacation package through Air Transat Vacations – flying direct from Edmonton to Cancun on one of their charter flights. We booked ‘Club Class’ to allow for the extra legroom during flights, extra luggage weight allotment, and separate check-in lines. This was especially handy in Cancun, as there were two Air Transat flights departing from Mexico around the same time, and both flights were queued up using the same line for check-in.

Air Transat provided transfers from Cancun airport to EDR. It took a while before all the expected people for this particular shuttle made it through Immigration/got their luggage/ and final security check. It was about 45 minutes from the point of us checking in with the transfer rep, and actually starting our trip to the resort. Once we arrived at the resort, a bellhop at the front doors directed us to a golf-cart, loaded up our luggage, and took us to a separate ‘Casitas’ check in building, where check-in was a breeze. They provided us with a glass of champagne, took our relevant info, and we were heading to our rooms within 15 minutes or so. Very nice.

Accommodations: We booked a regular Casita Suite. We were placed into room 2824, which was up on the 2nd level, and we felt was a fantastic room/location. Nice big King-size bed, with a Dining table w/2 chairs off to the side. Another writing desk with a single chair to the side, and a Hutch that contained the TV, mini-bar, and glasses. There was also the Jacuzzi tub off to another side in the big area too. The balcony had another deck table w/2 chairs, and a beach bed for relaxing on, and a wonderful view of the ocean. It was wonderful relaxing, reading out there, and listening to the waves roll in. Most of the balcony was ‘wrapped’ with white cheesecloth. Yes, it obscured some of the wonderful views out towards the ocean, but it also provided privacy, and it cut down on some of the wind that was prevalent during our stay. The bathroom had 2 vanity sinks, a shower/tub combo, and a HUGE outdoor shower. We actually used the outdoor shower the entire stay, as it was much more convenient than stepping in/out of the regular tub.

Concierges: Every 2 sets of Casita blocks had their own concierges. For blocks 2700/2800 blocks, our 3 concierges were Erika / Hector / and Fernando. Having access to these wonderful people allowed us to make dinner reservations as needed, and were our first line of contact for any questions, concerns we may have had, etc. They were very helpful and we saw them often, since my wife managed to blank her room cardkey almost every second day. Here’s a really good hint: do not store your card key in the same place as any electronic items or any metal, including your security box key.

Restaurants/Food: Our room was situated right next door to the Kampai restaurant. This became our ‘Go-To’ place for breakfasts. We absolutely enjoyed being greeted every morning by Hostess ‘Sandra’ and her beautiful/welcoming smile. She was a pure delight, and so welcoming. My wife and I loved the French Toast offered there, and had it a number of mornings. Lunch and Dinners at Kampai were also very enjoyable. Lunch offered a wonderful Miso soup, and Spring Rolls appetizer. The noodle dish offered was also very enjoyable. We enjoyed the different Sushi offerings, and Satays on the dinner menu, and the Crispy chicken Main was excellent. We tried the D’Italia Casitas restaurant 3 times. First time, everything was excellent. I asked the waiter to just surprise me, and bring what he felt was good. The look on his face was quite enjoyable, as he wasn’t quite sure what to do. All I can say he and the chef did an impressive job. Lobster Bisque, lobster lasagne for starters, and then a Steak w/ prawns for the Entrée. This Steak/prawn dish wasn’t even on the menu, so I think he asked the chef to ‘Whip something up’. This meal was very enjoyable. We did try Cocotal for breakfast 2 early mornings when we had excursions. This was the only restaurant set up as a Buffet for mornings. Everything was actually very good from pastries, made-to-order omelettes, fruits, breakfast meats, etc. What I fondly remember for these 2 breakfasts is one of the waiters breaking out into song occasionally. His voice was incredible, and it seemed to suit the design of the restaurant with high-ceilings and great acoustics. I’m still getting chills up my spine remembering his rendition of ‘Amazing Grace’ the one morning. Other memorable meals were at Jo-Jo’s, and having the excellent Chicken/Vegetable soup there. The smoothies and Oatmeal cookies at the ‘Health Bar’ near the main pool were very enjoyable. We also enjoyed a lovely lunch one afternoon at the ‘Health Bar’ at the Block 31 Pool. The salsa and chips, and chicken wraps there were very good. I don’t think we had a bad meal anywhere the entire 14 days.

Beach/Pool Area: In the Casita areas we felt there were ample room for residents. Yes, some people played the ‘Towel Game’, by placing magazines/towels out on lounge chairs or Beach beds early, but we never had a problem finding a spot somewhere. We were able to get out into the sea a few of the days, and did some snorkelling, and enjoyed seeing the fish/coral, but quite a number of the days were breezy, and waves were pounding in quite harshly, to make things difficult out in the water. So, a lot of the time was spent sunning or reading in the shade and just enjoying the sounds and sights. Beach drink service came by fairly regularly, and quite early some mornings. I think there was a morning where I was enjoying a Mojito at about 9:30AM! Since we had other friend staying at the resort as well, we usually broke up our time between the Pool Bar at Block 26 and ours at Block 28. Both bartenders (Juan at Block 26 and Vicente at Block 28) were excellent, and know how to crush those mint leaves just right for my Mojitos. I actually enjoyed the quieter nature of the pool bars, which those in the Casita section usually offered. It was here at the pool bars that I finally encountered a 'Chocolate Mojito' on a list. Up until this point I had been thinking that another TA poster (VB-Jim) was full of it, when he said he tried one. So, I asked Vicente to mix one up…and well…it was struck off the list… way too sweet for a Mojito. I was going back to the traditional ones. Vicente agreed with my evaluations as well.

Other bars: The main ‘Martini Bar’ up at the main lobby was quite impressive with its feature wall of all the different liquors available. My wife fell in love here with the Chocolate Martinis. It took me until almost the end of the trip before I realized they had one of my favourite sipping rums up on the wall, being a Matusalem 15-year old. The ‘Bellini Bar’ up above the Casitas D’Italia restaurant was another enjoyable bar. All these bars mixed a not too bad Mojito, but my favorites were still at the 26 and 28 block pool bars.

Service: This is what won us over hands down. Everyone had a smile, and a ‘Hola’ ready as you passed. Adda, who was the wonderful lady cleaning our room most of our stay couldn’t do enough for us. The concierges were all friendly and helpful. Waiters/Hosts/Hostess’s at all the restaurants were friendly, tried their hardest to make everything as enjoyable as they could.

Excursions: We booked 2 excursions through LOMAS Travel, who were available in the main loby of EDR. One excursion took us to the CO-BA ruins. Visiting the actual ruins was quite enjoyable and very interesting. Another day took us on a Snorkeling excursion, which included 2 stops which provided quite good coral/fish viewing, a enjoyable catamaran ride, and a lunch at a restaurant at the Morama Pier area. EDR also allowed us to book a seat on a bus that took us to Playa Del Carmem for a few hours. This was a courtesy bus that took us directly from the resort to 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen. This was a fun visit, as 5th Avenue was very active, it being a Friday evening. It is a pedestrian-only street and has a lot of your typical restaurants/bars/souvenier shops, but the people-watching was enjoyable. We also visited the local Walmart, which was a few blocks away.

Final Thoughts: This was the best All-Inclusive we've experienced to date. We been to a couple in Dominican Republic, and one in Cuba previously, and enjoyed those as well, but we truly felt spoilt, catered to, and welcome by everyone we met here at EDR Casitas. We will be returning to this fine resort in 2-3 years.

Thanks for your time reading.

Photos not yet posted, but an album containing our photos from EDR-Casitas will be set up on: http://community.webshots.com/user/Jo_Witham

Room Tip: Highly recommend booking a Casitas room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Great place to enjoy a perfect vacation with your couple.
Rooms: We stayed in a swim up Casita and we loved it. We also so enter to a room with a small private pool and was great too. The room is pretty big and the exterior shower it´s great. we love it.
Great beds, good pillows.
Service, amazing all the staf want to help you with everything.
Our barman in our pool (Oyervin) great guy.
Restaurants, Kampai and the Italian Castisitas perfect. the only restaurant that I won´t recommend is the Isla, way to far if you are in Casitas and the food was not as good as the others ones.
Good red wines ( you have to pay it).
I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 3102 or 3046 lots of sun a great to listen to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma

Address: Km 45, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Riviera Maya
#8 Spa Hotel in Riviera Maya
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Riviera Maya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El dorado casitas royale, one of conde nast traveler readers’ top 100 hotels in the world and a AAA four diamond resort, is the pinnacle of romantic seaside luxury.Nestled along the beach in a separate, secluded area within El Dorado Royale on Mexico’s Riviera Maya, El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma is an adults only resort designed for romance. A superb array of amenities and services makes this an unrivaled destination for romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Casitas Royale, By Karisma Hotel Riviera Maya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.