We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommanded!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Underwater expeditions - Whale Shark Tour

Underwater expeditions - Whale Shark Tour
Playa Del Carmen-Isla Mujeres -Holbox, 77717, Mexico
+52 984 807 9110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 491 Activities in Riviera Maya
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommanded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The trip was long (2Hrs) but worth it onceyou get to swim with these big fish! On lucky days, you can see sting rays, dolphins, etc ...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    27
    13
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Swim with the whales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This tour allows you to snorkel with the Shark Whales and Manta Rays. The two-ish+ hour boat ride out also allows you, if you are lucky, to see flying fish and dolphins before you get the chance to swim; the tour company provide the snorkels and flippers. On the return journey, lunch or ceviche is served in the lagoon populated by pelicans and other wading birds, plus you'll see the pink flamingos. Priced at around USD100, it is good value and a most memorable experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An amazing and unforgettable moment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our wish was to go to Holbox to swim with the whale sharks. So we did! Since it is Holbox's main attraction in July/August, we had many different options but we decided to go with Mawimbi's boat which is the fastest (2x300 horsepower motors!) because we have 2 children (8 and 12). It takes about 1hour and a half (with this boat) if the conditions are good. The guide Andres is very nice. He has been doing this for 12 years! Our wish was more than granted! We were in the water with many whale sharks, and manta rays! Both of them are so beautiful and graceful! It made us feel extremely lucky to be able to see this! As if we this was not enough... we saw many dolphins too on the way there and back! We can only recommend this tour with Mawimbi although we have also heard good things about Casa Tortugas's tour (good guide too but less powerful boat, so longer trip). So thank you Andres for your explanations, your patience and kindness and a special thank you to the great Captain of this boat! Our concern is the
number of boats which go there every day... we truly hope these peaceful and harmless beasts don't get hurt!...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Willy's Whale Shark Tour = AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wow!! Talk about exceeding expectations! - We had the amazing experience of seeing over a hundred whale sharks and about two dozen giant manta rays! Willy's brother Chino was our guide, and what a fabulous host! You could tell that he just loved the sea and it's creatures - he and our boat captain seemed to enjoy finding the rays that were doing barrel rolls out of the water, the biggest whale sharks, dolphins, turtles, schools of sardines, flamingoes... even feeding us fresh mangoes and perfect sandwiches. After we returned to Holbox, Willy even let us shower off the salt water in his house (we had to drive back to Isla Mujeres), and found us a boat to take our group back to the mainland so we didn't have to wait an hour for the next ferry! "Awesome" is the only word that describes our experience!!! Willy and his family have been fishermen on Isla Holbox for four generations - I would highly recommend Willy's Whale Shark Tours - they know their fish! :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Underwater Expeditions delivers an amazing, incredible day of whale sharks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

There's lots of companies that offer this, but after years in the diving business, i went with Luis Martinez at Underwater Expeditions as I'd gone Cenote diving with him. Just not stop professionalism from a freshly washed car, on time pick up, phone calls to confirm times, great boat, and really keyed in on the safety issues as he is one of the original whale shark tour operators.
It was the added Included extras though that made the day. Non stop cold water, cokes, and Coronitas (on the way back) if one desired, fresh ceviche at isla des muheres and sandwiches throughout the day, and an offer of video if you desired, without any of the hard sell . Considering what dive videos cost , it was half price of the norm.

And the whalesharks...Amazing, scores of them, if not hundreds, combined with many many manta rays, make for an incredible day. I've now been twice on this tour and Luis is always one of the last boats to leave which means lots and LOTS of snorkeling with these amazing creatures. Its only too bad the season is from june to mid september

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Underwater expeditions - Whale Shark Tour also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Underwater expeditions - Whale Shark Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Underwater expeditions - Whale Shark Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.