We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delphinus Riviera Maya

Delphinus Riviera Maya
Mayan Riviera, 77500, Mexico
+52-998-206-33-11
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #43 of 103 attractions in Riviera Maya
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Swimming with dolphins programs at Riviera Maya (Mayan Riviera). A dolphinarium surrounded by tropical nature for dolphin swim encounter
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best experience ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best things I've ever done in my life!!
I cannot get away with people complaining about petty things! Of course it's going to be expensive and of course the photographs will be dear, you are swimming with dolphins!! It's an experience of a lifetime!
We took part in the couples dream swim so it was the 2 of us, the trainer and our dolphins xel-ha!
It was magical! The whole experience was amazing. I was a bit apprehensive before hand but once you are in the water it was great!! We did all the different activities and 2 foot pushes!
This is a must!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusPR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Delphinus Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thanks for writing and taking the time to share your experience. We are sure that your point of view will help others to take a different perspective for people who are planning to swim with dolphins at any of our facilities, because not everyone understands that dolphins are very special animals that require highly specialized care and that is a whole opportunity to be close to them and know them directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    46
    24
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Photos far too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Incredible experience with great instructors, however we were left very disapointed with the cost of the photos which ranged from $39 for one print (one person only) to $250 for the cd and USB stick which meant they were simply unaffordable. This is made worse by being unable to take on your own camera.

No couple photos are taken as well so photos are only of individuals

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusPR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Delphinus Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thanks for writing. Sorry to read that at the end we could not keep the good impression that we achieve with our dolphin swim because of photo's price.

It is important to say that our no cameras policy for wet areas is to avoid distractions and allow visitors to engage and enjoy their swim and not try to get the best shot, because even this situation can be risky since the visitor is more interested in takin pictures and not be aware of the coach's instructions, so is probably to pass by important instructions involving animal's and visitor's safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience spoilt by the Photo/dvd ripoff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were late arriving due to the minibus having a puncture so missed the briefing, we were rushed into lifejackets and put in a group of six with 2 dolphins which was great, the trainer called Mary was fantastic and we got lots of interaction with the two dolphins from just stroking them to foot pushes and kisses, great time had by all, once we left the sea we were shown straight into the photo shop to review the DVD which to be quite frank started to bore me after 3 minutes, when the price list came out I almost fell over $220 for the full package of DVD/Photobook/USB, Wow. couldn't but the usb on its own had to opt for the photo CD which cost a stagering $140. kind of ruined the whole experience for me.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusPR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Delphinus Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thanks for writing and discuss that your experience with our dolphins and staff was memorable. It's a shame to read that you consider our prices to high for our photographic products. Our intention is to provide a professional product that allows you to have your memories in the media that may be useful and easy to share. We sorry that you have this perception, but we can say that our prices are in the range that are used in other organizations they also offer swims with dolphin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Swim with dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was one of the best dolphin experiences. I like the fact the group was small(4 in our group). It made the experience very intimate with the trainer and dolphins. I also liked the fact our dolphin area felt like it was a private pond nestled in the mountains.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphinus-webMkt, Gerente at Delphinus Riviera Maya, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Visitor:

Thank you for sharing your experience at Delphinus. We are glad you had a great time with our dolphins. Receive greetings from Delphinus team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great experience with our children...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We didn't intend to swim with dolphins on our trip to Hawaii, but the children were really excited to do it.

We had a fantastic time & would definitely recommend this company.

We had 2 dolphins for the 4 of us, Me, my husband & our 2 children (6 & 8 years old). We spent an hour learning about the dolphins that were with us, doing tricks & interacting with them. Our children loved doing the foot push...our son couldn't do it the first time, so they got 2 other dolphins over that can cope with bendy legs & away he went.

My husband & I have been to Discovery Cove in Florida & we both thought that this was a far better experience, very personal with only our family of 4 with the 2 dolphins.

We didn't buy any of the photos as we thought they were far too expensive & they didn't take a family shot of us, the were all individual photos. It was quite disappointing that we couldn't take a camera to capture just 1 shot of us with the dolphins. This is the only part of the experience that we thought was poor.

I would recommend this to friends & family, as it was fantastic to see our children so interested in what they were being told & to see how much they enjoyed it.

Carole

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelphinusPR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Delphinus Riviera Maya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Traveler:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It will surely be interesting for readers to know your opinion on the dolphin swim with us and other companies outside of Mexico. It's flattering to read that in your comparison, our experience is more personal because it is precisely what we have worked for so many years.

About the photographs may be its important to be noted that in no dolphinarium aroun the world the access with cameras is allowed, primarily for safety reasons and to maintain order in the docks and holdings.

Thank you very much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delphinus Riviera Maya also viewed

Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
Puerto Aventuras, Riviera Maya
 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Delphinus Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delphinus Riviera Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Delphinus Riviera Maya to your Saves list