We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate skiing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mica Heliskiing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canadian Rockies
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mica Heliskiing
Save
You added Mica Heliskiing to your Saves list
207 Mackenzie Ave, Alberta V0E 2S0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The ultimate skiing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went over for a "once-in-a-lifetime-experience", but ended up booking a trip the following year, and then over again. It is the possibly the best skiing experience money can get you unless you are a sponsored professional. Great staff, great snow, great lodge, great pilots, great company! If you are so lucky you are offered a place with MIca, take it! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mica is a great place
Nice new lodge
Nice staff
It rained on our trip
We skied one of four days and have received no refund or credit
Nor have they returned our calls!!
Rained out in BC
Xxxxxxxxx
Xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicaDarryn, Director of Sales at Mica Heliskiing, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Yes unprecedented weather conditions were experienced across British Columbia mid March 2013.
Accordingly we dealt directly with the affected group and offered an agreeable solution. We are pleased the group has re-booked the same tour in 2014 and we are looking forward to their return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Magic and fantastic is the best words to describe this place.
Spent a week here and it was the best vacation ever!! Brand new lodge, excellent guides and very experienced helicopter pilots. Felt totally safe every day and had the best skiing you could dream of.
Expensive. Worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spodling
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I would urge anyone thinking of heliskiing to look here first - you are thoughtfully cared for, not over fed, and given the most amazing terrain to ski. Guides best in business, safety a top priority not just a tick box. People with real warmth.

Room Tip: New lodge being built this summer, so hard to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Tucked away above kinbasket Lake is the heli-skiing Mecca ... Mica Heli.
If you are lucky enough to be able to get to this place given they are normally booked-up by guests returning year after year you will not be disappointed. Recently voted "Best Heliskiing" by Skiing Magazine in 2011, Mica Heli regularly features in cutting edge ski and snowboarding films such as "All I Can". Mica Heli is a regular podium feature at the Powder Magazine awards. if you have any doubts just look up "Balance of Powder" or any of the Mica clips on YouTube or Vimeo. We could all come up with excuses for not going to Mica but if you truly love skiing, save up, give them a call and sample what they have to offer. It's mind blowing. Richard B.

Stayed January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canadian Rockies
0.0 mi away
Manning Park Resort
Manning Park Resort
#1 of 1 in Manning Park
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Red Mountain Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
0.0 mi away
Acorn Motel
Acorn Motel
#2 of 6 in Grande Cache
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mica Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mica Heliskiing

Address: 207 Mackenzie Ave, Alberta V0E 2S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Canadian Rockies
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deeply in the Rocky Mountains at the convergence of three world famous mountain ranges, Mica Heliskiing is a luxury backcountry escape with a spectacular heliskiing tenure. Our unique location among the world’s furthest inland rainforest provides us with a blanket of deep dry powder snow from December to April each year. Accessible only by helicopter, Mica Heliskiing delivers a boutique heliski experience to a maximum of twenty guests. 4-7 day heliski packages are available. Our luxury lodge delivers the ultimate in comfort with spacious suites,hot tub, massage quarters, reading room, fitness room, business centre, ski shop, apres ski bar, espresso bar, fireplaces cracling throughout and an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mica Heliskiing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.