We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cabbage Key

Cabbage Key
Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, FL
+1 239-283-2278
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by.
cape coral fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had heard a lot about Cabbage Key, mostly good but some bad. We arrived by boat and docked with partial assistance from a rude and unfriendly dockmaster. Docking was over priced and the docks in poor condition.
The so called trails were not maintained and lined with garbage and other unsightly items along the way.
Dinner was over priced and really bad. They don't serve french fries with the cheeseburgers because it's too messy to make. Easier to pull out potato chips from a bag. This pretty much sums up the attitude towards visitors... too much trouble... go away!
Service was poor and the wait was endless to get served unacceptable food.
This island could be a great place but apparently it's not being managed at all and it's deteriorating with poor service and total neglect.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Cabbage Key. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. During a typical day in March - our Dock Master can dock over 100 boats....so at times he can get a bit surly! But, our docks are well maintained and at a transient overnight dockage rate of $1.85/foot/night we are at or below the rates of properties in the area. (If you just come in to grab a bite to eat there is not a charge to dock your boat.)Sorry to hear you were disappointed that we do not serve French fries. We do not have fryers...nothing is fried here...and have not had them in 35+ years. We also do not serve potato chips.....just potato salad and cole slaw!! We do have all of our menus posted on our website so our guests know what to expect when they arrive. Again, thank you for your review and sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place to visit, but no big thrills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We took the Captiva Cruise from Captiva to Cabbage Key, which gave us just a couple of hours on the island. It was a pleasant visit, but no real thrills. The cruise over was nice, we saw the normal dolphins following the boat, and lots of birds. The island is very simple. Really, I could see visiting there for a few days, there are nice cabins, and the prices aren't too high. And there would be NOTHING to do, just relax. But for a two hour visit, we were attempting to find something. There's an old water tower, the oldest on the islands. A 41 step climb and a nice view of the island. There's a nature trail, but pretty much nothing back there that we saw, walk through the trees. And the restaurant is pretty nice...see separate review of it. All in all, it's a nice place to go relax, but for a 2 hour visit, that's not what you want to do. We enjoyed the trip, and I guess that it all comes down to what you're expecting.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for writing about your visit to Cabbage Key. We are a small 100 acre, mostly mangrove, Island. We do have our water tower and a nature trail. We also have a gift shop and restaurant, many turtles & birds. When a guest arrives by one of the day boats - you have enough time to have lunch and explore for a bit then get back on the boat. For guests who stay overnight with us, we are a great spot for relaxation, fishing and boating. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tropical island and a great hidden treasure by boat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wonderful island ..so quant .ate at the main rest. With dollar bills signed and posted everywhere.excellent fish

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cruise from Fisherman's Village to Cabbage Key Island, FL, Day Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

You cruise begins mid-morning from the beautiful Fisherman's Village in Punta Gorda, Fl. For the next few hours enjoy the sights of Charlotte Harbour, Pine Island Sound, and the Intercoastal Waterway. Dolphins will entertain you at various points along the way. Arrive at Cabbage Key in time for a delicious lunch(not included in the boat fee) at the Cabbage Key Inn and sight see on the island for approx. two hours. The cruise back to Punta Gorda goes quickly as the dolphins re-appear often to provide entertainment and you disembark between 4:00-5:00 O'clock P.M. An
adventurous day of cruising and sightseeing in the Gulf of Mexico. Fun for the entire family.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for writing about your recent visit to Cabbage Key. Kingfisher Charter's, departing from Fisherman's Village in Punta Gorda, provides a great day trip to Cabbage Key. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Cabbage Key Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Arrived via boat and was greeted/professionally assisted by the dockmaster for our over night stay (thx Capt Jeff). Check-in for the marina was provided by Tracy with a smile including a pleasant intro to the amenities the island. Of course the Cabbage Key restaurant and service was great.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabbage_key, General Manager at Cabbage Key, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff at Cabbage Key, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I will make sure that Tracy and Jeff are recognized for a job well-done!! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabbage Key also viewed

Punta Gorda, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
Boca Grande, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cabbage Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabbage Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.