We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will deliver everything you expect from Donegal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McGrory's of Culdaff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added McGrory's of Culdaff to your Saves list
McGrory's of Culdaff
Culdaff, Inishowen | Co. Donegal, Culdaff, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culdaff
ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Will deliver everything you expect from Donegal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and eaten here quite often and every time they deliver just what is needed. Warm hospitality, good hearty food, great pints, nice wine and excellent music. We were here on Sat 21st July in the "Backroom" for Dave Alvin who was brilliant, the music in the front bar was also excellent with a wonderful Saxophone player. Well done yet again McGrorys.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just come home having spent a really lovely weekend in mcgrory's. Family run hotel, almost all the staff I spoke with we're related to each other one way or another and they all take great pride in the place. Bedroom was very comfortable, clean and well presented, food in the bar was excellent with good sized portions and the beer was good too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you like music. There is regular entertainment here one the quality of the entertainment is really good. We will be back in culdaff for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 to 104 are ov the bar but that was no problem as all are well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I love this place, their seafood chowder is second to none. Stopped here recently after getting atrocious service and food from the Point Bar, Magilligan, and yet again, the service and food from McGrorys reminded me how it should be done.

Lovely, friendly staff, the owner works the bar so the service is always up to scratch and it you are a music fan, this is the place for you. I have stayed overnight before, and the rooms are excellent as well. Well worth a detour if you are in east Donegal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had battled rain and wind everywhere we went in Donegal including Malin's Head and were blown away. Then arrived in Culdaff and was a pleasant suprise how nice Mc Grory's was. We were met with a smile and took the lift to our rooms. Had some great pub food in front pub. there was no music that night in pub or back pub but it was still a very enjoyable night. Rooms were great and had a great breakfast in morning. When I return to Culdaff I will be back at McGrory's

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed for one night. The room is fine. Comfortable with all the necessities. But this isn't the kind of place you stay in your room. The front bar is the way every bar should be. Good Craig, lovely people, great music and Guinness. Food is also very good. A lovely place to go and relax for a day or two. Life just seems to move at a more relaxed pace here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here Friday and Saturday nights, for the music. Room adequate given we were hardly in it, it had all necessary things, and very comfy bed. Great atmosphere in Front Bar, staff are just great, food excellent (chowder superb, fish dishes also), and mix of locals and visitors make it a true pub experience. Restuarant relaxing and busy, Guinness superb.
Walk to Blue Flag beach is worth doing, via estuary walk, and circular walk to nearby Dunmore Head worth it for views. This was our second trip to McGrorys, and will be an annual event.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Tyrone Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed in McGrorys on a Saturday Night in February with my wife. Had a very enjoyable relaxing stay. Our room was nothing special but more than adequate. Our dinner in the restaurant was delicious - beautiful fresh fish. Can't recommend the chowder enough! And the breakfast the next morning was top class. The beach is only about 10minutes walk away is is gorgeous. We lucked out with the weather, so had a couple of lovely strolls. The bar was fairly quiet on the night that we stayed, but they still had a great little band in. Only downside was that there was no hot water the next morning which I heard more than one guest talking about. Looking forward to going back in the summer when there is a bit more life about the place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McGrory's of Culdaff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGrory's of Culdaff

Address: Culdaff, Inishowen | Co. Donegal, Culdaff, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Culdaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Culdaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McGrory's Hotel is a family-owned and operated hotel that has a reputation providing that traditional Donegal experience through fine food, friendly service, traditional music and a great night's sleep, a home from home experience. Explore the North West Coastline and the Wild Atlantic Way with a friend or loved ones with nine discovery points on the route all only a scenic drive from the Hotel. We are only minutes from Culdaff beach which is one of Ireland's most beautiful blue flag beaches with swimming, canoeing, surfing, sea and shore angling all available. The perfect haven for a tranquil walk to escape the pressure of the outside world. Situated in Culdaff Village just 10km from Carndonagh, there is a wealth of activities and day trips to enjoy, making a visit to McGrory's the ideal base for exploring the area with, highlights including Doagh Famine Village, Ireland's most Northerly point at Malin Head, Mamore Gap and Dunree fort. With so many joys to uncover in the area we recommend you stay a while in one of our 17 uniquely styled bedrooms, many featuring the original exposed stone walls of the building. All of which are ensuite with excellent facilities. We have taken great care to ensure your room offers a relaxing environment yet not compromising on style or luxury. We want you to enjoy all the comforts of home, a great night's sleep and a sense that we are here to look after your every need to ensure you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your McGrory's of Culdaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mc Grory`s Hotel Culdaff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGrory's of Culdaff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.