We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Excellent Food & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de Launay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge de Launay to your Saves list
Auberge de Launay
9 rue de la riviere, 37530 Limeray, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limeray
Sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have eaten here several times over the past few years, and never been let down. The welcome is sincere followed by an aperitif in the garden, while menu selections are made.

The menu is varied but not so much that it is obviously freezer fare. All the dishes are fresh and appealing, with a good choice of wines, depending on taste and the depth of your wallet.

The staff appear to be almost a "family" and the service is attentive without being intrusive.

We have eaten at the tables in the Garden in summer which is refreshing and sweet scented, and inside the Restaurant in autumn / winter which was snug.

Prices ?..... very reasonable for the quality offered.

Return? ..... definitely ,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    68
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
128
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We tried this based on other trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The owners are wonderful people. Their restaurant is a must to try...excellent service and superb cuisine. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We drove here from Chenonceaux, and it was worth the drive. We had made reservations by e-mail from the States and were glad we did. The entire restaurant was completely full and we went on a week night. Large selection of items on the menu and a lovely wine list.
The surroundings were lovely, the dining room was nicely decorated and they had a glassed in porch overlooking the garden. Lots of little extras. The food was delicious and the wait staff was very professional.
This was one of the best meals we had on a month trip through the Loire area. Although a bit of a drive from Chenonceaux and in the countryside near Amboise, it is definitely worth the drive. You would definitely need a car to get here.
We will definitely come back here again for dinner!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We loved a couple of nights here to relax after a full on schedule. We came by taxi from Amboise as were travelling by train. Was lovely to relax, beautiful gardens. The food was oh so delcious yep really yummy and top class. Really enjoyed the evening meal full experience as were made to feel quite special. You can trust all the good comments others have written as it's all true. We enjoyed a walk around the area as it's rural. Alot of people that stayed had cars as there was parking outside your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We booked two nights here after reading other enthusiastic reviews and we were not disappointed. Staff are wonderfully welcoming and professional. Food (both dinner and breakfast) are delicious. Rooms are plain but comfortable. The gardens are not spectacularly planted, but spacious and relaxing - we found deck chairs set out on the sunnier days; the bistro table outside each room adds a charming touch. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After a longish drive this place was a real delight to find. Pre-booked through the Logis de France group after reading so many enthusiastic reviews here, it didn't disappoint. The setting really is lovely; the hotel occupies a series of mellow old farm buildings; the garden/orchard with its loggia and comfy seating is a delightful place to unwind before a fine dinner in the conservatory. We had a first-floor room in one of the barn-style annexes, which was roomy and very pleasant. Our only minor gripe was that the bathroom was in need of a bit of attention (e.g. tiles needing re-grouting and a bit of sprucing-up generally).

There is some noise from the railway line a little distance away, but there seem to be very few trains running during the night, so this wasn't a serious problem. The main road between Blois and Amboise along the north bank of the Loire is even closer, but a high banking seems to provide adequate noise screening.

Breakfast was buffet-style, and good, as anticipated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is located on the edge of Limeray and has a pretty, well-kept garden where you can sit and enjoy an apero or after dinner drink. We stayed in the annexe, where most of the airy, spacious and comfortable rooms are located. The hotel lies between a main road and a railway line, however we didn't notice any road noise, just the occasional train passing through (the rooms are not air conditioned so we kept our window open as it was very hot during our two night stay, otherwise the trains might not have been noticeable).

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but the star of the show is the restaurant. This served good 'terroir' cuisine graced by well-chosen ingredients presented with attention to detail and innovative twists, just the sort of establishment it's becoming increasingly difficult to find in France. Decent wine list offering a good selection of Loire wines and some from other regions (Particularly the Rhone).

The hotel is well located, within easy reach of Chaumont sur Loire, Chenonceau, Amboise and other Loire chateaux hotspots. We'd be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de Launay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Launay

Address: 9 rue de la riviere, 37530 Limeray, France
Location: France > Centre > Loire Valley > Limeray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Limeray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Blois and Tours, 5km from Amboise, this 18th century farm is situated in the middle of the Loire valley. Frannois and Helene Thevard, the owners since 2003, learnt the "Hotellerie" in 4-5 star hotels such as Martinez (Cannes), Savoy (London), Hotel de Crillon and Meurice (Paris) and Royal Riviera (Monaco). Now they use these experiences to offer their clients surprising high quality and professional service in a two star Hotel. They speak fluent English and German. 15 bedrooms, all renovated with bath and shower, Satellite TV. The (non smoking) restaurant (with shaded terrace in summer) has been awarded by 2 forks in 2005 Michelin guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de Launay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Launay Limeray
Auberge De Launay Hotel Limeray
Auberge De Launay France/Limeray, Loire Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de Launay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.