We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedding not so bueno....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
breckenridge,co
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Bedding not so bueno....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We spent one night here as we were going to the Camuy Caves and the Arecibo Observatory the next day. We were given room 109 and at first we thought it was just a box spring on the floor because it was six inches off the floor and so, so, so hard! Nope, it was a mattress, still wrapped in plastic, so no only are you uncomfortable all night, every time you move it sounds like a baby diaper. We had two very flat hard pillows, no hand towels, no washclothes and 2 towels marked "picina" so they were pool towels to boot. The front desk said couldn't help with more pillows or towels. After we went to dinner, a new desk clerk gave us 2 very nice towels and one hand towel. The room was very clean, television had 20 channels or so, street noise, but not unbearable. If we ever returned to the area, we would stay in San Juan and drive a bit more to be comfortable for the night rather than endure that bed again. Internet not functional, and clerk said it was protected. Asked for the code, and when she found out we were going across the street to their restaurant she said to use their's because it's not protected...what's the big secret with a code? For $120 a night, you could do alot better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbuencafe, General Manager at Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you very much for chosing Parador El Buen Cafe for your travel needs. We love to hear our guest comments and love even more when they emphasize on how clean the rooms are. We are a small Hotel located on the north coast of Puerto Rico in about the Mid Island, just minutes away from beautiful beaches. Easily accesible from the San Juan International Airport, about a 45 minute drive, and close to most of the island without losing touch of the San Juan Metropolitan area.Though we strive to make our guests stay a confortable one, issues due happen every once in a while. We are happy to inform you that the thin mattress was replaced for a new one and accesing the internet has been made simpler than ever. We invite you to come back and try us once again. My name is Dagoberto Gonzalez, I am the general Manager, ask for me when you are in town and will drink a cup of good puertorrican coffee together. Thats why were called El Buen Cafe which means "Good Coffee".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
15
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. The wireless didn't work and when I asked the front desk clerk if there was anything they can do, she said they don't have any technician on the weekends. It was a Sunday so I hoped they will fix the problem the next day. Surprise, they didn't and they didn't seem to care because the new front desk clerk didn't know about the wireless problem...

It is very overpriced and outdated, at least it was clean.
Good food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbuencafe, General Manager at Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for staying at Parador El Buen Cafe in Hatillo, Puerto Rico. We are very sorry you encountered these problems during your stay. We strive to make our guest as confortable as possible .We have never had this complaint before . We will definitly look into this issue and resolve it as soon as possible. I see you were happy with our cleanliness, Did you know we have been awarded 9 times by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company for our Housekeeping , Front Desk and Customer Service Department ? I believe we own this to people like you who take the time to let us know how we are doing. We, the people of El Buen Cafe, value your comments and hope to see you soon again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatillo hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was a nice, clean place to stay, but it was nothing fancy. I would stay there again because the room was clean, the area seemed safe, and the people at the hotel and cafe across the street were nice. We stayed there on a Wednesday night, and there was a party in the basement. Our room was on the first floor, and if the party had continued later, it definitely would have kept us awake. The other thing I had a hard time with was the price. We paid $107 for the night, which was a pretty good price for a room in Puerto Rico, but you would get a much nicer room in the States for that much money. It was the type of toom you would pay around $50 for up here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not it. But if you are looking for a hotel that is a great deal and really friendly staff, this is your place. The hotel is located close to downtown Arecibo. My room was extremely clean and surprisingly spacious. It had a couch, desk and bed. The hotel is small but that means great customer service. A cafe is across the street for breakfast where a lot of locals eat. I think this would be a great stop over for people traveling through Puerto Rico or for business travelers. It is close to several beaches. Which was very nice as the beaches are beautiful. I would stay here again for sure. It is simple but that was all I needed. It has a pool that was exceptionally clean too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

First time staying at a Parador in Puerto Rico and it was a great experience. Very accesible location, nice facilities well kept, very friendly staff, room was very clean, good size room and very clean bathroom! A/C, Cable tv and other amenities. Great deal if you do not want to pay lots of money and you want a nice place to stay. It is definitely a much better deal than staying on a hotel chain. Just a little noise from the street but not that bad. Coffee and bread is included for breakfast and it's delicious. N. Chardon, Miami, FL.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I am currently laying on the bed in my room. It is 11:41 pm. The music from the party directly below my room is about at 80 decibels in my room. I was originally told that the music would end at 10 pm... then I was told 11... and now I am being told 12 midnight. So much for a good night sleep before getting up at 6 am tomorrow! Stay tuned to see how this ends up...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

the part we were in did not have an elevator to the second floor, so make sure you don't bring your mom if she has arthritis, hehehe, Its a no frills hotel, but the rooms were clean, bed was so comfortable and the price was good. So its not "an A+" hotel, but for a good and comfortable nite sleep, it was great

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.