We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most uncomfortable bed ever!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Most uncomfortable bed ever!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. The wireless didn't work and when I asked the front desk clerk if there was anything they can do, she said they don't have any technician on the weekends. It was a Sunday so I hoped they will fix the problem the next day. Surprise, they didn't and they didn't seem to care because the new front desk clerk didn't know about the wireless problem...

It is very overpriced and outdated, at least it was clean.
Good food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbuencafe, General Manager at Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for staying at Parador El Buen Cafe in Hatillo, Puerto Rico. We are very sorry you encountered these problems during your stay. We strive to make our guest as confortable as possible .We have never had this complaint before . We will definitly look into this issue and resolve it as soon as possible. I see you were happy with our cleanliness, Did you know we have been awarded 9 times by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company for our Housekeeping , Front Desk and Customer Service Department ? I believe we own this to people like you who take the time to let us know how we are doing. We, the people of El Buen Cafe, value your comments and hope to see you soon again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
19
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was a nice, clean place to stay, but it was nothing fancy. I would stay there again because the room was clean, the area seemed safe, and the people at the hotel and cafe across the street were nice. We stayed there on a Wednesday night, and there was a party in the basement. Our room was on the first floor, and if the party had continued later, it definitely would have kept us awake. The other thing I had a hard time with was the price. We paid $107 for the night, which was a pretty good price for a room in Puerto Rico, but you would get a much nicer room in the States for that much money. It was the type of toom you would pay around $50 for up here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not it. But if you are looking for a hotel that is a great deal and really friendly staff, this is your place. The hotel is located close to downtown Arecibo. My room was extremely clean and surprisingly spacious. It had a couch, desk and bed. The hotel is small but that means great customer service. A cafe is across the street for breakfast where a lot of locals eat. I think this would be a great stop over for people traveling through Puerto Rico or for business travelers. It is close to several beaches. Which was very nice as the beaches are beautiful. I would stay here again for sure. It is simple but that was all I needed. It has a pool that was exceptionally clean too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

First time staying at a Parador in Puerto Rico and it was a great experience. Very accesible location, nice facilities well kept, very friendly staff, room was very clean, good size room and very clean bathroom! A/C, Cable tv and other amenities. Great deal if you do not want to pay lots of money and you want a nice place to stay. It is definitely a much better deal than staying on a hotel chain. Just a little noise from the street but not that bad. Coffee and bread is included for breakfast and it's delicious. N. Chardon, Miami, FL.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I am currently laying on the bed in my room. It is 11:41 pm. The music from the party directly below my room is about at 80 decibels in my room. I was originally told that the music would end at 10 pm... then I was told 11... and now I am being told 12 midnight. So much for a good night sleep before getting up at 6 am tomorrow! Stay tuned to see how this ends up...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

the part we were in did not have an elevator to the second floor, so make sure you don't bring your mom if she has arthritis, hehehe, Its a no frills hotel, but the rooms were clean, bed was so comfortable and the price was good. So its not "an A+" hotel, but for a good and comfortable nite sleep, it was great

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

i was there for a week for vacacion! the owner was drunk screaming at the employes in front of the coustumers.it was a embarasing moment for me as a coustumer as it was for the poor employe that was triying to act cool about the scolding in front of everybody! as i found out later it seems the owner have a drinking problem for a long time! the premises were clean.but not to much to do unless you have a car to go around! also a lil bit overprised for all i had while i was there! there were other places that have more food for less the price! and the rooms were to small and no view what so ever unless you like to look at neiborhood houses/highway!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Inn (Parador) Located at Hatillo, Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.