We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean place to stay with nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hatillo
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, clean place to stay with nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was a nice, clean place to stay, but it was nothing fancy. I would stay there again because the room was clean, the area seemed safe, and the people at the hotel and cafe across the street were nice. We stayed there on a Wednesday night, and there was a party in the basement. Our room was on the first floor, and if the party had continued later, it definitely would have kept us awake. The other thing I had a hard time with was the price. We paid $107 for the night, which was a pretty good price for a room in Puerto Rico, but you would get a much nicer room in the States for that much money. It was the type of toom you would pay around $50 for up here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not it. But if you are looking for a hotel that is a great deal and really friendly staff, this is your place. The hotel is located close to downtown Arecibo. My room was extremely clean and surprisingly spacious. It had a couch, desk and bed. The hotel is small but that means great customer service. A cafe is across the street for breakfast where a lot of locals eat. I think this would be a great stop over for people traveling through Puerto Rico or for business travelers. It is close to several beaches. Which was very nice as the beaches are beautiful. I would stay here again for sure. It is simple but that was all I needed. It has a pool that was exceptionally clean too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

First time staying at a Parador in Puerto Rico and it was a great experience. Very accesible location, nice facilities well kept, very friendly staff, room was very clean, good size room and very clean bathroom! A/C, Cable tv and other amenities. Great deal if you do not want to pay lots of money and you want a nice place to stay. It is definitely a much better deal than staying on a hotel chain. Just a little noise from the street but not that bad. Coffee and bread is included for breakfast and it's delicious. N. Chardon, Miami, FL.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I am currently laying on the bed in my room. It is 11:41 pm. The music from the party directly below my room is about at 80 decibels in my room. I was originally told that the music would end at 10 pm... then I was told 11... and now I am being told 12 midnight. So much for a good night sleep before getting up at 6 am tomorrow! Stay tuned to see how this ends up...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatillo hotels

Staten Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

the part we were in did not have an elevator to the second floor, so make sure you don't bring your mom if she has arthritis, hehehe, Its a no frills hotel, but the rooms were clean, bed was so comfortable and the price was good. So its not "an A+" hotel, but for a good and comfortable nite sleep, it was great

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

i was there for a week for vacacion! the owner was drunk screaming at the employes in front of the coustumers.it was a embarasing moment for me as a coustumer as it was for the poor employe that was triying to act cool about the scolding in front of everybody! as i found out later it seems the owner have a drinking problem for a long time! the premises were clean.but not to much to do unless you have a car to go around! also a lil bit overprised for all i had while i was there! there were other places that have more food for less the price! and the rooms were to small and no view what so ever unless you like to look at neiborhood houses/highway!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

This hotel wasn't my favorite but it was quite cheap. My husband and I just stayed there one night and I don't think a 2nd night would've been too exciting. Our room was clean and well furnished. But our windows looked out onto the parking lot. The ladies at the front desk were very very helpful with all our questions. Even though this hotel isn't on the beach it's a short walk to the ocean. Because Hatillo is on the northern rough Atlantic side of the island there are no ideal swimming beaches. However, there is an amazing rock formation which is partially submerged and you can walk on it (careful, the rocks are very sharp!). When the huge waves crash into these rocks they make huge sprays and all the water drains from rock terrace to terrace, tide pool to tide pool. Very cool to play on. El Buen Cafe the restaurant is actually 2 restaurants. One is, well, a cafe and the other is a "fancy" restaurant. I use that term in quotes because the food they serve sounds fancy and the prices are quite steep. However, the ambiance stinks. When we went the place was almost empty, there is old tattered carpet on the floors and the tables and chairs look like something you'd find at a diner. It really felt (and smelled) like a cheap Chinese place instead of a fancy seafood house. We went to the actual cafe the next morning and LOVED it! I don't know about the rest of the day but our breakfast was wonderful (and cheap!)

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — located on a busy highway
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe
Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hatillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.