We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have read reviews...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Should have read reviews...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There aren't a lot of choices in this area but if we had known what we were getting for our getaway money, we would have kept looking. The hotel was clean, everywhere, grounds included and the staff we dealt with were very pleasant, couldn't ask for nicer people. There were plenty of clean towels and soap and shampoo were provided in dispensers. That's where the good part ends. There was no hot water, phone or WIFI in the room. There was some kind of funky instant hot water fixture on the shower and we had to call the desk to show us how it worked...but basically, it didn't. I did get a WIFI signal in the lobby but that was in a different building. Furnishings and TV were old and there were no bedside lamps, no table and chairs even though the room had cooking facilities and a refrigerator...we had to eat carry-out on the bed. If it was furnished a little better, I could have given this place a better review because it is convenient to some really cool sights

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
16
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maunabo, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stay at these hotel multiple times and the high quality of service and attention to detail remains . the staff is amazing and the rooms have been comfortable and immaculate. We have been staying in these parador for the past month and made it our favorite i have stayed here 4 times and i really love the staff and the clean rooms !!!!!

Room Tip: they have 2 rooms with two queen size beds the rest of double rooms are full size .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

After reading different reviews I didnt know what to expect, but overall my experience was nice. The service was very pleasant, the rooms dont have much upgrades, but they are completelly clean. The surroundings were very nice, and you can't even hear the main street, which for me was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Prior to staying at this hotel I read the TripAdvisor.com reviews of this hotel. Having done that, I knew exactly what to expect and therefore I was not upset. To set the standard, you should be aware that the hotel is old. It has had some upgrades but does not have hotel grade fixtures. The rooms still use normal keys instead of key cards. Also, as it seems to make a difference, our room was on the floor above the lobby.

The hotel room was generally clean. The toilet had a paper seal on it indicating it had been cleaned, the refrigerator was open and unplugged, and I did not see any dirt. Having said that, however, the comforter on one of the beds had a sandy feel to it. This prompted me to inspect the sheets which all looked and smelled clean.

The service was not great. When I checked in I asked the clerk for extra towels because we were going to take a shower immediately and again in the morning. She said they did not have any extra towels. Also at check in I asked about WiFi. She said the hotel was equipped with WiFi but it was broken and she did not anticipate it being fixed before we checked out at the end of the weekend. She also told me the telephones in the room did not work. The lack of WiFi was a big issue for me but the telephone was not since I have a cell phone.

Someone posted on here that they had roaches in their hotel room. I did not see any roaches but I did see a small ant-like bug. I did not worry too much because it was the only bug I saw and I figured it could have easily fallen off of one of us when we came in since we had been outside exploring all day.

This is a no frills hotel. There was not an iron or ironing board in the room and all of the fixtures are of personal household grade rather than hotel grade. There is a pool but it is small.

The air conditioner seemed to work well and they do have a small pool. The hotel was quiet with minimal outside noise in the hotel room.

With all of the negatives in this post you would think I would not stay here again. Knowing what to expect though, I would stay here again if a better value was not available. There are not too many hotels around though so choices are quite limited.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatillo hotels

San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My stay at Parador El Buen Cafe was very good the first thing i valued was the importance they gave me i was attended by Angelica the frontdesk she treated me with respect and was very funny , when i passed to the room it was nice and clean it smell fresh i evaluated the beds because i had read there not comfortable but my bed was very cozy i asked the frontdesk about the comments on there beds and she said they have been replaced she also said they are making many changes . the housekeeping named carmen was very nice also ely they are the responsable for my room being clean . I recomend these parador they have the best customer service !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool side view excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

my visit was extraordinary the staff is amazing and super helpful the rooms are extremely clean they are very close to the camuy caves and the observatory my stay was great i saw them doing some updates they where changing beds and matress and painting hope that the next time i will have a better time but the staff is excellent and there housekeeping is extraordinary

Room Tip: The last rooms are very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatillo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I made reservations while on the move and was pleased with the friendly staff, quality and cleanliness of the accommodations. I enjoyed my stay & uses El Parador as my base of operations for excursions around Puerto Rico. Would definitely go there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.