We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cucarachas” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cucarachas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Beds are not good and roaches every where kept saying if we mess up we have to pay 50 dollars and asking how many towels I would say 6 they w say you could only have 4 so why ask ugly room and bathroom this should cost 50 dollars

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
15
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was fine. Check-in was great - communication was good and they even gave us some free drink vouchers for PR rum & beer to use at their café (we didn't use). The rooms are pretty basic/Spartan. We needed more towels so I phoned the front desk and the towels arrived within minutes. Pretty excellent service. The kids wanted to swim in the pool but for some reason it was closed so that was out. We ended up heading straight down the road behind the hotel and hit the beach. It was a pretty nice area and glad we found it otherwise we'd have been bored silly. Our room was in the hotel complex (not over the café) and was fairly quiet. The air conditioner helped drown out some of the traffic noise. The location was pretty convenient for us, as we were just using it as a stopover on route to San Juan.

Check out the beach if you go. Lots of neat birds, fish, crabs etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked one night here to see the Camuy caves, and this was close by. The room was on a very noisy street, and you could hear the thumping music from the downstairs cafe. The lamps were broken in our room. The rooms were very outdated. Would not recommend this place if you're looking for a good night's sleep.

The only plus: the staff was very friendly and the downstairs cafe was a convenient place to have breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatillo hotels

Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Attending a conference in nearby Arecibo, I had the need of a room close to the local university. Having lots of experience with the Puerto Rican paradores, I decided to give El Buen Cafe Hotel a try. It was nowhere near the quality of others I've stayed at. Shabby furniture, a noisy location, and poor linen make this place a choice of last resort. Positives: friendly and attentive staff, good wifi, and cleanliness. Having their restaurant nearby is a plus, but it is no mesón gastronómica.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main hotel, not over the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Ok lets get straight to the point..This is a hotel for people staying on buisness absolutely...nothing to do whatsoever...its not on a beach..you have a sams club in front and home depot on the side..its smack dab in the middle of the #2...Hotel restaurant was decent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've had the pleasure of finding & staying here a few times while visiting a dying family member. The staff were all wonderful and extremely accommodating which allowed our visit to be pleasant. I've stayed both over the restaurant and across the street at their villas. The rooms were kept cool, comfortable and very clean each with a mini fridge. The coffee/ breakfast sandwiches at their café was delicious & the food at their restaurant was mouthwatering and fresh. Their standard rooms are quaint but their villa rooms are like staying in a studio apt. I didn't get to enjoy their pool (under our unfortunate circumstance for the visit) however I am looking forward to utilizing it when I return this Aug. I cant wait to return! Well worth the money. I have already recruited friends and family to stay their each time I visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My understanding is that this is a hotel for businesspeople looking for something not too expensive. And that's exactly what it is. Not too expensive, nice enough, friendly staff, spacious room. Nonetheless, it's not great: the water pressure in the shower is mediocre, the towels are flimsy, the noise from the nearby highway can be loud. The restaurant next door--run by the same company--is convenient and good (though one person in our group possibly got food poisoning there). Bottom line: if you need to visit Hatillo and want an affordable and reasonably comfortable place to stay, this is the one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.