We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel to your Saves list
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great little budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a friend and I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a small building and is off of a highway. It's an older building but it is well maintained. The staff was wonderful to us! I've stayed at five star hotels in San Juan and this hotels customer service outshines any service I've had in San Juan. Hands down. The rooms are older and worn but very clean. Housekeeping does a great Job. There is a pool and it is well maintained and very clean. The best part was the resturant across the street. I ate there everyday because the food was so good! The staff there at the resturant was just as hospitable. The only complaint I had was the last night we stayed there was a banquet of some sort and the music was so loud it hit us up on the second floor. We had to be up at 3am to head back home so that was rough bc the music ended at midnite. Other than that our stay was nice and comfortable. I would stay here again during the week bc it is quaint place. Kudos to the staff for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
19
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Was in Puerto Rico on business for a whole week. Every other hotel was able to provide an invoice except this one. The restaurant was not as I had heard. Not a pleasant experience for both breakfast and dinner. Too much noise also. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Near the road. Close to Arecibo observatory and Rio Camuy caves. Friendly staff. Adjacent to restaurant. Nice pool.

Room Tip: Try not to get one next to a crying baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, NJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was our 5 th time staying here at El Buen Cafe. The attitude of the staff is great. Always asking what can I do for you. We brought our grandkids with us for their 1st visit to Puerto Rico. They loved it and wanted to know if we could move to El Buen Cafe so they could come every year to visit us. It is located right on Rt 2 which makes travel to sights easy. On the west end of the island seems to be much more tourist friendly also. El Nuen cafe is and will continue to be my place to stay when in Puerto Rico. A clean safe and comfrotable place that is also affordable.

Ron & Carmen Mason

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This Hotel is in a very good location (if you want to be away from the busy city crowd) and it's very easy to find. It's not very fancy and kinda reminded us of school. It has no eleveators but it makes up with the friendly staff and it's cleanliness. Yes, the beds are made for very short people but are pretty comfy. The pool was a plus and it's very well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breckenridge,co
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We spent one night here as we were going to the Camuy Caves and the Arecibo Observatory the next day. We were given room 109 and at first we thought it was just a box spring on the floor because it was six inches off the floor and so, so, so hard! Nope, it was a mattress, still wrapped in plastic, so no only are you uncomfortable all night, every time you move it sounds like a baby diaper. We had two very flat hard pillows, no hand towels, no washclothes and 2 towels marked "picina" so they were pool towels to boot. The front desk said couldn't help with more pillows or towels. After we went to dinner, a new desk clerk gave us 2 very nice towels and one hand towel. The room was very clean, television had 20 channels or so, street noise, but not unbearable. If we ever returned to the area, we would stay in San Juan and drive a bit more to be comfortable for the night rather than endure that bed again. Internet not functional, and clerk said it was protected. Asked for the code, and when she found out we were going across the street to their restaurant she said to use their's because it's not protected...what's the big secret with a code? For $120 a night, you could do alot better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbuencafe, General Manager at Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you very much for chosing Parador El Buen Cafe for your travel needs. We love to hear our guest comments and love even more when they emphasize on how clean the rooms are. We are a small Hotel located on the north coast of Puerto Rico in about the Mid Island, just minutes away from beautiful beaches. Easily accesible from the San Juan International Airport, about a 45 minute drive, and close to most of the island without losing touch of the San Juan Metropolitan area.Though we strive to make our guests stay a confortable one, issues due happen every once in a while. We are happy to inform you that the thin mattress was replaced for a new one and accesing the internet has been made simpler than ever. We invite you to come back and try us once again. My name is Dagoberto Gonzalez, I am the general Manager, ask for me when you are in town and will drink a cup of good puertorrican coffee together. Thats why were called El Buen Cafe which means "Good Coffee".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed for two nights on a business trip. It was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. The wireless didn't work and when I asked the front desk clerk if there was anything they can do, she said they don't have any technician on the weekends. It was a Sunday so I hoped they will fix the problem the next day. Surprise, they didn't and they didn't seem to care because the new front desk clerk didn't know about the wireless problem...

It is very overpriced and outdated, at least it was clean.
Good food at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elbuencafe, General Manager at Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for staying at Parador El Buen Cafe in Hatillo, Puerto Rico. We are very sorry you encountered these problems during your stay. We strive to make our guest as confortable as possible .We have never had this complaint before . We will definitly look into this issue and resolve it as soon as possible. I see you were happy with our cleanliness, Did you know we have been awarded 9 times by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company for our Housekeeping , Front Desk and Customer Service Department ? I believe we own this to people like you who take the time to let us know how we are doing. We, the people of El Buen Cafe, value your comments and hope to see you soon again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel

Address: 381 Ctra 2 | Bo Carrizales, Hatillo 00659, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Inn (Parador) Located at Hatillo, Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Rico Parador
Hotel Parador El Buen Cafe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.