We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Maracayo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hatillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Punta Maracayo
Road #2 Km. 84.6, Hatillo, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
montgomery,ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This resort has a lot of potential. It is beautiful on the outside. The restaurant is awesome. The pool is large and clean. The lights at night are very attractive. My sons had lots of fun in the pool. The management was very nice and helpful. My only suggestion would be to add more seating at the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
20
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My Brother and I stay here often and the staff is really nice, the jacuzzi ever works, to take a bath you need to wait 20 minutes for the water to get hot, on weekends the second floor gets crowded becouse there is a bar and people that is not staying at the resort are all over the place, the ice machine never works and two of the times we had stayed the air conditioner didnt work properly. For the price is good I guess but they never have late check-out and the pool is always freezing cold. They don't have rooms with two separate beds, all the rooms have only one bed and the wifi is very limited, you need to go to the lobby or to the second floor to be able to use the Internet. Besides that the rooms are clean only once we found a dirty towel in the bathroom and cat poop at the front door. But the staff is awesome and very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east wing are much better becouse the elevetor is on that side! Have a great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Staff at the front desk not good very rude. they were talking about some guess that was there,eating and drinking in the front desks no class.but the room was very clean, nice, no

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

From the outside, the hotel looks amazing. However once we arrived, we noticed the AC was blasing in the room and we thought it was weird. It's because the hotel has a mold problem! Once we turned down the AC, the ceiling started dripping and the carpet became damp. The sheets were damp. There is black mold on the ceiling because of this problem. We reported this to the management, but they said they were sold out of rooms and did not move us or provide alternative solutions. They said not to turn down the AC! -- that was there solution to their mold problem. We cut our stay short, asked for a refund for the third night we stayed and went elsewhere. In addition to the mold problems, the pool area is a dump. There was poop all over the chairs and the pool was not clean.

I would not return if someone paid me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Terrible Experience with the facility and staff. We attended a wedding on a Friday night at their facilities and that was excellent. What was bad about the rest of our 2-night stay is as follows:
1. There were no bell boys or carts available to take luggage upstairs.
2. The check-in process starts with an inventory of the fridge contents: what a waste of time. Can they just do the audit before people arrive? Anyways, that is how you are greeted, by already implying that would take refreshments out of the fridge and not pay for them (that’s why they feel obligated to conduct an audit in your presence). They assume everyone is there to consume from the fridge for free.
3. The management does work weekends. When I presented that my room’s carpet was wet from an A/C unit not draining, they did not have another room and were very reticent in alleviating my health concerns for a moldy room. I Complaint of Friday night and by Saturday I had not have words with the manager yet who came in from her day off to talk. (She said she was coming at 0830 and two hours later she finally showed up). I am supposed to get my money back in three weeks. (In the end they fixed the A/C but the carpet was still wet and sticky)
4. The assistant managers have no authority to make things right. Employees are not empowered to do the right thing.
5. Every deficiency is sweep away by saying that this resort is government own and that is why things are what they are.
6. The luggage unloading circle (front of the resort) is permanently decorated with a JLG lift and three other employee cars. When I show up with a rental Taurus I barely had enough room to off-load my luggage. (picture enclosed)
7. Ice is available upon request ONE LITTLE BUCKET at a time. They sure don’t make feel right about filling a small cooler.

I recommend that the entire staff stays in a different resort so they can figure out how things are done elsewhere. I never got to talk the the highest official regarding the poor conditions of the room; they are absent in weekends. No customer first in this location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Very good service, excellent place for weddings and other social events, for smaller events the restaurant can accomodate up to 100+ guests and offers great food and service. Plus a great view, reasonable rates, easy acces from major highways, PR-2 and PR-22 and five stars service.

Room Tip: Third floor have better view to the ocean, but all rooms face the pool. In addition to the pool, Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starksboro, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Just got back from visiting relatives in Arecibo Puerto Rico during the thanksgiving week. We stayed six nights with the friendly staff at Punta Maracayo Resort. The majority of the staff spoke both English and Spanish and made us feel right at home from check in to check out. Inez at the front desk was particularly nice to deal with. I would highly recommend the Punta Maracayo Resort for anyone looking for nice reasonably priced stay in the Hatillo, Arecibo area. We ate dinner at the restaurant and breakfasts at the snack bar by the pool. Both were great with definite Puerto Rican taste. Try the breakfast sandwich of ham, cheese, fried egg on the local bread sobao and eat by the pool. Very relaxing. The rooms were clean and well furnished with a balcony that looked over the pool; some had a glimpse of the ocean. Air conditioning, Dish TV was good and I was able to pick up the wifi if I sat on the balcony. You could walk about 200 yards to the beach. We felt safe at all times, but there is no substitute for common sense. The beach has a nice sheltered lagoon with little or no waves or currents very safe swimming. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor east rooms can see a little bit of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Punta Maracayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Maracayo

Address: Road #2 Km. 84.6, Hatillo, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Hatillo
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer exquisite decorated rooms with free service of Dish Network and WiFi internet from the tranquility of your bed or any area of the hotel including the pool area. Excellent service with our Pool Open 24hrs,access to the beach in a walking distance. Restaurant with Room Service, Gazebo with Breakfast, coffee and Pina Colada in fresh air on the pool area. We offer Spa service in the room or we can arrange a free pick up to the Spa Salon. We have a Gym and a Beauty Salon.Free access to Punta Maracayo Camping on available hours. We are in a distance of 5 minutes or less to Malls, Farmacies, Fast Foods, our Sports Complex and the town of Hatillo.Once at Punta Maracayo Resort you enter another world of Peace and Serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Punta Maracayo Hotel Hatillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Maracayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Maracayo to your Saves list