We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Maracayo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hatillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Punta Maracayo
Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Maracayo to your Saves list
Road #2 Km. 84.6, Hatillo, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Starksboro, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Just got back from visiting relatives in Arecibo Puerto Rico during the thanksgiving week. We stayed six nights with the friendly staff at Punta Maracayo Resort. The majority of the staff spoke both English and Spanish and made us feel right at home from check in to check out. Inez at the front desk was particularly nice to deal with. I would highly recommend the Punta Maracayo Resort for anyone looking for nice reasonably priced stay in the Hatillo, Arecibo area. We ate dinner at the restaurant and breakfasts at the snack bar by the pool. Both were great with definite Puerto Rican taste. Try the breakfast sandwich of ham, cheese, fried egg on the local bread sobao and eat by the pool. Very relaxing. The rooms were clean and well furnished with a balcony that looked over the pool; some had a glimpse of the ocean. Air conditioning, Dish TV was good and I was able to pick up the wifi if I sat on the balcony. You could walk about 200 yards to the beach. We felt safe at all times, but there is no substitute for common sense. The beach has a nice sheltered lagoon with little or no waves or currents very safe swimming. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor east rooms can see a little bit of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
21
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Accessible, clean, affordable place next to the beach. Pool is great. Nice personnel and good service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Service was excellent, the room was clean, nice air conditioning, clean pools wit colored lights at night and hot water in the pools and they are open 24 hrs. It had a quiet environmental just what you need to rest on vacations. We liked it very much. We recomended this place for a great vacation with your family. The only thing we didn't like were the Iguanas so close to the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maracayo, Manager at Hotel Punta Maracayo, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
Dear Guest!

Thank you for choosing Punta Maracayo Resort for your stay! Is so nice to hear you had a great time at our facilities and that you enjoyed your time with us. Our work team takes great pride in knowing our guest had an awesome time at our resort. We hope you visit us again!

Punta Maracayo Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

The hotel was pleasant and I had no complaints, until the front desk over charged me by one day. When I protested, they realized the error, then told me they not run the charge again to correct the same and to ONLY two options were: (1) they would give me a free day (Yeah, my flights leaves in three hours!); or I could wait for them to "write out a check from the Municipal Government (the hotel is owned by the City government), and it would take three weeks! Well, its not October 16! I called and they tell me "what, we don' t have no such record,etc", though I have a receipt and document from the front desk. I tried to communicate with someone over the telephone regarding my demand for repayment of the day they charged me. .. still waiting! DONT CHARGE, PAY CASH. .............and the m oral of this story, NEVER, EVER, TAKE ONE'S WORD.... I haven't learned learned that lesson, but you can. Hence, make sure the front desk is charging for the exact day.s. I wonder if they are pocketing the extra charges?!!!! Hummmm

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Punta Maracayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Maracayo

Address: Road #2 Km. 84.6, Hatillo, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Hatillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hatillo
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer exquisite decorated rooms with free service of Dish Network and WiFi internet from the tranquility of your bed or any area of the hotel including the pool area. Excellent service with our Pool Open 24hrs,access to the beach in a walking distance. Restaurant with Room Service, Gazebo with Breakfast, coffee and Pina Colada in fresh air on the pool area. We offer Spa service in the room or we can arrange a free pick up to the Spa Salon. We have a Gym and a Beauty Salon.Free access to Punta Maracayo Camping on available hours. We are in a distance of 5 minutes or less to Malls, Farmacies, Fast Foods, our Sports Complex and the town of Hatillo.Once at Punta Maracayo Resort you enter another world of Peace and Serenity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Punta Maracayo Hotel Hatillo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Maracayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.