We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gardesana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gardesana to your Saves list
Hotel Gardesana
Piazza Calderini, 5, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel overnight a few years ago we have been trying to return and finally managed to arrange a stay with a group of friends. Shortly after my arrival,however, I was taken ill and a doctor was called. I cannot praise too highly the attention and kindness shown by the receptionist, the lady in charge of breakfast in the dining room and the maid.

Any hotel worth its salt can provide good care when all is well but it is when things go wrong that the true calibre of the staff etc shows. They provided my father and sister, who live nearby and who had come to see me, with complimentary refreshments and allowed me to stay in the room until I was due to leave for the airport at no extra charge.

The hotel it self is in a fabulous location overlooking the harbour and the lake and near the "lanes " of the town itself with great restaurants and shops. There are two restaurants at the hotel, one on the first floor with great views from the veranda . However this is closed on a Monday so my friends ate at the other restaurant on the ground floor and all enjoyed and praised the food.

I would recommend this family hotel very highly and can not wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    41
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Good.......Great location, nice, clean hotel
The Bad........No A/C as advertised, when I asked to have it turned on I was told it was turned off for the season ( this was September!) although I was still charged an in-season rate. I was told to open my window. However, if you open the window you get to listen to the noise from the outdoor restaurant or the live music which plays until 11PM. Next time I will seek a quieter location where the management is more attentive to a basic need of having a quiet, non-stuffy place to sleep. There are a number of other 3 star hotels in the area that will meet this need.

Room Tip: unfortunately all of the rooms with a view will expose you to noise from restaurants or music
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The excellent service started several days before our stay. I had read about Gardesana in the newspaper months before and when my wife suggested visiting Milan and Verona I suggested a few days on Lake Garda too. Unfortunately either due to availability or operator error I booked us into Hotel Galvani instead. When I realised my error I booked our last night in Italy at Gardesana, returning there from our two days in Milan. Whilst at Hotel Galvani we visited Gardesana and they kindly agreed to look after one of our bags whilst we were in Milan and booked a taxi to the airport for the morning of our departure.
When we arrived at the hotel from Milan we certainly were not disappointed. Our room was much larger than any previous hotel room, the wifi worked perfectly and was simplicity itself to access. The view of the lake and harbour was spectacular. Actually it's rather hard to choose which is most spectacular, the view from the hotel or the view of the hotel. Whether drinking wine on the terrace or dining on the first floor restaurant balcony you feel you are in a very special, timeless place. We will be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Everything lived up to our expectations the view from our balcony room at the front was wonderful and we enjoyed being close to village life while being fairly quiet in this idyllic little corner overlooking the old harbour and castle. There was dancing outside in the café area on our first evening , it was quite wonderful to watch the Italians show off their ballroom skills with couples joining in as they passed by! The market winding its way all around the harbour on Monday morning was quite the best I have seen Breakfast on the terrace looking out over the lake was a great way to start the day and although rather expensive the food served from there in the evening was a delight! We also had a very good meal in their other restaurant next door and the staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English as well as other languages I suspect! The reception staff were very helpful and Emma especially when I made the booking with advise on transfers from the airport. A very special place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have the view and the best ones with balcony only seem to be available when b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A beautiful place with great location, Staff very helpful and Spoke English, Italian as well, The hotel is right on the Lake,and boat basin, everything was within walking distance. Close to shopping and dinning as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoforte
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night only around mid-August 2013. The location is beautiful, a wonderful corner of the village right on the lake. The staff was very helpful, especially at my arrival, which was very late. The breakfast is served in a beautiful terrace, always overlooking the lake. Food and drinks at the breakfast were ok, not something i would define amazing but certainly not behind what i was expecting. The room was also okay, nothing special in the furniture or the bathroom decoration, but the view i guess was paying for it, as it was really nice. A parking is available at some 100 yards from the hotel and the village itself is very nice to explore. I did not eat there so cannot judge the restaurant. Maybe there are a number of hotels that would fare similarly but i guess the location can hardly be better than what offered by Gardesana.

Room Tip: I would take a room with a lake-view....otherwise...why would one come here?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Highly recommend this excellent restaurant. Food was fantastic and wine menu was excellent.
Our waiter Miro and his staff offer customers outstanding customer service, the location is ideallic for couples and families
10 out of 10
Thanks Miro for a wonderful dining experience

The Farquharsons from Scotland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gardesana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardesana

Address: Piazza Calderini, 5, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, WINTRADE S.R.L., WINTRADE S.R.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gardesana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardesana Hotel Torri Del Benaco
Hotel Gardesana Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gardesana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.