We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation
Save
You added Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation to your Saves list
Mar de Jade #1, Chacala 63715, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
1 review
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It is a fantastic place. I'm sitting at my desk wishing I was still there. I keep playing the videos we took of the waves crashing on the beach and the sun setting over the ocean horizon. We have a quote at the yoga studio where I teach "How beautiful it is to do nothing and rest afterwards." That was definitely the theme of our week settling into the hot tub at the end of each day spent swimming and walking along the beach, passing luxurious hours swinging on the hammock engrossed in a good novel. In some ways, I want to keep this place secret for fear it will become overrun with drunk tourists, but I think it's a place that will naturally attract mindful travelers looking for a place to unwind, meditate, do some yoga, and eat great food. Happy travels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    17
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
36
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Mar de Jade was fantastic, we didn't want for anything! The facilities are beautiful, perfect mix of rustic and luxury. The staff is so happy, and truly enjoy making your stay as perfect as possible, they feel like your friends! The food is awesome, the facility is so special, the yoga studio we used on the ground floor is gorgeous, and if you're thinking of going - GO! I look forward to my next visit, I will definitely be going back. For now, I look forward to going through my photos and making my memory book! Thank you for a week of pure joy!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Mar de Jade is set in the ocean-front jungle of Chacala - about an hour and a half north of Puerto Vallarta. We went for a week-long yoga retreat from Feb 23 to Mar 2 - that's why we were able to go whale-spotting in a small motorboat and see several pods - really a thrill!
The resort itself is a lovely, peaceful, small haven, with gorgeous sunset views over the Pacific and welcoming, warm staff who were willing to do anything from preparing a special meal to helping my daughter with homeopathic medicine for a bee sting. The food was delicious - much of it coming from the resort's own organic farm...and my personal favorite - black beans and hand-made tortillas at each meal! Vegetarian (if not vegan) options at each meal -- and thoughtful presentation of balanced nutrition.
Our room was comfortable (though the shower leaked) - and you do need to be able to climb steps to get to most of the rooms. This is a place to visit when you want quiet, beautiful surroundings and soul-soothing options - a wonderful yoga teacher, AnyaDevi, was in residence while we were there - and the spa treatments are an extra treat.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Everyone and everything at Mar De Jade lends to a mellow stay.Quiet and peaceful at the pool,beach or in the rooms. The food is local organic and delicious.if you want a relaxing recharge vacation this place is perfect.
But you can fish, whale watch or hike to the dormant volcano if you need a break from the R&R!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent a week at an educational retreat and found that it was incredibly well suited to be in a nourishing and nurturing setting aesthetically, as well as personally. The staff is very competent warm and helpful. The rooms simple but very clean and tastefully decorated. The organic food plentiful and delicious. Having a ocean right there to swim or take a walk on the beach was such a constant reminder of being away from the stresses and strains of daily life. Safe and secure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Mar de Jade twice and will be returning in November. Mar de Jade is truly a gem in a setting out of paradise.

Fabulous food, excellent accommodations, and service from a staff that is attentive while not be being intrusive.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, the garden suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've traveled for the better part of the last 30 years and stayed in some truly exceptional properties....but nothing prepared me for this. Beautiful location, wonderful staff, health restoring food, juice, yoga classes etc..... I'm already planning my next trip back. If truly laid back, comfortable stress free is your vacationing vibe - then this is your place and you should hurry to try and get a reservation. Also - while I ordinarily like to avoid meeting folks on vacation....I've met 3 like minded folks on this trip that I'm sure will remain friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
10.1 mi away
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 769 reviews
9.4 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#11 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
9.7 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#15 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 3 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
24.5 mi away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#3 of 8 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#6 of 8 in Sayulita
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

Address: Mar de Jade #1, Chacala 63715, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar de Jade (Sea of Jade) is a Retreat, Wellness and Vacation Center hidden away between the tropical jungle and the pristine sandy beach of Chacala, Mexico. This is an open home that offers wellness vacations, transformative retreats, healing Spa treatments, romantic weddings and getaways, and volunteering and learning programs with the local community. "A place to awaken, nurture & share the best within us..." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar De Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation Hotel Chacala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.