We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderfully beautiful and peaceful resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation
Save Saved
You added Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation to your Saves list
Mar de Jade #1, Chacala 63715, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Chacala
San Rafael, California
1 review
“This is a wonderfully beautiful and peaceful resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent a week at an educational retreat and found that it was incredibly well suited to be in a nourishing and nurturing setting aesthetically, as well as personally. The staff is very competent warm and helpful. The rooms simple but very clean and tastefully decorated. The organic food plentiful and delicious. Having a ocean right there to swim or take a walk on the beach was such a constant reminder of being away from the stresses and strains of daily life. Safe and secure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
31
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Mar de Jade twice and will be returning in November. Mar de Jade is truly a gem in a setting out of paradise.

Fabulous food, excellent accommodations, and service from a staff that is attentive while not be being intrusive.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, the garden suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've traveled for the better part of the last 30 years and stayed in some truly exceptional properties....but nothing prepared me for this. Beautiful location, wonderful staff, health restoring food, juice, yoga classes etc..... I'm already planning my next trip back. If truly laid back, comfortable stress free is your vacationing vibe - then this is your place and you should hurry to try and get a reservation. Also - while I ordinarily like to avoid meeting folks on vacation....I've met 3 like minded folks on this trip that I'm sure will remain friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our women's yoga group of 8 just spent a week at Mar de Jade. All of us are experienced travellers and we have been to quite a few retreats. Mar de Jade tops them all. The beautiful uncrowded beach, peaceful surroundings and lovely accommodations impressed us very much, but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was even more amazing. "Dr. Laura" has done a fantastic job with the place and the people she employs. The food was superb - a very generous buffet every day with great variety, all very healthy, and - yes - there was meat too. Wonderful fresh vegetables, juices, soups and fruit. There are beautiful yoga and meeting rooms overlooking the ocean - couldn't think of a more restful place.
Ellen S

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was my second stay at Mar de Jade. It's a lovely spot, and the staff is extremely helpful and personable. The resort funds a day care center in a nearby town, and runs its own organic farm. The food is delicious, although definitely tilted toward the veggie crowd. Our retreat was great and I look forward to the next visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I went to Mar de Jade for the first time in Feb. 2012 for a woman's retreat and was so impressed by the ambiance and spirit of the place that I returned with my husband just 10 months later to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Mar de Jade is unspoiled, thoughtfully laid out and designed. ... a true escape from the hectic pace of daily life. Tasty healthy food served in a family friendly atmosphere. Plenty to do and see as well as support for quiet, meditation, yoga and pampering if needed. Highly recommended for singles, couples and families in need of a restful, relaxing, restorative vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in early January for a few days. We're a young couple from Mexico who wanted to experience a more relaxed, not-so-busy vacation at the beach. We had a great experience thanks to Dr. Laura, her staff and the amazing location of this little jewel.

Chacala is a tiny town, just a few blocks from this hotel, also at the beach. The people are friendly and always willing to help. We had the opportunity to book a tour to see the whales, what a great experience that was!

The food at the hotel is generally organically grown, always local and deliciously healthy. We took advantage of the daily yoga sessions, as well as massages at the hidden Spa. It was wonderful, we felt renovated and relaxed.

This is not a typical hotel, it's family friendly, spiritual and health conscious, and by no means loud or 'touristy'. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

Address: Mar de Jade #1, Chacala 63715, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar de Jade (Sea of Jade) is a Retreat, Wellness and Vacation Center hidden away between the tropical jungle and the pristine sandy beach of Chacala, Mexico. This is an open home that offers wellness vacations, transformative retreats, healing Spa treatments, romantic weddings and getaways, and volunteering and learning programs with the local community. "A place to awaken, nurture & share the best within us..." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar De Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation Hotel Chacala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.