We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Had Such Attentive Service Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5858 Taihu Road, Huzhou 313000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Huzhou
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never Had Such Attentive Service Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

- Fantastic Service

We went for our honeymoon and this was made known. The hotel went way out to make it special by briefing their staffs about us! Everyone knew is by name (I really mean everyone - from the waiting staff at the breakfast lounge to the SPA staff and even the concierge)! It was really unexpected! Communication between different departments also seem to be very streamlined with our questions about food and travel being passed from say, the restaurant to the concierge!

I just can't say enough about the service! Even the cleaning lady whom we met briefly in our room greeted us and wished us well with such warmth! Ella at the restaurant made a request to the band to come sing us a special song :) Victor at the concierge was more like a personal butler, who not only called the taxi, he even checked train and bus times in advance for us. Jason at the restaurant changed the fresh juice display as he observed that it was a bit of a task putting the glass jug back in place (I did not complain!). The most attentive of all was Fiona. =)

- The Hotel: Exterior

What a grand building! It's gorgeous in every aspect - front view, side view, you name it. But perhaps that's because I like unique buildings! Pity the hot spring resorts are not ready yet. :( The other 5 restaurants are opening after Spring Festival in February. Should be interesting!

The fishing boats on the lake add to the view and I was pleasantly surprised at how well lit the surrounding area is at night. The restaurant street on the side of the hotel is nice! We were a bit worried about the food quality but we had a fantastic dinner at one of the restaurants we picked at random. Got to try 2 out of the 3 Taihu treasures. Didn't quite like the fish and didn't get to try the prawns..

- The Hotel: Interior

LOVE the Swarovski and the marbles! Just love love loved it!

The wool carpet in the room was so comfortable we didn't wear slippers. The bathtub was the most generous and deepest one I've been in. The automated toilet with a portable handheld control was a luxury! The ipad control was a nice touch too. Loved the room!

- Food

We only got to try Feast so my comments are only limited to them. We went for the weekend buffet dinner where there was free flow of drinks (including beer) and lobster (not free flow understandably! lol) Yum! Spread was fantastic and the cooked Chinese food is awesome.

Love the fresh juices for the breakfast, the cheese spread was really nice.

Thank you Sheraton and Fiona for making it such a memorable honeymoon!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Huzhou, Management at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort ! We highly appreciate you for sharing your great stay experience on tripadvisor community and we have shared your feedback with all our associates, they are highly motivated by your kind words. It is our pride to deliver a memorable honeymoon experience to you and your husband. We are very glad to invite you to experience the upcoming Mystic SPA and hot spring which is themed in interior design, equipment features and therapy, from the moment guest enters, the whole journey will begin. The other new opening restaurants- Sichuan Hotpot with Kaiseki treats paired with the Taihu Lake views on the 23th top culinary floor at the “Ring of Happiness”. Hope there will be another opportunity to meet you in Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance in any future travel requests or to simply stay in touch. Thank you again for taking time to write this review and our team look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another memorable experience in the near future.
Happy year of Horse!

Warm Regards,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
7
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel looks like a multi coloured doughnut at night with lights changing colour every few seconds. The lobby is a vast arena of shining marble with thousands of crystals suspended from the ceiling - quite a sight! Our rooms were overlooking the lake and the colourful small shops and restaurants on the shore. Chinese fishing junks loomed out of the misty waters and when I asked the manager when did they go out fishing as they never seemed are move he said "Oh no they are purely there for decoration, they would probably sink if they tried to sail"!
Our first surprise was the toilet - the seat was wonderfully warm! However, when I recommended to my husband that he tried it within seconds he let out a piercing yell as he was almost blasted off his perch by a jet of water! The panel of instructions was impossible to understand - no written instructions just arrows and stick like diagrams. The lights seemed unnecessarily complicated and heating did not respond at all to the mini iPad which was supposed to control everything. The room was chilly and even juggling the various hieroglyph buttons on the wall did not help. This design is a clone of a similar hotel in Abu Dhabi and we wonder whether the different climates have been taken into account.
We were personally greeted when we arrived and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were always welcomed in the restaurant and the food was good.
This hotel is certainly a great experience but why are heating, lighting and toilets so complicated?Worth a visit but perhaps trying too hard for style over substance, other more homely and more conventional hotels may not have such an initial "Wow" factor but can make for a more comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Huzhou, Management at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort. We thank you and really appreciate you taking the time to give us valuable feedback. Your comments assist us to identify areas for improvement to provide better service to our guests. Your praise of our associates friendly and attentive attitude have also been shared with the relevant departments.

Recently we have rectified the heating issue in the room, and this is continuously being monitored to avoid re-occurrence. Our guest rooms are all equipped with high-tech facilities which can lead guests to a unique experience, detailed instructions for the use of sanitary equipment are behind the hand held control device that can be removed from the handle, our guest service agent are available to assist should these facilities present any usage problems.

Our resort entire lobby floor is Afghan White Jade and adorned with Tiger’s Eye from Brazil, the porticos and ceiling are inlaid with Citrine, from which 200,000 strands of Swarovski crystal are suspended, creating a magnificent scene that resembles a sparkling rolling wave, hope this information helps to highlight our resort design. The external environment as mentioned is also quite a sight, the Chinese fishing junks are owned by Huzhou Tourism Bureau, and their purpose is to take visitors out for fishing trip, however, equipment are not complete yet hence these junks will be used as for it’s original intention at a later date.

We hope to welcome you back soon, please inform us and the team at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort will strive to further exceed your expectation.

Warm Regards,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I like to extent my warm gratitude to this Hotel and their team for my outstanding 3 nights' stay back in summer 2013. This is a very nice resort hotel by the side of the tranquil Lake Tai. However, what made my stay most memorable is the high standard of professional service that came with lots of heart and loving tender care. I received very personalized attention that made me felt like a VVIP in my own 5 star home. The food and beverage experience was world class. All 3 outlets (Feast, Yue and the Lobby Lounge) excelled in its own specialization. Yue's Master chef Stanley Yuen served up outstanding authentic Cantonese cuisine but blending with some of the freshest "lake-food" from Lake Tai. Breakfast at Feast was an eye opener, I had rarely come across such an extensive international and local breakfast buffet spread. However, each item was done to perfection and uses very good imported and local ingredients. Unlike many of the hotels that rushes to close its breakfast buffet even before the closing time, this hotel offers breakfast till the last customer finish their breakfast with no rush. The pastry at the Lobby Lounge high tea was as good as the one I tried at Mandarin Oriental Bangkok and Peninsular Hong Kong. I was told they have a french pastry chef. The lounge provides a very wide range of international and local liquor that is rare in this remotely located hotel. This shows the intention to make both local and international client feel at home in this lovely property. The suite I stayed was spacious, modern and had a wonderful lake view. There were a couple of areas that need improvement: 1. The underground passage between the main tower and the adjacent tower had an suffocating smell of damp. Something needs to be done to the ventilation or facility. 2. The public areas were extensively decorated with some very cheap looking chandelier-like lightnings. It significantly lower the visual comfort and ambient of this hotel. All in all, this was one of my most outstanding experience in a resort hotel. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona_Xiang, Resort Management at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort. We thank you and really appreciate you in taking the time to give us valuable feedback. Your comments assist us to identify areas for improvement to provide better service to our guests. Your generous praises have also been shared with the relevant departments. Recently we have rectified the ventilation issue at the underground passage, and this is continuously being monitored to avoid re-occurrence.
The Resort’s porticos and ceiling are inlaid with Citrine, from which 200,000 strands of Swarovski crystal are suspended, creating a magnificent scene that resembles a sparkling rolling wave. Varieties of Swarovski crystals are also meticulously arranged to decorate the ceilings of all lift landings in the Jade and Crystal Towers, hence one of the resort tower is named Crystal Tower. Hope this information help to highlight our resort design. We look forward to your next stay and please inform us and the team at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort will continue to exceed your expectation.

Warm Regards,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went to this hotel for a work event, and have the following conclusions:

Pros:
1) The service is great, and they're looking to please guests
2) The F&B is up to Sheraton standard (ate at Feast for dinner and breakfast)

Cons:
1) Like many hotels in China, public area air circulation is next to nonexistent
2) Room access is tricky- you have to go down an escalator and take several people-movers to get to the elevators. It's like transiting through Chicago O'Hare. I am told this will change once the hotel is fully opened (including lounge, etc.)
3) The room lightswitches are futuristic but difficult to figure out

All told, I'd stay at this hotel again if I were in Huzhou. For the time being, however, I can't give 5/5.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona_Xiang, Manager at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for choosing Sheraton Huzou Hot Spring Resort for your recent stay in Huzhou and taking time to write review on line.We are delighted to know you had a good experience with our service and food & beverage. In the meanwhile,we would like to advise that the guest rooms are all equipped with high-tech controlling system - the mini-Ipad which can easily make the lights, curtain, air-conditioning,service under your control. The ring shape of the building which is also a unique experience for our guest. We will endeavor to improve every aspect to make our guest feel great during the stay with us. It will be our pleasure to have another chance to serve you again and hope our performance can get 5/5 during your next visit in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived by train from Shanghai to Huzhou and asked for a pick up service as we have experienced quite different issues of transportation in China additionally is to mention that the train station is quite far away from the city or from the hotel.. The hotel from the outside looks perfect as well as impressive, but as soon as we entered, we did not figure out the design background of the interior. Somehow there is a mix of different stones, but the floor does not match the walls, and and and. Therefore the interior design of the hotel we did not like so much. Also to mention, the hotel is open since last November, but still the restaurants on the top floor as well as the completed SPA area are not open yet, and therefore the price does not at all fit the offer. The rooms are clean and ok, but what we missed are some welcome fruits which we normally have also in a hotel which is less pricy. The surrounding area is nice and good for some walks, but be not surprised to see ‘fake’ palms along the walk path. Cannot understand why they used fake palms, because those look already old and disrupted from the wind. During the night, the arch shines in different colors which brings a lot of tourists and makes the promenade active, but expect not a lot of restaurants or shops, there is almost nothing. The checkout is not so smooth and needs several minutes and it shows that the hotel stuff needs some training. Overall, the stay was ok but once again to mention the price is for the value fully ‘not’ ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona_Xiang, Manager at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with the Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort and sharing with us your valuable comments. We feel sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay with us. Resort is located in the south bank of Taihu Lake and is part of Tai Hu Lake Tourist Resort District with picturesque views that you never missed. The interior design of Sheraton Huzhou incorporates an exquisite array of jades to produce an eye-catching and luxurious environment. Jades are an important symbol of elegance and pureness in Chinese culture and Chinese people believe that these precious jewels can help promote physical health and maintain mental balance. You can also indulge in the Sheraton SPA which is under the water link to pamper yourself and let your thoughts float away during the therapy. The planting in the resort area was all natural and rare varieties which can make you get far away from the busy city life. There are also many restaurants beside the resort that you can just 5 minutes to get there. Please believe that the surroundings will be improved and definitely show our guest a very memorable place to enjoy the relaxation life. We look forward to re-connecting with you soon.

Best Regards,

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The best bit of this hotel is the outside - it's stunning with it's moving light show and unique design in a magical location on the side of Lake Taihu. However it is very expensive to stay here - approx. double the price of the 5 star hotel I stayed in nearby Hangzhou.
The public areas are very pleasant. It even has a moving walkway under the lake to get to the rooms on the far side. The staff are fantastic and love to help.
The room is great too. I had a view over the lake, and the balcony is large. I did wonder if I could dive into the swimming pool nine floors below but decided against it. The toilet is a super deluxe model with scooshers to scoosh places that make you say ooh! The seat is heated as well. The bath has a TV. The lights and curtains etc can be controlled by an ipad in the room.

On the down side, I was really miffed (on principal) to have to pay £3 a day for internet - COME ON! I paid £200 for the room - surely the internet should be free. This is the ONLY hotel I stayed in this trip where Wifi wasn't included.

The best bit - Walking over the bridge to the nearby restaurants in the evening and taking loads of wonderful photographs.

Room Tip: Views over the lake are probably the best. Just make sure you go for a walk in the evening when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona_Xiang, Manager at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed the resort, our friendly service, stunning views and facilities. With regards to the internet we encourage you to enroll in our SPG program if you are not already our Starwood Preferred Guest, which will give you more benefits when you stay with any Starwood Hotels and Resorts properties. WIFI in our public areas are complimentary, please do remember to make the most of it during your next visit.

Again, thank you for your kind words, it is always our pleasure to be at your service, and we hope to welcome you back to our resort.

Warm Regards,

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our 30th anniversary quiet 'stay-cation' plan at the impressive Sheraton Huzhou was not to be. The imposing arch 'ring' sight as we approached the hotel vicinity was a welcome "wow" and the entire process from arrival at the front entrance, checking in and guided to our room by polite, professional staff was just the beginning of what was going to be a pleasant experience. The room facilities was just high tech, luxury class and as if the front desk had been informed of our anniversary, we were assigned a room with a 'ring-shape' bath..., to add further magic to our special weekend. However, the best was yet to come at dinner....for, F&B director, Ovidiu Nica, upon being made aware of our marital "status", literally "pulled the rabbit out from the hat" and with a click of his fingers, celebrated our anniversary, Sheraton Huzhou style, with complimentary champagne, chef's special dessert (yummy chocolate mousse thingy, taste of which still lingers at the tip of our tongue) & serenaded us to our favorite romantic tune of "Besame Mucho" by the lovely Paraguayan quartet. A truly unforgettable moment indeed....and as an avid photographer, lots of photos of this remarkable architecture to show for an absolutely memorable stay. .....Thanks, Ovidiu & the Sheraton Huzhou team for making our 30th anniversary celebration plans kick off to a wonderful start.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona_Xiang, Manager at Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Alex G,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our team will be happy to know that they’ve made your 30th anniversary even more memorable and we are highly motivated. Thank you for sharing your valuable experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another memorable experience.
Warm Regards,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort

Address: No.5858 Taihu Road, Huzhou 313000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Huzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Huzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort is located on the southern banks of the famed Taihu Lake in Huzhou, Zhejiang Province, China. The ring-shaped architecture of the resort's main building arches dramatically over the water, creating an iconic impression on the landscape. Huzhou's first internationally branded resort features 319 luxuriously furnished guestrooms and villas, China's largest and most sophisticated hot spring spa with 26 indoor hot spring pools, an array of local and international dining facilities, its own wedding island and a private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.