We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamenet's Podolsky Castle

Kamenet's Podolsky Castle
1 Zamkova St, Kamianets-Podilskyi, Ukraine
3849 28295
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Castles, Cultural
Attraction details
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Impressive due to location and historical relevance.
Inside some tourist attractions, it's an old castle not a palace.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for Ukraine only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I agree with previous rewievs: outside it looks better, especially beautiful in the sunset. Inside I expected more. As for facilities like toilet and cafee - they look very "soviet" and both are not good. I recommend to avoid them. Nice illumination in the evening, but we had to wait until full darkness for it to be switched.

I reccomend to visit Khotynsky castle, which is about 30 km from the town. It's totally different - massive and imposive. However, it's not easy to get there: no public transportation, so you should take a taxi or rent a car/bike.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outside it's nicer than inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We've been in the Fortress in May, it's really great view. Although inside there are only some historical places left. There are few souvenir shops, cafe, shooting range. Can not say that I was impressed by this visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best Fortress in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Suppose, Kamianets-Podilskyi Fortress is the best in Europe I have ever seen! (I have seen dozens of them in different countries of Central and Eastern Europe). It came from 14 century, and looks amazing, huge and old, built in beautiful river Smotrych canyon. Kamianets-Podilskyi city worth a lot to visit too. It is full of architecture, history and nature. Some other wonderful places are close enough to visit in one tour - Khotyn fortress and Bakota Bay - unique natural preserve, filling you with great positive energy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“An Impressive Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The first stop should be at the Turkish Bridge both in the morning when the fortress stands out in the sun and at night when it is illuminated by lights. There is a lookout area here which was popular with wedding groups having their photos taken and looking to your right are the spires of one of the Greek Orthodox churches.

The castle dates back to the early 14 th C though there were buildings there earlier. It is situated on top of a narrow neck of land with the river forming a barrier on the other sides. We arrived there early when it opened and it was quite deserted. It looks very commanding and sections of it are being restored and there are several small museums in some of the towers dealing with weapons and showing some of the torture implements they would have used. Some of the signs are in English though possibly a tour guide could have given more background. The towers are connected by passages inside the castle walls.
Some of the stairs are a little steep and there is still a lot of restoration work to be done but when/ if it is finished it would be an outstanding castle/museum to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamenet's Podolsky Castle also viewed

Kamianets-Podilskyi, Khmelnytskyi Oblast
 
Kamianets-Podilskyi, Khmelnytskyi Oblast
Kamianets-Podilskyi, Khmelnytskyi Oblast
 

Been to Kamenet's Podolsky Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamenet's Podolsky Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.