We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience, clever elephants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventures with Elephants

Adventures with Elephants
Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
014 734 7730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Bela Bela
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering way more than the usual “Touch and Feed’ elephant experience, Adventures With Elephants offer unique intimate hands-on educational elephant interactions, elephant-back safaris, swims on elephants, starlight safaris as well as tailor-made events such as weddings, team-building, corporate functions and filming. Info:Adventures With Elephants is an educational elephant interaction facility / venue located on a beautiful 300 hectare wildlife reserve. AWE is situated an hour’s drive north from Pretoria and is a short 35 km from Bela Bela off the R516 on the D1000 adjacent to the Zebula Country Club. Adventures With Elephants is managed by the Hensman family who have been privileged to have lived and worked with elephants since 1988 and as such offer unrivaled elephant experiences.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience, clever elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Fantastic time, very educational and hands on experience. Well run place and obviously well loved elephants.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanElephants, Manager at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Winnie Lindy

A belated thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, We're very happy that you had a great time with us and hope that you still think of us?

Regards

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gentle Giants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Another tick off the bucket list...I recommend this experience as #1 on your to do list. These wise and gentle giants are awe inspiring. The team at "Adventures with Elephants" are offering us an opportunity to learn about nature and these wonderful beings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanElephants, Manager at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sonja

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

Regarding ticking off your Bucket List, we glad that you visited but much more to do here before you can fully tick us off your bucket list! Please visit for the swim.

The most important thing is that you learnt about these wonderful animals and hopefully have a new-found respect for these incredible animals.

Warm Regards

The Adventures With Elephants Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very instructive interaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The interaction with elephants is very instructive. You may touch the elephants, sit on their knees and if you are lucky you will even be kissed by an elephant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanElephants, Manager at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Camilla,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with the Team and hope that you learnt a lot about the elephants and have a new outlook on them. We also hope that you were lucky enough to be kissed by Chishuru!

Warm regards

the Adventures With Elephants Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I really couldn't speak any higher of this great organization. The staff are great, they take great care of the elephants, and the elephants really are a delight to spend time with. I had some scheduling issues due to work I was doing in Africa and the staff, Dorette and Sean in particular, REALLY helped me out. I talked with them about it ahead of time, and they were great about communicating with me before I left and once I was on the continent. Sugar was our Guide. He is so good with the elephants (you can tell he really cares) and he's full of fascinating information. He taught us SO much! We got the pleasure of riding Chova. He's HUGE! Between the interaction, learning so much about them, loving on them a bit, and the ride, Adventures with Elephants really does a top notch job. I could not recommend them any higher than I do. And I am grateful that they helped me with my schedule so that I could have this experience of a lifetime. It really meant the world to me.

Only one recommendation: DO NOT use a GPS to get to their location. It will take you off of the interstate WAY sooner than necessary causing your travel time to be at least 30 min longer that it should be. Get online and create and print directions before you go. Do not depend on your GPS.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanElephants, Manager at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Carley

Thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We very happy that we could assist you before you flew out to Africa, we know its terrible to land somewhere strange with no support.

We are also really glad that you enjoyed our elephants, staff and the general atmosphere of the place. It's nice to know that people take time to comment about our dedicated team and the hard work that goes into caring for these gentle giants, we are also glad you learnt so much about elephant its exactly what we hope for here.

Regarding the GPS - I don't know how to change ones mind but we will try our best to send people written directions as well in the future.

Once again, thank you for your review and for visiting us we are so happy that you enjoyed.

Warm Regards

The Adventures With Elephants Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spend the time and money, even if you prefer "wild" experiences.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

prefer seeing animals in the wild, so was skeptical about this trip when my college kids insisted. I ended up taking several groups there....and it was worth the time and money. This is a family run affair and they actually care about the animals in their care. You get a lot of interaction with the animals. Spend the money to do the ride. And then don't rush off...we stayed, drank tea, watched the elephants play in the watering hole. They let you take all sorts of photos. The entire staff is very personable/ They have set canned speeches for the primary interaction, so be sure to ask your 'real" questions...they have lots of stories to tell!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanElephants, Manager at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Kaycie

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor, we too preffer animals in the wild but hope that we can enhance peoples understanding and enhance their respect for them once they have met an elephant, next time you're in Kruger you'll know how amazing they really are.

Thank you for your support in sending out many groups, we really really appreciate it. And as for the questions, please fire away we are only to happy to pass on our knowledge!

Warm Regards

The Adventures With Elephants Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures with Elephants also viewed

 
Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Adventures with Elephants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventures with Elephants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.