We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUNCTIONAL ROOMS DONT EAT HERE.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport to your Saves list
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Al Campo, 99, 21010 Cardano al Campo, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Offer
speyside
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“FUNCTIONAL ROOMS DONT EAT HERE.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We took and executive room...which is supposed to provide robes and slippers...etc..they dont have any. The bathrooms are great but the room is cramped. Internet forget it. We stayed at the beginning and end of our holiday and problems both times. We were dreading our return stay !! We ate in the restaurant on arrival....and very expensive and not good. We had to wait over an hour for a plate of pasta!
The hotel is completely understaffed...in the morning it was a problem to have a coffee in the cafe!
Our room had others rubbish in the bins! the sofa bed had not been prepared and the staff had a completely -dont care attitude!
There doesnt seem to be much choice around. We stayed here as we are gold ( and were platinum ) members of the A club hotels scheme.
There is a good pizzeria within walking distance of the hotel which is rustic great prices and authentic. Worth a visit and made our return stay far more enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malpensa07, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am really sorry that your stay in our hotel was not as pleasant as you expected.
I can assure making Guests feel like home in the best possible comfort is always one of our top priorities.

I remain at your complete disposal should you want to contact us and help us investigate what happened during your stay.

Best regards,

Guest Relation Manager
Novotel Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    335
    130
    34
    26
See reviews for
238
188
86
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good hotel with very good service, rooms and decent (basic) restaurant.
The breakfast spread is good and the hotel also has a basic gym. Airport shuttle is very convenient and efficient. All-in-all a good business hotel if you dont want to travel very far from the airport and have business nearby.
Not very great for families as there is virtually nothing around this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malpensa07, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your opinion and for your high rating.
I am happy to see that your overall evaluation of the stay is very positive.

I hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Guest Relation Manager
Novotel Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel was perfectly fine, however, when traveling internationally good reliable wireless internet access is CRUCIAL, but apparently this isn't a shared feeling with the staff. I was there for two days and each morning the internet was down for several hours at a time. The staff didn't treat this as an important issue. Therefore if you need good reliable internet access, dont stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malpensa07, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your post and for your positive comment on our structure.
I really apologize if you were not able to use our free wi-fi internet service but we recently had some problems due to technical issues not depending from us.
I guarantee we are currently reducing this kind of discomforts at a minimun level and are currently working to implement soon a newer and even faster service for our Guests.

I hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Guest Relation Manager
Novotel Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Overall, this is a standard European Novotel as you would expect it: clean, practical, and well laid out. This property is about 50km (35 miles) from downtown Milan but only 5km (3 miles) from the airport (MXP - make sure to double-check your itinerary because Milan has another airport named Linate, LIN, and in some cases even Bergamo, BGY, is listed as one of the city's airports!), so it appeals predominantly to transit passengers. Despite the fact that Milan is quite a distance away, take note that the airport has a train station from where a 15 EUR return ticket will take you into town and back within apprx. 50min each way. Trains seem to leave two to four times an hour, so if - like us - you have extended time, visiting Milan is easy and convenient.

Our room was quiet, well-heated and of average size. The restaurant seems okay, as far as we could judge by just having had a pasta and a glass of wine. The bar - where we waited for the restaurant to open at 19:00h - seemed blissfully unaware of potential business and did not approach us for 20-25 minutes. We would gladly have had a glass of wine or two, but if the staff is nowhere to be seen that also tells you something about the level of motivation… (On a side note: the bar is also where you go to get ice; room service told us they wouldn't send an ice bucket to the room.)

We chose this hotel for a one-night stay between flights, involving a planned 24h layover. So ease of airport/train station access was essential, and this is exactly where the hotel was most disappointing:

After having read in earlier TripAdvisor reviews that some travelers found it hard to find the Novotel shuttle we paid great attention to this and were informed via email correspondence with the hotel that the bus would leave twice an hour (quarter past the hour and quarter to) from the arrivals level at T1, door seven. We arrived in the morning, went for the 8:45h shuttle and everything worked like clockwork. A friendly driver, the bus clearly labeled and everything went without a hitch.

After our check-in we took the 9:30h bus back to the airport to catch the train into town. Surprisingly, the driver (a different person from the one who had picked us up) was typing on his mobile phone while driving and we did not feel particularly safe.

In the afternoon, we returned in time to catch the 15:45h shuttle and waited where we had been waiting earlier in the day. Unfortunately, we only saw the shuttle drive by in an outer lane and the driver did not recognise us, since he had taken a left turn just before entering the bus bay area.

We resisted the temptation to take a taxi and waited for another half hour. To be safe, we moved about 70m up the road to the bus bay entrance, so that we could flag down the shuttle regardless of which way the driver would be taking. This turned out to be a good idea since - again - the shuttle would not have stopped where we had found it in the morning.

Much to our surprise the afternoon shuttle then stopped at door 10 before proceeding to T2, both of which hadn't been the case in the morning.

When we arrived at the hotel we brought up our disappointment and confusion with the Manager on Duty, a friendly gentleman who introduced himself as Diego. He apologized for the confusion and mentioned that this was a "new situation that had come up recently" - apparently the smaller car used in the afternoon has no permit to stop at the bus bays and therefore the pick-up regime changes between 12:00h and 17:00h.

We suggested that clearer instructions be put on the hotel website, and Diego mentioned that they were in the process of doing this, but they had no access to the site and a request was already pending with the HQ in France to make sure the information was updated online. With Accor seemingly being a rather organized Group, I find this surprising because who would delay a simple task that helps keep customers happy?

In our case, if we had to stay at Malpensa again under similar circumstances, we would choose the Sheraton. It is right on top of the airport train station and in convenient walking distance from T1. And as it turns out the rate for our dates would have been more or less the same. Plus it would have saved us at least 90 minutes in transfers and/or waiting time…

If this review has been useful for you, please indicate this by clicking the respective icon. Thank you and happy travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel just had a real cold feeling to it, and while the hotel staff was extremely nice the empty feeling of the hotel just did not present a nice atmosphere. Great for a one night stay, if you have kids or for business purposes, but if you are aiming to visit Milano for a couple of days you'd be better off finding something closer to the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop off on the long drive from southern Italy to Scotland. It was to the standard we expected, spacious room with tea and coffee facilities, mini bar and safe. A surprisingly large bathroom and a comfortable bed. Dinner in the restaurant was pretty average but easy and breakfast good. We got what we needed at a great price, no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Al Campo, 99, 21010 Cardano al Campo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Cardano al Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Cardano al Campo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Milan Malpensa Airport is a modern 4 star hotel with 208 rooms, just a few minutes from Terminals 1 and 2 of Milano Malpensa Airport, 35 km from the Exhibition Centre and 40 km from the centre of Milan. Free scheduled shuttle bus to and fromthe airport. Ideal for business trips, with a Convention Centre offering 6 meeting rooms (240 guests), business corner and WiFi. It features family rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé (open 24 hrs), bar, gym, garden, outdoor pool and garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel Cardano Al Campo
Cardano Al Campo Novotel
Novotel Cardano Al Campo
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport Italy/Cardano Al Campo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.