We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nel buco del mulo

Nel buco del mulo
Via al Campo, 116, 21010 Cardano al Campo, Italy
+39 03 31261228
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant nestled in the Ticino Park offers more than just a beautiful location with typical Italian classic cuisine. It ranges from the Florentine steaks to grill fish and to finish the pizza. Great place for evening with live music , romantic dinners with the right atmosphere , and perfect for children ,lots of open spaces without danger
oxford, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“The only place in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

I came down here for dinner whilst staying at one of the nearby hotels. You do think that you are walking to nowhere, and it is literally in the middle of nowhere.
The staff are efficient and speak good levels of English, and the menu is in both Italian and English. The food is mainly pizza and pasta, but there are other dishes on the menu. Everything was freshly prepared and tasted great. Pizzas were good value at between 6 and 8 euro each. Will happily return next time I'm in the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    46
    44
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Local Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The only placed opened the night be stayed, A delightful outdoor and in the woods not far from our hotel. Great Pizza and other items.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb experience, great food, lovely ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Superb pizzas & tiramisu, lovely ambience amongst the jungle, superb food. highly recommend

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Handy for alternative to airport hotel dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I ate here twice whilst stopping at Novotel (250m along path).
Extensive menu, I ate pasta, risotto, steak and pizza.
Loved the risotto and great (& reasonable) local frizzante house wine.
Not fine dining, but fair quality fare.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was The LOW point of our trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

"Nel buco del mulo" is nicely situated in the woods. My wife and I came in on the last day of our trip, full of expectations, to have lunch.

The waitress spoke broken English, but in all other places we got along fine, so we didn't think much of it. She explained that they are offering a business lunch deal, for €12, which, as we understood, included an opening and an entree. We ordered one meal each.

To be honest, the taste was not remarkable, but we got two "surprises" at the end:
1. They charged us, not €12 for the meal, but €12 for each course !!! with the drinks and all, it amounted to over €60.
2. When we asked for deserts, they said the kitchen was "already closed" (they never warned us about it!)

All-in-all, we had a pretty disappointing experience, and i would advise people to stay clear of "Nel buco del mulo".

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nel buco del mulo also viewed

Cardano al Campo, Province of Varese
Cardano al Campo, Province of Varese
 
Cardano al Campo, Province of Varese
Cardano al Campo, Province of Varese
 

Been to Nel buco del mulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nel buco del mulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.