We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai and Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kin Kao Thai Restaurant & take away Robina

Kin Kao Thai Restaurant & take away Robina
217 Ron Penhaligon Way, Robina, Queensland 4226, Australia (Formerly Kin Kao Thai)
0755789959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 73 Restaurants in Robina
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai and Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wife and I have just returned from Kin Kao Thai and must say that this BYO deserves every award it has been given. From the moment we walked in the door the service was excellent - Jamie our waitress greeted us with a big smile and seated us at our table. Complimentary rice crackers and chilled water allowed us time to peruse the substantial but well organised menu.

We both had Money Bags for an entree and they were cooked to perfection and extremely tasty. We shared two mains - the Gang Massaman Curry with lamb and a chicken with yellow curry and both were excellent. Portion sizes were generous and neither of us had room for dessert.

All in all a very satisfying and enjoyable dining experience - we will certainly be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OMG - You must go here - Bestest Eva Thai on the coast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Just came back from a very satisfying meal. Hubby had the Bugs in a curry sauce, was super yummy. I had the Pad Thai and that was super nice, but it did need just a tad of the chilli they give to you on the table to just give it that extra spicy flavour...( if you like it hot like I do ) -
Its a wednesday evening and its packed by the locals and being tucked away as it is, you can be assured its not surviving on the tourist dollar. Superb and friendly staff. Free and easy parking. I have been to just about every thai restaurant in surfers and broadbeach - these guys KICK them to the kerb. I will be going back for sure.. So good we even got take away for 2mrw night too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best thai on the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This would have to be the best kept secret on the coast. The food is absolutely beautiful always. John and his staff are excellent. This little restaurant is in our local shops and we eat there or get take away at least once a fortnight. Always fresh and very reasonably priced. Keep up the good work guys

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The best little Thai on the GOld Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We eat here at least once a fortnight and I must say it's our favorite Gold Coast restaurant. All the dishes are authentic Thai and you can see why they keep winning awards. John the owner is on the floor and his wife is in the kitchen. We've been dining here for at least 10 years now and my husband has the Fish Fillets with Chilli Sauce EVERY time. It's lightly battered grilled fish, served in a sticky honey & spicy chilli sauce. It's truly divine! I like the Chicken in Chilli Basil sauce, and the Beef in Garlic Pepper sauce. The curry's are great also (house specialty is the Jungle Curry) and the portions of rice, well if you are not a HUGE eater, just order one portion between two. It's BYO, the prices are really good, we'll keep going here, keep up the good work guys. -:)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great food, service and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Kin Kao is an award-winning restaurant tucked away in a little "arcade" in Robina. It could easily be overlooked due to its location but is well worth making an effort to find it.

The food is excellent and I have many "favourites" ranging from curry puffs, Pad Pong kari, Massaman, seafood laksa to name a few. There are a couple of items on the menu that I am not a fan of but suspect that is due more to my palate and dislike of fish sauce. Portions sizes are generous.

A lunch menu is available at very reasonable prices to eat in or takeaway.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kin Kao Thai Restaurant & take away Robina also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Robina, Gold Coast
 
Mudgeeraba, Gold Coast
 

Been to Kin Kao Thai Restaurant & take away Robina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kin Kao Thai Restaurant & take away Robina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.