We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Riviera Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Riviera Beach Resort to your Saves list
Golden Riviera Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner Golden Four Drive & Toolona Street, Tugun, Queensland 4224, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights last week. Fantastic place to stay. We had a beachfront unit on the top floor and it was extremely spacious, very clean and had everything we could possibly need. The pool is fantastic (heated so it takes the cold sting out of jumping in !) and the grounds are immaculate and very well presented. The managers are wonderful, so very friendly and happy to help with anything you need. The location is superb ! Lovely restaurants/cafes, grocery shop across the road, 20 min drive to Surfers, 10 mins to Coolangatta Restaurants etc. Can't fault the place and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been staying here for years. Rooms are well well proportioned with great outlooks but would definitely go for beach front. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The grounds are immaculate and the pool just fantastic. It is very well positioned being close to parks, restaurants, theme parks, shops and clubs, currumbin sanctuary, surfers etc
Fantastic place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights for a short break. I paid extra to obtain a beachfront unit with a sea view, and I was so pleased I did. The view was awesome of this beautiful quiet beach. I was delighted to see lots of whales from my balcony one morning. The unit is spacious, otherwise nothing special. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: pay up for beach front as the view is divine, this also faces away from the airport so would be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here twice over 2 separate weeks last Christmas break. First stay was mid December to do the parks. Venue was easy to find, well located near local shops. Fish 'n chip shop was very good so too was the nearby supermarket. There is secure parking underneath the resort and the resort grounds were tropical, clean and well looked after. The pool was just lovely. The resort has its own gate onto the beach and it is 100m up to the Tugun SLSC and their patrolled area. The SLSC was lovely for dinner and/or lunch. Reasonable pricing, gorgeous outlook, lovely food with midweek specials.
Our first unit was the penthouse, which wasn't really a penthouse. Just a two storey unit above reception. We kept the northern windows closed from the lounge and main bedroom as it faced a car park and was literally a fishing rod distance to a public amenities block BUT the easterly view over the pool to the ocean was divine. The unit was clean and well appointed. 3 toilets, small cupboard laundry, dining etc. Ample for our stay.
We were not perturbed greatly by the aspect of the first unit, but on leaving queried about the cost of the beachfront units only to find they were the same price as the penthouse, so we were offered to view one which we did. We re-booked a week mid January and this time, we booked one right on the beach and the aspect was divine. Despite the fact, it rained all week, these units had no aircraft noise and were as well appointed as the 'penthouse', if not better. Our 3 teenagers still enjoyed surfing and fishing in the rain, playing in the pool in the rain, going to the gym and our boys particularly loved Subway on the corner of the street the resort was in. We liked the coffee shop a couple of doors up. Enjoy, it is a great resort, just be careful with room choices. It's not 5 star, but its a little golden gem.

Room Tip: Choose absolute beach front and not one on the northern end (as you will get some aircraft noise the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I am not meaning to sound pompous but Golden Riviera is not the type of place I would generally consider staying in.

However, I was so glad to have my 'manners put back in' by this great accommodation.

We booked about a week out from our stay on Wotif.com (the only way GR takes bookings) and got a baaaaaargain for a two bedroom apartment.

Aircon in living room which sort of drifts into the bedrooms but I'd be a bit concerned a super hot weekend (it was 30 during our stay). Cieling fans in bedrooms. Main room is queen bed and ensuite. Second room is twins and own bathroom. Full living facilities such as laundry, kitchen, secure parking etc.

The pool is great and not too over run with kids.

Security of the entire compound is also very good.

10 minute cab / drive from OOL and it is right on the patrolled beach (albeit not beach views) it is a great location. You get use to the planes which can sometimes feel like they are landing on you but they do not disturb sleep.

Tugun surfclub is a three minute stroll and good for lunch / dinner. Viking (Currumbin) surfclub is awesome and a lovely 20 minute stroll along the beach from GR. Plenty of other dining options around.

Generally you get what you pay for however this cheap n cheerful offers amazing value for money and really delivers in comfort and locale.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Great place to stay in early July although the weather was unseasonably cold. Still able to use the pool. Rooms are clean and tidy and there's plenty of restaurants in the area. It's just a short busride to the bustle of Broadbeach or Surfers. If you're looikng for a quiet holiday with a beach in front this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We have stayed at this apartment complex 4 times. It is in a excellent location adjacent to the beach and close to shops. The apartments are well equipped and clean. The only small problem is that it looked like the balconies don't get swept very often. The apartments are only serviced once a week but for the price this is quite ok by us. There is plenty of space for a family, much better than a hotel. The pool is clean and big and the BBQ area is great. It is close to the motorway to drive to the theme parks and maybe 30-40 minute drive to Surfers Paradise (depending on traffic). I would definitely recommend this apartment complex.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Riviera Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Riviera Beach Resort

Address: Corner Golden Four Drive & Toolona Street, Tugun, Queensland 4224, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Tugun
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tugun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Riviera Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Golden Riviera Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Riviera Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.